We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommend the Catalina inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“highly recommend the Catalina inn”
Reviewed 23 May 2011

we just returned from Catalina. had a great time. the catalina inn was awesome. great place, great staff, very very clean. i will be returning to the catalina inn. very homey feel. we loved it

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcd060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    201
    58
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
312
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at Catalina Island Inn for our wedding anniversary. I surprised my wife with a weekend trip to Catalina Island - our first time here. Every hotel I booked had a policy stating that Saturday bookings required a 2 night minimum. I was on military leave, and I didn't have enough days to stay the minimum 2 nights. Fortunately, the hotel worked with me and gave me a great room with a good view with a decent price. It was a great vacation. Close to shopping, Vons, a massage/spa -- good location overall. The continental breakfast was free and decent. They also allow you to store your luggage in the lobby prior check-in and post check-out. Overall, great customer service. Our room had LCD TVs and a small fridge. We were near the street, so you can hear all the cars/traffic, but it made it feel like we were connected with the city and felt like we were in another country. Would return next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecnivm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This was our first trip to Catalina and was so happy we found a nice hotel. The rooms were a bit small but very clean and quaint. Its located right downtown so we just walked everywhere. We will definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: Go mid week for their special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaccismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Having booked on the internet, we did not know what to expect, but we were extremely happy with our choice! Our room was ready for us upon our arrival at 11am, so we were able to check in and get settled before exploring Avalon. We had room 215, which was great for us because the porch was right next to the room. What a great place to relax after walking around town! We did not even mind the street noise, but if you do, I would suggest that you request a room futher down the hall, away from the street. The staff was super friendly and held our luggage for us after checkout so that we could enjoy our last day in Catalina! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thespis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado USA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Clean, quiet, comfortable room. Could have used more electrical plug-ins as some were sealed over throughout the room. Overall ,decent value for a hotel on Catalina Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansasboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Got a package deal including the boat over 2 nights stay & taxi ride to & from hotel. Our room was very small & standard but clean & just fine for my husband & I since we don't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. The staff was friendly & location is great walking distance to everything. Don't take a lot of heavy luggage as there is no elevator & lots of stairs.

Room Tip: Stay in the family room if you have 4 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This quaint little hotel has clean rooms, cable tv, business features, fax ,copy, internet, centrally located near ferry dock and restaurants.

Room Tip: request not to be next to the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing