We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here on the heels of a three day hike around Catalina. So for us, this was an oasis! The room we stayed in was small, but very comfortable and clean. This is perfect for a night or weekend stay--especially for the affordable rate. If I were to stay here again, I would spring for the better view/larger space.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

Catalina Island Inn is a nice little place to stay. The outside facade does not reflect the elegant interior of the hallways. The hotel sign from the street is not large and flashy and you can easily walk past it several times before finding the hotel. You should be prepared to carry luggage up a flight or two of stairs - no elevators. It's located down a side street off the main drag, it's an easy walk from the ferry and it's locale makes it easy to get to most anything you want to do in Avalon. Restaurants and shopping are very close. The island's grocery store is a few steps down the street so it's handy for picking up snacks or drinks.

We didn't interact with much of the staff except for occassionally the cleaning staff who were all very pleasant. The separate closed off office does not invite one to make contact with the hotel front desk often. The first day we requested a repair of a towel hook in our room, it was not done before we left.

Our room was street facing and rather small. There was limited space for hanging wet towels for re-use and our request for a repair of a towel hook did not get done during our stay. There is no air conditioning so the windows need to be opened a little and the street noise was considerable. Evening noise does not go away until the wee hours so bring your headphones or earplugs.

We think it would be helpful on the reservation page to see a layout of the floor plan of rooms so one can see exactly where the room is located in conjuntion with the streets, etc.

While we did not have a large room with a great view - it was adequate for what we needed - a place to shower and sleep after a fun day in Avalon.

Room Tip: Stay away from street facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIFUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Good location and clean, but our room was on the street and the noise was overwhelming day and night. Extremely small room, small stand up only shower, tiny sink. Pick your room carefully. Seems others are much better. Easy walking to everything in Avalon

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be stair ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebelde1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This hotel absolutely exceeded my expectations and hands down made my first trip to Catalina complete. It was my first trip to catalina and I was there to celebrate a very special birthday. I stayed in the queen suite, room 311 and it was absolutely GORGEOUS. The modern decor, lovely suite, breathtaking views, the overall cleanliness and friendly staff were beyond amazing. When I return I will only be staying here.

Room Tip: Queen Suite room #311!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonshyne4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

we just returned from Catalina. had a great time. the catalina inn was awesome. great place, great staff, very very clean. i will be returning to the catalina inn. very homey feel. we loved it

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcd060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at Catalina Island Inn for our wedding anniversary. I surprised my wife with a weekend trip to Catalina Island - our first time here. Every hotel I booked had a policy stating that Saturday bookings required a 2 night minimum. I was on military leave, and I didn't have enough days to stay the minimum 2 nights. Fortunately, the hotel worked with me and gave me a great room with a good view with a decent price. It was a great vacation. Close to shopping, Vons, a massage/spa -- good location overall. The continental breakfast was free and decent. They also allow you to store your luggage in the lobby prior check-in and post check-out. Overall, great customer service. Our room had LCD TVs and a small fridge. We were near the street, so you can hear all the cars/traffic, but it made it feel like we were connected with the city and felt like we were in another country. Would return next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecnivm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This was our first trip to Catalina and was so happy we found a nice hotel. The rooms were a bit small but very clean and quaint. Its located right downtown so we just walked everywhere. We will definitly stay here again!

Room Tip: Go mid week for their special rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaccismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £95 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing