We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodel not so charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Corona del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Remodel not so charming”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Visiting Avalon every year, we've stayed here many times - always on the fourth floor with a balcony room. The facility has undergone a complete facelift, however, at the expense of some of its charm. They tried for a sophisticated resort-like boutique look which doesn't go with the the structure as a whole. The old fashioned but comfortable look they used to have suggested a beachy, low-key New England type of hotel. There are also some hazards associated with the new look. The glass shelves in the bathroom have very sharp corners at just about eye level when you bend over to pick up something. The foot-board end of the bed is also sharp. I had to pad it with a pillow after getting my shins barked a couple of times as I walked around the corner of the bed. The nightstands and dressers are also sharp-cornered. The glass partition in the shower (no shower door) allows a spray of water to collect on the bathroom floor. The colors and decor are tasteful and coordinated but drab and offkey when compared with the glorious view out the window - bright blue sky, swaying palms, white sailboats - every cliche you can think of. To end on a positive note - the staff is very helpful and professional, the bed comfortable, the continental breakfast coffee is good and fresh (and they have real cream - no powdered "creamer") and orange juice and the baskets of fresh green apples are a treat! We've stayed other places (including the Inn on Mt. Ada), but we'll come back here.

Room Tip: Fourth floor balcony room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    200
    56
    27
    14
See reviews for
76
311
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel is beautiful - well decorated, We had a suite - very clean room, spacious, great bed - very comfortable. Nice big flat screen television, refrigerator was handy. The nice thing about this hotel location is it is in the center of everything and it's easy and quick to get everywhere. The problem with the location is it is on a very busy and noisy street with garbage trucks and street cleaners working before 6:00 a.m. Golf carts are running up and down the road throughout the night, people laughing and screaming. Sleep was not restful. Both me and my husband woke up throughout the night because of the noise. Probably wouldn't stay here again for that very reason.

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avalon, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel is located right where you would want to be. In the middle of Avalon, yards from the the bay, this hotel welcomes you with friendly staff and a warm, inviting, well appointed room. You will truely enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great cozy hotel, the only draw back, if your room is close to the street it's a bit noisy. Otherwise, it's clean, staff is pleasant and location is great.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4martinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Catalina Island in was very clean and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We were allowed early check-in which was a pleasant surprise. The standard room was smaller than expected, not unlike rooms you find in the Bay Area, but the bed was comfortable and the room was well-appointed. It is conveniently located a short distance from the beach with a market next door. We didn't have any issues with noise and we left our window open most of the time we were in the room. Stairs were not an issue as the hotel had forewarned us there was no elevator.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Caligirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The room and hotel looked nice and was clean.
The trays to take up the mini breakfast offering was a nice touch to relieve crowding downstairs.
The staff was friendly.

The rooms were mega-small. I tried for a larger room, but they were booked, and I was surprised at how small a room for a queen bed could be.
The floor was soaking wet near the wall on one side of the bed.
We asked about it, was told there had been a leak next door that had been fixed, and they put down a towel.
By the next day, it was still sopping wet.
Then, they said it was a leak from the roof....it had rained 3 days ago.....???

Never once did they offer us another room or a partial discount or anything. Just a towel on the floor.

If you are worried about sleep quality (especially on weekend nights), bring ear plugs. Either the windows are thin or the partiers loud. I always travel with ear plugs, so I did ok.

The stairs were ok, but I wouldn't want a room near the top of the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2011

At first we had a queen non view room priced around 80 a night...but we quickly upgraded due to the fact that there is no air conditioning and any room w/ no view is facing the alley therefore no breeze. Also, this hotel is close to Vons which is great but it can be a little loud. The view in the partial queen is nice. I definately say get the mini suite! The beds are a little uncomfortable and very low to the ground and I left with a aching back. The hotel is very though which is a plus. The free breakfast in the am was ok I didnt eat the food but I liked the free coffee. The staff is super friendly. The hotel does not face the beach directly. The spa was ok I think that could personally be upgraded. But the pluses are close to vons, clean, and reasonably priced. The negatives are the beds and super small ( emphasizing small) rooms. I left with a baseball sized bruise on my leg form having no room to turn the corner from the bed in the queen partial view.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing