We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sweet Stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here March of 2011. Yes, the room was small, but we felt very comfortable in it. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear some noise from the air conditioners on the roof of the grocery store below, however we thought having a grocery store so close was more of a benefit than a disturbance. We spent quite a lot of time lounging on the shared balcony with complimentary tea/coffee, reading magazines, and watching the locals and tourist come and go. Just a block from the boardwalk and waterfront, we liked not needing a vehicle to get around. The hotel and room were clean, well styled, and the staff was friendly. We appreciated that they will hold your luggage at no charge after checkout if your boat is departing later. I would certainly stay here again and felt it was a good deal.
Also recommend the Avalon Casino backstage tour and hiking up to the Wrigley Gardens/Memorial. If you are adventurous you can hike up the Hermit Gulch Trail(starts at the end of the campground), up to the top(it is long and steep) then hike along Divide road and come back down Avalon Canyon road and through the garden. The bonus of going this route is the outrageously fantastic views of both sides of the island and you don't have to pay any fee to enter the garden from this direction. Remember to get a free hiking permit from the conservancy(just a few blocks from the hotel), they can also recommend other hikes and give you an idea how long they take. We also walked up Chimes Tower road(it lives up to it's name) past the Zane Gray house/hotel for another lovely view looking out to sea over the Avalon Casino. No matter what you decide to do, Catalina island is a beautiful retreat from the mainland!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the street and on the top level will be the quietest and probably have the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    197
    56
    26
    13
See reviews for
75
306
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Roooms were clean but small. Continental breakfast was adequate - muffins, OJ and coffee. Great for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Nice, clean, great location. This hotel is a good value for the money. Friendly staff. Only draw backs are a smaller room (But put together well) and it can get a little noisey with the creaking of the stairs and floors of an old building.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfitz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mentone, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I was very satisfied. Our room was very cozy and clean and had much style. Looks like a brand new hotel. Staff was excellent and it was great to see housekeeping and maintanence upkeeping and very friendly. I will definetely stay here my next visit to Catalina.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We truly enjoyed the stay. The staff was very friendly, we were able to leave our bags before the room was ready and after our stay. The room was very clean and crisp. Bathroom was nice and very clean as well. The only problem is the lack of elevator but we were told about it ahead of time. The location makes it very convenient to exploring the downtown and shopping- Von's grocery store is next door. The little fridge in the room is great. No coffee maker or Microwave in the room.
Overall - a nice hotel especially at the discounted room price.

Room Tip: nice view from the top rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannaNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Catalina Island Inn continues to shine - it is being maintained beautifully, spotlessly clean. it's in a perfect location, convenient to everything. There is a market next door but the noise is not an issue, at least for me. The only issue I had was with the reception staff - they could use some lessons in public relations. As a guest, I was excited to be there - i would hope they would be excited to have me as a guest. The young man barely greeted me, business only, no chit-chat, just ran my credit card, gave me my key - It's such a lovely place, i would have hoped the staff would be as special. The housekeeping staff was terrific - i was greeted by everyone upstairs and they all seemed to be working very hard.

Room Tip: Love the top floor view rooms but it is a long haul up there with no elevator. Decor is lovely - can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cma1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hollywood, CA
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We just returned from our first trip to Catalina and stayed at the Catalina Island Inn. It's a beautiful, quaint hotel right in the middle of Avalon. Avalon itself is tiny, so everything is easily walkable, but I was glad we didn't go with one of the hotels up on any of the hills. It was so nice to be able to go back to our room in the middle of the day to drop something off, pick something up, or just take a nap!

I've seen a few other reviews on here about it being loud outside, especially because it's next to Vons. However, our experience was quiet both inside and out. Sure, there was an occasional car or truck going by, but really that's nothing to complain about! I probably slept there better than I have in any hotel - the beds are very comfortable!

The room itself was rather small, and we didn't pay extra for the room with a view, so our window faced inland and was very close to another building. Not a big deal though! And if you want the bay view that is an option. The bathroom was humorously small, but it wasn't something that bothered us - a clean, working shower (with excellent water pressure!) and toilet is really all you need! Overall the room had welcoming, clean decor, and I LOVED the soft and silky duvet cover on the bed!

When you go to Avalon, you're presumably not going to spend all the time in your room. The Catalina Island Inn was a cozy and clean place to come back to at the end of the day. Its luxurious bedding and charming decor both in the room and the hallways made it a welcoming and homey place. We'll definitely be back in the future!

Jenn & Greg

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing