We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catalina Island Inn gets a B+”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Catalina Island Inn gets a B+”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Me and my husband stayed one night at the Catalina Island Inn in March of 2013. We thought the hotel was cute and clean. The queen non view room is tiny! I'd book a bigger room next time. The front desk staff was not too friendly but oh well. We had a fantastic dinner and a really great time at The Lobster Trap! The hotel offered a great deal that included the room and the boat ride there and back. I'd stay there again but I was not happy waking up to the sound of jack hammers at the business next door. All in all I'd give them a B+

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarynFromAliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    194
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
300
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

All the great stuff:
Clean with modern decor.
Courteous staff.
Close to Cresent Avenue, yet far away enough.
Next to Vons Express for snacks.
Community balcony to enjoy.
Provides traveler shampoo, conditioner, bodywash, hair dryer.
Provides light breakfast (coffee, juice, pasteries).
Room had mini-fridge.

A few things to note:
Small bathroom/shower (Reminds me of cruiseship cabin size).
Small rooms (most rooms on th island are small, unless you book a suite).
No elevator (I haven't seen a place that has an elevator on the island).
Remodel/Construction occurred during weekday of our stay, but ended by 5pm.
Most rooms have ceiling fans, no AC.

I would definitely return to stay at the Catalina Inn!

Room Tip: Call the Inn to suggest a room that fits your needs (i.e. quiet, view, extra space,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Rugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Loved the moment we arrived, The hotel was clean and counter staff, greeted us as we walked inthe door. Due to our early arrival they allowed us to drop off our baggage and leave on our excursions for the day. My wife and i will definitely return in the future for more stays.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cisnerostg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

It's a charming hotel only 1/2 block from the ocean and within easy walking distance of everything Catalina has to offer. The Inn is kept very clean and the staff is pleasant and helpful. The balcony is a nice area to relax with a book and coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms over the street are a little louder. It didn't bother me to hear the action but may bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123travelbug456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is both charming and full of pleasant surprises. I have visited Catalina Island a few times over the years and stayed at a couple of different places. This is my favorite hotel overall! Best value for the price you pay. Very close to everything including the water. The staff is very professional but also very nice and went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Catalina Island. Again, its a huge bargain over other hotels in the area and it is nicely decorated and not too old like some other places I visited on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Let’s start off with saying the most of the hotels in Catalina are old and that's part of the charm. The renovation on this was nice. The decor and furnishing are also very good. I wished they would have replaced or fixed up the interior door as they stuck while trying to open them. We had a balcony ocean view room with a king bed and it was an average size for most hotels. I would have expected a little larger room considering the price, but again I remind myself that this is an old hotel and for the era this was probably a large room. I walked by some of the other rooms and they were tiny! If you now planning on spending any time in your room these would be good. We however liked to enjoy the view from the balcony.
The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and offered a lot of advice. The only thing that bothered me was the internet connection which I kept getting dropped. I ended up walking to a café that had internet.

Room Tip: Chose an ocean view room. The other up up to a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axel179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a moderately priced hotel yet totally updated and very attractive. Very friendly and helpful desk staff, quiet and comfortable rooms. I would stay there again. it is in a great location and we did not encounter the noise that others did.

Room Tip: Just be aware that there is nnot elevator if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitzy82_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing