We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We loved it!
Spent the weekend.
Close to everything.
Next door to Vons.

Room # 443. Fourth floor - no elevator.
Knew in advance, so did not care!

Very clean, tidy, wonderful staff, newly decorated - could smell the
fresh paint in the hall.

Excellent harbor views from the small balcony.
Comfortable bed. Clean linen.
Lots of stations on the T.V.

Beautiful shower, spacious. Great soap provided.
Could do a little better with the water flow- guess it's an Island thing...

Small fridge. comfortable.
Air condition.

Quiet (all but the garbage truck early Saturday morning...)

Will be back with the kids if the price will not sky-rocket.

Overall- Warmly recommended.

Yaya & Adi G.

Room Tip: No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Hi Yaya and Adi,

Thank you for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. The 4th floor rooms are definitely worth the climb. You wrote about our great amenities in such detail ---- we couldn't have said it better! We hope to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We liked this place because there was a feel that the owners/managers genuinely cared if guests enjoyed their stay. Rooms were well decorated and did't have the box motel feel. Very cozy and clean.
Trip Advisor on the other hand is irritating because there is a minimum amount of characters that have to be in a particular box.

Room Tip: There are some new rooms that were just built, but they don't have a view of the ocean. Some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our hotel owners have personally managed the property since 1978. They oversee the day-to-day operations and care about each and every guest. We take pride in the contemporary styling, cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and suites. We look forward to your return visit. Happy Holidays from the Catalina Island Inn! -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A wonderful room with private patio and extremely comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Location is not much of a walk, right next to the grocery store. Very nice continental breakfast in the morning, with coffee and fruit available all day. Big screen tv was a nice surprise

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jammerman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. We are very proud of our new ground floor private patio rooms and suites. They are beautiful and we love having guests appreciate them. Our location is also a wonderful amenity --- close to shops, restaurants and attractions. We have so much to be thankful for --- especially when nice guests acknowledge our hard working staff. Best wishes from the Catalina Island Inn! Come see us again soon. -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Impression: Stayed at the B&B for our honeymoon. Juan greeted us and checked us in.

Location: Right off Metropole, so it is very close to everything. Avalon is small in general so really any hotel there will be in close proximity to shops and restaurants.

Room: We had the 4th floor King Balcony room with a nice view of the harbor. Decor of the rooms were very nice and modern. Bed was comfy. The continental breakfast consisted of small pastries and coffee that you can serve yourself.

Service: GREAT!! As outlined in the story below....

Upon checking out, forgot my wallet in the room. Got a call from Juan while i was waiting for the ferry back to the mainland. Luckily Avalon is small....small enough for me to miss Juan looking for me. We finally met up and I retrieved my wallet and made it back in time for the ferry just as it was boarding.

Definitely will return to Catalina AND rest my head again at the Catalina Island Inn. Somebody make Juan the manager! He was great.

Room Tip: Travel light as there are no elevators in the building. Only stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for your glowing review of the Catalina Island Inn and congratulations on your recent nuptials. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel and the honeymoon. It's also great to hear such praises for our staff. Juan frequently rushes to the aid of our guests who have lost their boat tickets, room keys or personal belongings! He along with the rest of our employees are "super heroes" worth acknowledging! We hope to see you again for future anniversaries and other special occasions at the Catalina Island Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First time here, but it won't be the last. The harbor view from the 4th floor balcony rooms were spectacular. The only downside, there are no elevators to take you up there. Hauling up luggage can be a bit of a struggle. The decor and accommodations were comfortable, the staff friendly and courteous.

Next time, we may try their first floor garden rooms. One of the staff showed us one of those rooms, though they don't have a harbor view, the garden patio, king-sized bed and fireplace looked very inviting and.... no steps to climb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. The harbor views from our King Bed Balcony rooms on the 4th floor ARE fantastic! But the climb can be a challenge. The staff is happy to assist guests with luggage going up or down. But if you want to experience one of our new ground floor rooms --- you'll be delighted with the spacious suites, fireplaces and elegant amenities all on the lobby level. To see the ocean just walk out the hotel's front door, turn left and stroll the 1/2 block to the seashore. It's great to have the Pacific Ocean as our front yard. Come visit us again soon at the Catalina Island Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Love the decor nicely renovated, the rooms are small but very nice and clean. We had 4 couples and would have liked a place to meet and play games in the evening. The balcony is beautiful but loud from the street traffic. The staff was very nice and helpful providing a wine opener and wine glasses for our group on the balcony our first night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for your nice review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our common areas are limited because everything is just smaller on Catalina. There are restaurants, clubs and bars nearby but booking one of the Inn's King Bed private patio suites is an excellent way to gather with friends or to entertain in your room. We are proud of our staff and thank you for recognizing their helpfulness. We hope you'll plan to come back to Catalina again soon. -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My son (8 years old) and I spend my birthday on Catalina. This hotel was just right for us. It had two twin beds, the cruise ship room. We only needed space to sleep so it was perfect. Such a cute little place and nicely remodeled. It wasn't right on the beach, but close to everything.

Room Tip: we were in 208, the window looked into the market wall next door. But we only needed the room for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phrrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Belated birthday wishes! Our location is close to everything in downtown Avalon is a great advantage. Our hotel is 1/2 block from the harbor and beaches. Many rooms have little to no view but they are clean, contemporary and well appointed. Our rooms have an efficiency to them that fit the most discerning traveler on a budget. We also have some superb ocean views on the 4th floor and spacious private patios on the ground floor. The choice is up to each guest. We look forward to your next visit to celebrate a special occasion or create one. -Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £100 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing