We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Catalina in early March. Loved it very nice, staff is very helpful, well maintained.

The Inn is in great location, walk to the ferry. I would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rosee1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and for your stay at Catalina Island in. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I absolutely loved the hotel! Service was amazing and everyone was so polite. My fiance and I arrived on the catalina flyer around 10 am but our check in time wasn't until 2pm. We came to the hotel to leave our bags but they told us there was a bigger room available that they could give us. So we got upgraded to a bigger room without extra charge and we got to check in early! We will absolutely be coming back to this hotel on our next visit. I always appreciate hotels that are willing to go out of their way to accommodate guests, especially since most of their guests traveled a long way. Also loved the white shutters of the room and the overall ocean decor, which made our room feel very relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our staff loves to help guests get an early check-in or room upgrade whenever possible. We guarantee a clean, comfortable room close to everything Avalon has to offer. Our hotel was completely remodeled in 2010 and our newest ground floor rooms opened in 2013. We are happy that you had such a great visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Catalina Island Inn for 2 nights in a non-view queen room.

We were disappointed in the room. It was incredibly small, which would not have been such a problem however the layout made it nearly impossible to get around the room. The shower/toilet were difficult to use because they were so close together. The sink is on the other side of the room from the restroom. You could not open the bathroom door and the window shutters at the same time. We both have bumped and bruised shins from banging into the bed frame. Also the bed was extremely small and uncomfortable, we kept feeling like we were going to slip off the side, I believe the frame was the wrong size for the mattress??

Also the breakfast was kind of a joke. Dixie cups of juice and coffee (which was pretty terrible), and an assortment of seemingly day old pastries, oatmeal packets and apples. Not even a decent fruit selection, plus there isn't a place to eat breakfast except in your room or on the balcony upstairs - which was being painted and was inaccessible for most of our stay.

All that being said, the hotel was very clean, well appointed, it is a great location, and the staff generally friendly, thus the 3 star rating. I would imagine the more expensive rooms are much nicer, but if you're looking for budget friendly accommodations, I don't think this is the spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel_m25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to offer a variety of lodging options and amenities ranging from family accommodations to luxurious private patio suites and harbor view rooms with balconies. All of the room types (pictured in detail on the Inn's website) reflect what you will experience when you stay at the hotel. Our reservation staff is happy to assist you in selecting a room that best fits your needs, plans and budget. Operators can answer questions about the size, configuration and location of each room within the hotel. Did you speak with any of our staff members about your bed frame or other problems you encountered? We are unable to remedy problems if we aren't made aware of them. Our complimentary continental breakfast is fresh each day and it is a light meal including fresh baked Danish, coffee, tea, flavored instant oatmeal along with apples. It is meant as a quick snack as guests start their day. For heartier appetites we recommend several local restaurants nearby. We are sorry if your experience wasn't what you were expecting. Each guest at the Catalina Island Inn can be confident that they will have a clean comfortable room and our excellent staff standing by to assist them. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Short and sweet... Awesome place. Great rates, extremely well designed rooms, comfortable & quiet. The island itself is the perfect place for a romantic weekend. Overall, I definitely recommend Catalina Island Inn... hands down, best value on the island! Oh, and the cheese tortellini and cheesecake at the Portofino Italian Restaurant near by was really good. If you want Italian, try it out!

Room Tip: Was in room 101 by the front door. Cool patio and a great location. Was not noisy at all, even being...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your enthusiastic comments about Catalina Island Inn ---- and who doesn't love tortellini and cheesecake? Our hotel's location gives guests excellent dining options just steps away. Our staff can assist you with finding island attractions such as shops, tours and entertainment. Catalina is the Island of Romance. We are glad you had such a great visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My friend recommended this hotel, to me, and it did not disappoint. Well maintained property, clean and lovely. Front desk staff were very friendly. Smelled like it had been freshly remodeled. Rooms were very quiet. Could not have enjoyed it more! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acacia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn.
During winter guests can still experience everything the island has to offer--- balmy days, magical nights, quiet rest or rollicking adventure. And with substantial savings over summer rates ---- we love to give great deals! Thank your friend for recommending us and come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We booked the king suite with a harbor view, it was the only room you could get for 1 night, so it worked out perfectly. We went in late February and the rate was half price, again great! The place is off the main drag less than a block, and a quarter mile or so from the dock, in walking distance with bags. We checked in and expected to wait until official check in time but our room was ready 3 hours early which was a pleasant surprise.
What was disappointing was that we were expecting a harbor view (you could just see the top of the palm trees) which was true however, the immediate view was the roof of the vons, and a run down building behind the vons and the roof noise. The sliding glass doors kept the noise out but that meant we had to have the door closed...
We had a couples massage which was a good experience, the ladies were very good but the room was cold!
If we went back we would try another place just for the experience, but this was a nicely remodeled place, friendly staff and an overall good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntaylor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our hotel is located 1/2 block from the harbor. There are buildings between us and the waterfront.
Our reservation staff is happy to assist you in selecting a room that best fits your needs, plans and budget. Operators can answer questions about the size, configuration and exact location of each room within the hotel . The harbor views vary from the 3rd to 4th floor. We are sorry if this wasn't clear at the time of your reservation. Did you tell the Simply Nirvana staff that the massage room felt chilly during your appointment? We are always appreciative of information to make your experience better.
Each traveler staying at the Catalina Island Inn can be confident that they will have a clean comfortable room and an excellent staff standing by to provide a memorable visit. We hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Catalina Island Inn was a great hotel to stay in. We love our room with a king size bed and private patio. The room was clean and nicely remodeled. The Inn itself has a great location for those that don't like to be right on the main strip. Definitely a two thumbs up experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle are quieter than those right up in front.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thanks for your review. The Catalina Island Inn cares about providing clean, comfortable accommodations for every guest. We offer a wide range of room options to meet all budgets and needs. Your choice of a King Bed private patio room delights us. These are our newest rooms and suites on the ground floor which just opened last July. We think they are spectacular! We look forward to having you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £98 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing