We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catalina Island Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Catalina Island Inn”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great room, has cable TV, clean and is walking distance to almost everything. One caveat, bathroom is very small, small shower stall but it has great water pressure. No A/C in our room. The weekend we were there it was rather warm.

Room Tip: Did not see a pool or fitness area. No A/C in our room on a weekend that was rather warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thanks Fred for your review of Catalina Island Inn.
Our reservation staff is happy to assist you in selecting a room that best fits your needs, plans and budget. Operators can answer questions about the size, configuration and exact location of each room within the hotel. We offer rooms with spacious bathrooms and custom tiled showers, air conditioning and more. We are adding air conditioning to many of our Classic Queen non view rooms. Catalina Island Inn is always upgrading and responding to what visitors want in a vacation destination. We are always working to exceed our guests' expectations. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    196
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
302
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Let me start by saying, this wasn't my first time to Catalina (have been many many times), but it was the first time for my boyfriend and it was the first time staying at Catalina Island Inn. Next trip I will stay again at the Inn. The rooms were wonderful, clean and modern, yet very beachy. The staff was awesome. They answered all our questions and provided us with very good information about restaurants on the Island. Love this place!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your 5-Star review of the Catalina Island Inn. We're glad your stay coincided with the amazing weather we have been having recently. Thanks for acknowledging our staff --- we are so proud of the extra effort and special service they provide for guests. We'll have your room ready whenever you want to visit us --- and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alhambra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

So before making sure i wanted to stay at this hotel i had to read all the reviews-just like anyone else. I wanted to make sure what i was getting myself into. Well, I'm surprised at all the complaints about this hotel!! I stayed in room 305 on the third floor and i have no complaints whatsoever. My room was very quite, i wasn't able to hear any noise like what others left in their reviews. I didn't mind looking at the roof top at vons, at least i could still see the sky and just a tad bit of the ocean! Who goes to Catalina to just stay in their rooms anyway? I loved the location of the hotel and especially that it was next to vons. The hotel is so cute and has friendly staff. I had a great stay here with my husband and we would definitely come back here again! Wish i was there right now actually :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xkarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. Our owners and staff care about every guest. We want to be your island getaway ---- with all the comforts of "home". Come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our 49th anniversary celebration was perfect. We had a beautiful view of the harbor from our balcony. We found a bottle of champagne on ice waiting in our room - nice surprise. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Only downside was the absence of an elevator to the fourth floor. We counted the 66 steps each time we had to climb them. Location is right in the heart of Avalon, close to everything. The package that included the boat from/to Dana Pt, two nights lodging and taxi to and from the pier made it quite reasonable for our special vacation. Thanks Catalina Island Inn for a great time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind review of the Catalina Island Inn. The overwhelming majority of our guests have a wonderful time and enjoy their accommodations. Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay. Our owners and staff care about every guest. We want to be your island getaway ---- with all the comforts of "home". Come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not knowing anything about the hotels in Avalon, I booked a king, harbor view room. It was great! We had a top floor recently remodeled room that faced the harbor. Some of the other rooms didn't look like much so we were really happy with ours. Thankfully it's off the main drag by less than a block which can be noisy and it was an added plus to have Von's grocery store directly next door. The continental breakfast isn't much but there is also a great cafe and coffee house steps away near the metropole. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are ok with looking into another building if you don't get a harbor view. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for writing your review of the Catalina Island Inn. Our King bed harbor view rooms are very popular. The entire hotel was remodeled in 2010 and every room has clean contemporary style and amenities. A variety of suites, family rooms and even "cruise ship style" accommodations with two twin beds cater to every budget and type of traveler. Our location is also convenient to dining, shopping or just sitting on the beach. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staff was helpful and friendly. Overall appearance of the Inn was very attractive, especially comparing to a few others in town. Rooms had nice decor, but bathroom was tiny. Could hardly turn around in the shower, so I would hate to see a large man try to move around in it. The bed took up the majority of the room, so moving around the king bed was difficult. I hit my toe and shins on the wooden frame a few times.

However, it was still a very nice place and not overly pricey. I was pleased they were able to accommodate us also when the storm stranded us an extra day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. We have rooms of all sizes and configurations. Our reservation specialists can give callers specific info on room dimensions and bathroom layouts. Each traveler staying at the Catalina Island Inn can be confident that they will have a clean comfortable room and an excellent staff standing by to provide a memorable visit. We hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly. The family sized room was da decent size but lacked any kind of view. The location and proximity to attractions restaurants and beach was great. A light continental breakfast is served in their foyer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun4jbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennnifer F, Manager at Catalina Island Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your review of the Catalina Island Inn. We offer the "Family Room" option with a Queen Bed, a Twin Bed, a Single Bed (which is Twin sized but shorter in length) and enough room for a rollaway. It can accommodate up to 5 people. And you're right --- this type of room is not located on the harbor side of the hotel. But Catalina is best experienced by walking around--- and as you wrote our location is ideal. The beach, restaurants, shops, bike and golf cart rentals are just steps away. Adventure awaits guests who go looking for it. Come play and stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing