We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book for the view when you open your sliding door all you hear is the refridgeration vents from the Von's rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't book for the view when you open your sliding door all you hear is the refridgeration vents from the Von's rooftop”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. I booked the 4th floor king bed suite with the amazing view.There is no elevator in this hotel so pack light. Lots of stairs when your on the top floor. When we opened the curtains we saw the Von`s roof top and when we opened the sliding door all you hear is the horrible noise from the refridgeration for the Von`s grocery store. Not worth the price for the noise. Also don`t expect a phone, no phone in the room you have to go down two flights to call the front desk, which also closes at nine.There is no air conditioning also. The front staff isn`t the most helpful as well. Tried to book trips and they didn`t seem very interested in helping us. Was told go to the tourist booth on the pier.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldensandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    202
    58
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
314
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We stayed at Catalina Island Inn,We LOVE IT...Beatiful Place, Nice and Clean Rooms, Friendly Staffs,Very Close to Everything.We enjoyed our stayed There.....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicktracy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Great hotel with comfortable beds. Stayed as a family of two adults and two teenagers. Two single beds and one double or queen (can't remember). We didn't have a view but we were hardly in the room so it didn't matter. Hotel was freshly decorated. Expedia picture is outdated and does not reflect the remodeling. Good location. We were able to walk from ferry in less than ten minutes with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindykm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

stayed at the catalina island inn for 2 nights. got a room w/ king bed and balcony. this inn has been recently renovated. the room was very clean and nice looking w/ neutral colors of the wall, comforters, and bathroom. seems that everything appeared new. balcony was nice to have although our view was a rooftop of shops next door. this inn is very close to all the shops and restaurants available in catalina. front desk was very nice but they are not open at night. if you need extra towels or anything, you have to wait until they open in the morning at 800am. housekeepers were nice and they provided us w/ extra towels we needed. they serve continental breakfast (danish, coffee, juice) in am. room is small but i think all the rooms in catalina tend to be small anyway. vons is next door which is very convenient to have if you want to buy alcohol and just relax in your balcony or on the inns balcony on the 2nd floor. definitely need to rent one of those golf carts to view catalina! this inn is close to everything!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

My niece and I were planning to stay 2 nights in Avalon.The hotel I normally stay in was booked so we looked for another hotel in Avalon. After contacting most of the hotels in Avalon, we found the Catalina Island Inn. They had a cruise ship style room with 2 twin beds. Many of the hotels in Avalon were built many decades ago so the rooms tend to be smaller than what we experience on the mainland. Knowing this, I was not concerned about the space of the room.

The Catalina Island Inn is about about a half a block from the beach on Metropole so it was perfect! It was about a 10 minute walk from the Catalina Express dock. We checked in quickly and went up to the second floor room. The room was very clean and it looked like the hotel made improvements recently. Everything looked new. The flooring was clean and there were no stains. The bathroom was small but immaculate. I would recommend putting a towel on the bathroom floor because when it was wet from getting out the shower, it was slippery. The room had a ceiling fan. I am not sure if there was air conditioning because we did not need it. The room did not offer a view but we didnt go to Catalina to stay in the room. There is a balcony at the front of the 2nd floor hallway where you can sit outside and enjoy the view or just read a book. They offer a pastry breakfast from 8am to 10am on the first floor.

Only one thing I would like to mention for people who may be handicapped. I did not see an elevator so climbing stairs might be an issue.

In the past, I stayed in other hotels in Avalon but never made a recommendation. The Catalina Island Inn is where I will be staying everytime I come to Avalon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fargarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beverly hills, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This last minute find was more than i ever expected from a quiet Catalina inn! The inn was only a short walk from the Catalina Express landing, and we didn't mind walking because the weather was beautiful and the ped-only street leading up to it was beautiful. Crescent Avenue (the mentioned street) was lined with eateries of all kinds, an charming candy shop, and coffee shops of all kinds. The street was also paved with beautiful ceramic painted tiles. First of all, the entrance is spotless, featured lovely and had a lovely picture window out to the street. The front desk area featured hard wood floors with a pretty compass rose design in it. The reason i was so pleased when is saw this was because it made me confident that my room would echo this clean and gorgeous theme. When i first arrived, the front desk employees (Salvador and Keani) were extremely helpful and not only helped me find a handful of tours to take, but also reserved my tickets right there! In addition, before i had left my house that morning, i had called to reserve a room, i asked about the newly finished descanso beach property, and Salvador ended up reserving a cabana for me in under 5 minutes! As for my room, i couldn't be more happy! I walked into my room to find a cold bottle of champagne and flowers. Although i did notice some noise early in the night, i think that this could have been unavoidable due to the golf carts driving past and the bay windows that looked out onto the street/beach/ocean that i enjoyed from my room. The bed was 10 times comfier than my bed at home, and the bathroom was wonderful! The linens, fixtures, bathroom, paint, and tvs were all replaced and the result was a beautiful and completely modern design! i loved the flat screen tvs on a swivel mount on the wall, and i also loved the continental breakfast in the morning. It was all you can eat, although i wouldn't have eaten all that much because it was all pastries, lemon squares, and breakfast breads. All in all, i loved this experience and i would recommend this hotel. The newly renovated interior and exterior was the selling point for me!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbugbeverlyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I work at a hotel in Carlsbad and with summer a week away, I needed to rest up to better serve our guests. I took my daughter for a mini vacation to Catalina Island. We stay at the Catalina Inn & couldn't have been happier! The entire property had just been renovated and everything was was fresh, clean & inviting. We had a King bed, balcony with harbor view on the third floor. The beds were so comfy that when we arrive the first thing we did when we got to the room was take a nap (something I am never able to do at home during the middle of the day). I was shocked at the size of the room, I was a lot larger then I expected for Catalina standard. The bathroom was huge. Salvador at the front desk was always available to help with anything we needed. He is an asset to the Inn. The location was perfect, only a half a block to the water. Thank you for having us as your guests!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakotakly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing