We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in Avalon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Avalon”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We have travelled to Catalina Island several times over the last few years. It's a wonderful pre-Christmas get away for us. We usually stay at Banning House Lodge in Two Harbours but they were closed, so we chose Avalon instead (really, the only other choice!). We checked out Trip Advisor and decided on the Catalina Island Inn. They had a fabulous winter special that we took advantage of and were very pleased with our choice. Our flight was delayed and we were unable to make it over to Catalina for our first night's stay however, the staff immediately gave us a voucher for one night's stay - no expiry date. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the hotel has recently been redecorated and it is fabulous! Yes, the rooms are smaller than a modern hotel and yes, they lack some of the sound dampening that newer construction has however, that's the style of the architecture of that period and any minor negatives are more than made up for by the charm of the hotel, its cleanliness and its great location. Yes, you do have to climb up the stairs but this should not be a problem unless you have a severe disability or are quite elderly. It's a max of what? 4 floors? Stop whining and get some flippin' exercise!! The hotel is next door to Von's supermarket which is great for buying a few groceries and water/wine (the room had a small fridge) and also next door to the Metropole Square complete with coffee shop/bakery and other shops for browsing. It is only a couple of blocks off the beach (this makes it quieter too, which we appreciated). Yes, some of the rooms overlook Von's supermarket but this is not a big deal in my books. Have you people every traveled in Europe? Besides, above the rooftop of Von's are palm trees and a view of the ocean. Is it really that bad? I guess if you live in your hotel room it may be. For us, we are looking forward to returning next year and using our voucher.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniePruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    202
    58
    28
    14
See reviews for
77
314
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were a group of 8 with four rooms, two king balony views and two queen non view rooms. The hotel is redecorated and clean, with good location, but extremely loud ! I had a conversation with the guy next door. He sneezed, I said "bless you" he said "thank you. When the toilet or water runs next door or above it sounds like it's in your room with the bathroom door open. The "view rooms" were a view of Von's little grocery store (the fans and refrigeration units run all night ) a run down apartment building and another hotel in between you and the beach. This was not the view advertised.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiantEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinadelrey
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel was very well decorated and comfortable. We were very impressed upon first arrival with the looks of the place but the front desk staff was rude and not helpful at all. The queen room was VERY small but worked for us for the price. Now here comes the bad part. We could hear guests going up and down the stairs all night and the walls were so thin that we could hear the ladies next door. We could hear EVERY word they were saying at 7am. It was almost as if they were sitting in OUR room.

I would recommend this place only because it is a great location and a decent price but not if you are a late sleeper!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sliebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We tend to be thrifty, but I decided to splurge on a room with a balcony and view of the water. There was a balcony, there was a view of the water, but the predominate view was the air handlers of the VONS grocery store next door. It was atypically hot, and the hotel is not airconditioned. All night we heard the roar of the A/C next door so we had all the noise and none of the benefit of a room air conditioner. The room is small, but the bathroom was actually pretty large and nice. There is no elevator and the room was on the 3rd floor plus a half. The decor is quite fashionable and the bed and bedding were fine. The "breakfast" doesn't start until 8am (or so) and there is no coffee in room or in the lobby until "breakfast" and I was very, very unimpressed with the breakfast. This is really not a B&B, this is a small hotel. Noise is everywhere on Catalina and so is the odor of fuel. The profuse golfcarts are gas, not electric because of the steep hills and because you are so near the harbor you have the smell of marine fuel as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2010

With many hotels to chose from in Avalon picking one is a bit daunting. This hotel has a great web site which helped us make the decision to pick it.

The room (#216 with double bed) was small and compact but extremely clean. It looked freshly painted as did the rest of the hotel. The room had a shower room with toilet, as well as a fan, small fridge, flat screen TV, DVD player, bottle opener, hairdryer, sink with high end shampoo etc.

My only complaints are the room was so small that I clumsily bashed my ankles on the bed a few times and the fridge was rather noisy which we drowned out with the sound of the fan. As our room had an adjourning door we could also hear the couple next door talking which wasn't very romantic!

The hotel has a nice balcony open from 9am to 9pm where you can sit and read but it's near a Vons so can get a bit loud with general street noise. But you have to remember Avalon is small so everything is compact!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareawasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Don't pay any attention to the reviews about the lack of elevator unless so are so out of shape and overweight that you know you have a problem. I have two artificial hips and had no problem using the stairs carrying our luggage and my wife doesn't pack light. It says in big letters that the stairs are the only way up and down in their ads so there is no surprise.

We stayed on the Island midweek and found this hotel to be reasonble priced with a great central location. The staff was very friendly and couldn't have been nicer , the rooms clean, with a continental breakfast of fresh pastries and breads served in the lobby

We opted for the third floor queen with a partial view and both rooms were small but nice with frig, hairdryer,and flatscreen tv . The grocery store next door does produce some noise but we did not find that to be a problem plus they have a pretty good wine selection for an evening glass on the second floor deck.

If you are planning a visit to Catalina remember that it is a very confined area and everything is on a smaller scale than the mainland. Most hotels are older and have been renovated but rooms are more the size of European hotels.

Don't miss the harpooned swordfish at Steve's Steakhouse just down the street. It is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The hotel was very clean and the room was nice. I booked the 4th floor king bed suite with the amazing view.There is no elevator in this hotel so pack light. Lots of stairs when your on the top floor. When we opened the curtains we saw the Von`s roof top and when we opened the sliding door all you hear is the horrible noise from the refridgeration for the Von`s grocery store. Not worth the price for the noise. Also don`t expect a phone, no phone in the room you have to go down two flights to call the front desk, which also closes at nine.There is no air conditioning also. The front staff isn`t the most helpful as well. Tried to book trips and they didn`t seem very interested in helping us. Was told go to the tourist booth on the pier.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldensandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away from the southern California mainland, but a world away from the city life. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is close by. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn hosts family reunions & weddings and is still intimate enough for a romantic getaway. Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms range from moderate priced twins or queen bed non view rooms to luxury, harbor view, king rooms and suites. Accommodations are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island style. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel. The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to feature its 5 spectacular ground floor King bedded rooms with private patios, fireplaces, nurturing textures and spacious tiled showers. All rooms have free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. Its unique luxury also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences including easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways and a bench in the large tiled shower. Come "home" to Catalina Island Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing