We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalina Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa
1 review
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

The decor of the hotel is absolutely adorable....elegant sea cottage feel. The rooms are VERY small, but comfortable. The staff was kind and helpful. The location is ideal....within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    191
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
73
297
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

We splurged for a top floor room. It was small but very nicely done. Tiny bath though, and the sink was in the room rather than the bathroom. But the decor and details were well done. A particularly excellent paint job! Beautiful lobby. Loved the grand hallways and high ceilings throughout. Overall a lovely distinctive hotel with a lot of grand character.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

My girlfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Catalina Island Inn. The Inn is in a great Avalon location, just a block or so off the main drag...far enough away where it is a little more quiet. We had a great room with a balcony on the 4th floor. Terrific views of the harbor and the Ocean! The rooms and Inn were clean and very nicely appointed. The Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy and rooms spacious, with nice big shower. Only knock might have been the continental breakfast, which was fine but pretty bare bones. Overall, a great experience though! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We have travelled to Catalina Island several times over the last few years. It's a wonderful pre-Christmas get away for us. We usually stay at Banning House Lodge in Two Harbours but they were closed, so we chose Avalon instead (really, the only other choice!). We checked out Trip Advisor and decided on the Catalina Island Inn. They had a fabulous winter special that we took advantage of and were very pleased with our choice. Our flight was delayed and we were unable to make it over to Catalina for our first night's stay however, the staff immediately gave us a voucher for one night's stay - no expiry date. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the hotel has recently been redecorated and it is fabulous! Yes, the rooms are smaller than a modern hotel and yes, they lack some of the sound dampening that newer construction has however, that's the style of the architecture of that period and any minor negatives are more than made up for by the charm of the hotel, its cleanliness and its great location. Yes, you do have to climb up the stairs but this should not be a problem unless you have a severe disability or are quite elderly. It's a max of what? 4 floors? Stop whining and get some flippin' exercise!! The hotel is next door to Von's supermarket which is great for buying a few groceries and water/wine (the room had a small fridge) and also next door to the Metropole Square complete with coffee shop/bakery and other shops for browsing. It is only a couple of blocks off the beach (this makes it quieter too, which we appreciated). Yes, some of the rooms overlook Von's supermarket but this is not a big deal in my books. Have you people every traveled in Europe? Besides, above the rooftop of Von's are palm trees and a view of the ocean. Is it really that bad? I guess if you live in your hotel room it may be. For us, we are looking forward to returning next year and using our voucher.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerniePruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were a group of 8 with four rooms, two king balony views and two queen non view rooms. The hotel is redecorated and clean, with good location, but extremely loud ! I had a conversation with the guy next door. He sneezed, I said "bless you" he said "thank you. When the toilet or water runs next door or above it sounds like it's in your room with the bathroom door open. The "view rooms" were a view of Von's little grocery store (the fans and refrigeration units run all night ) a run down apartment building and another hotel in between you and the beach. This was not the view advertised.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GiantEeyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinadelrey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel was very well decorated and comfortable. We were very impressed upon first arrival with the looks of the place but the front desk staff was rude and not helpful at all. The queen room was VERY small but worked for us for the price. Now here comes the bad part. We could hear guests going up and down the stairs all night and the walls were so thin that we could hear the ladies next door. We could hear EVERY word they were saying at 7am. It was almost as if they were sitting in OUR room.

I would recommend this place only because it is a great location and a decent price but not if you are a late sleeper!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sliebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
302 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

We tend to be thrifty, but I decided to splurge on a room with a balcony and view of the water. There was a balcony, there was a view of the water, but the predominate view was the air handlers of the VONS grocery store next door. It was atypically hot, and the hotel is not airconditioned. All night we heard the roar of the A/C next door so we had all the noise and none of the benefit of a room air conditioner. The room is small, but the bathroom was actually pretty large and nice. There is no elevator and the room was on the 3rd floor plus a half. The decor is quite fashionable and the bed and bedding were fine. The "breakfast" doesn't start until 8am (or so) and there is no coffee in room or in the lobby until "breakfast" and I was very, very unimpressed with the breakfast. This is really not a B&B, this is a small hotel. Noise is everywhere on Catalina and so is the odor of fuel. The profuse golfcarts are gas, not electric because of the steep hills and because you are so near the harbor you have the smell of marine fuel as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing