We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We found an amazing Hotel at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Island Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We found an amazing Hotel at a great price!”
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Our stay at Catalina Island Inn was amazing from arrival to check out! I would absolutely recommend this Hotel for it's central location, wonderful and friendly staff, and gorgeous accommodations.
After arriving at the dock we took a cab to the Inn, which was silly as it was only a short walk to the Inn. It's perfectly located in the center of all of the shopping and dining, and a short two minute walk to the main beach. It had just been remodeled and has a modern-beachy look to it, which I loved - so relaxing and inviting! The new beds were so comfortable and large, and each room has new flat screen TV's. We stayed in an amazing room with the best view of Avalon Bay. My fiancee and I got engaged on this trip, and he had called ahead to the Hotel and local florist to coordinate his surprise - they couldn't have been more accommodating and were excited to be a part of it! The locals are extremely friendly, and when at our engagement dinner later that night, we even found that we were sitting next to the Hotel owners, who were genuinely happy that we were having such a wonderful stay! What a coincidence! The Catalina Island Inn was even running a special for our weekend stay that included 2 free tickets for the whale watching tour, which was a complete success and so much fun! This couldn't have been a more perfect trip! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganLovesDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    196
    56
    25
    12
See reviews for
74
302
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Although the inn was decorated nicely, the staff was downright unfriendly. Every time we walked into the lobby, not one person ever said hello to us before we said hello to them. We thought it ironic that almost without exception, the staff seemed to always be on the phone handling a complaint! The pictures on the website were quite deceiving. Our room was the size of a shoe box with the queen bed pushed to one side against the wall. Their "continental breakfast" consists of a cup of coffee and a mini muffin. We took the "winter get away" package ($500 for two nights) and felt like it was a complete disappointment. Next time we'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needtogetaway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My wife and I actually came to the Catalina Islands for our honeymoon and didn't want to go back to our home! It's a great place to get away from everything and it's such a great little town. The hotel was great and very clean, the only downside is we didn't have a beach view(probably because we chose the cheapest rooms, had a view of a brick wall) and the rooms were very small and economic. However overall the stay was great and we plan on going back soon! Hospitality was great too. Oh and tip, if you want to go parasailing, go with the guys on the green pier that's about 90 dollars, not the one you first walk by when getting off the boat or helicopter. They are half priced for a reason...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel was great, they let us check in early at 0800 and made us a cup of coffee while we waited. I will be staying there again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colejohns12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The decor of the hotel is absolutely adorable....elegant sea cottage feel. The rooms are VERY small, but comfortable. The staff was kind and helpful. The location is ideal....within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We splurged for a top floor room. It was small but very nicely done. Tiny bath though, and the sink was in the room rather than the bathroom. But the decor and details were well done. A particularly excellent paint job! Beautiful lobby. Loved the grand hallways and high ceilings throughout. Overall a lovely distinctive hotel with a lot of grand character.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

My girlfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Catalina Island Inn. The Inn is in a great Avalon location, just a block or so off the main drag...far enough away where it is a little more quiet. We had a great room with a balcony on the 4th floor. Terrific views of the harbor and the Ocean! The rooms and Inn were clean and very nicely appointed. The Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy and rooms spacious, with nice big shower. Only knock might have been the continental breakfast, which was fine but pretty bare bones. Overall, a great experience though! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Island Inn

Property: Catalina Island Inn
Address: 125 Metropole, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Avalon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend the night at one of the best Catalina Island hotels, the Catalina Island Inn. Catalina Island is only a short sail away, twenty-two miles, from the California mainland, but a world away from the hectic pace. Catalina Island Inn hotel is located in the heart of Avalon, California, steps away from restaurants, shops, tours and the beach at Catalina Island. Walking is a wonderful way to explore our safe and charming town. Visitors don’t need a car to get around. Almost everything is within walking distance. Enjoy a special Catalina Island vacation in one of the Catalina Island Inn family rooms that accommodate up to five people. Catalina Island Inn is large enough to host family reunions & weddings and intimate enough for a romantic getaway.Whether you are on a solo-adventure or traveling with a crowd, the Catalina Island Inn has something for everyone. Rooms ranging from moderate priced twins or queen bed to luxury, harbor view, kings are available. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a clean, contemporary island motif. We are one of the most romantic Catalina hotels. Treat yourself to a relaxing getaway at the Catalina Island Inn hotel.The Catalina Island Inn is pleased to announce the opening of its new ground floor Patio Rooms!!! 5 spectacular new King bedded rooms and private patios with custom fireplaces, nurturing textures, spacious tiled showers, free wi-fi, flat screen TVs, quiet comfort, and lush contemporary décor. A handicap-accessible guest room is also available. It features unique luxury and also meets all ADA guidelines for wheelchair guests needing special conveniences. It includes easily accessible thresholds, widened doorways in addition elegant amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Catalina Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Hotel Avalon
Catalina Island Inn Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing