We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2011

This place was fantastic! I don't think I've had a better experience in a hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The partial ocean view room we had was a little on the small side if you're comparing it to your standard Las Vegas room but this room was 100 times better. Great view from the balcony. My wife really liked the bathroom and so did I. Spacious, complimentary toiletries that women would love. Complimentary snacks, coffee, team, hot cocoa at the lobby all days. Complimentary breakfast was good. No it isn't your breakfast buffet at the Belagio but it isn't your donuts and coffee breakfast at the Best Western either. There is a roof top deck that guests can access with lounge chairs, tables and even a grill if you care to host some friends. The standard rates are to much for us but if you search online, you can get some spectacular deals. I would not look at another hotel if and when we visit Avalon again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

So glad you enjoyed your stay and found a special that fit your budget. We'll look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

This small hotel is refreshing for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that it is exactly as represented. The property itself is immaculate, and the condition of the room and all furnishings was top-notch. In an absolute sense, some of the rooms can be a bit pricey, but the quality of the accomodation, location, amenities, and view balance this nicely. The staff is friendly and accomodating as well. All in all, if you are heading to Avalon to relax and indulge yourself a bit, you cannot possible go wrong at this hotel.

Room Tip: 306 is very quiet, even with slider open at night!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirate226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you're on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

What a fabulous stay we had for two nights at the Avalon. Highly recommend it. Clean rooms, magnificent views, super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast in the courtyard. Best place to stay in Avalon!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anderstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2011

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island is a fabulous experience. We stayed in Room 301, a corner room with a spectacular view of the Avalon Harbor as the hotel is perched on a hillside. The room has all of the latest electronic gadgets and a spacious balcony wraps around two sides and sports an outside wet bar and refrigerator along with two extremely comfy chaise lounges. The common areas are adorned with photographs from yesteryear of Avalon and Catalina Island. You get the feeling that you have stepped back in time . . . with all of the modern day conveniences of course. The staff is first rate - it's no wonder that this is the #1 hotel on the island.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLHKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Thanks so much for the great review. We've worked hard to balance modern conveniences with classic hospitality and attention to detail. Can't wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We have stayed at the Avalon Hotel in Early March and simply loved it. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the sea. The room is beautifully done, fully equipped with microwave (and popcorn!), fridge and you get a complimentary Snapple. There is a great coffe-maker on the groundfloor and they serve a great breakfast every morning out on the patio.
The staff were very helpful, especially Martha. If we should come back to Catalina, we would love to stay at the Avalon Hotel again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiCamolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

So glad you enjoyed your stay, we'll thank Martha for making sure your stay was especially exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Avalon Hotel. We will be back and we will stay with them! For what this island has to offer, a stay here at The Avalon is awesome! We stayed in the first room at the top of the stairs and was never woke up by noise! The room is narrow (easy to adapt to!) with top-notch bathroom fixtures. I could stay here for a couple of weeks and feel like I experienced all of the ambience that the island has to offer! 15 years ago I was here and experienced Antonio's on the water. 15 years later the restaurant is so good that we even had breakfast there the day of our departure! Our servers there, at Antonio's and front desk people at The Avalon Hotel were much more than accommodating! Thank you Laurie, Heidi and the tall, young guy at the Avalon Hotel for a wonderful 50th birthday memory!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lg_7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

If you like staying at a place that feels like Home away from Home, this is it. Laurie and Scottie took great care of us. The morning meal was superb, sitting in the patio by the fire on the cool January morning. They treated us like family during our entire stay. They hooked us up with wonderful things to do and good places to go. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdseigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £163 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing