We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Anaheim Hills, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend and the Avalon hotel was a true escape. Beautiful room and view and very comfortable bed! Morning breakfast on the patio next to the koi pond was peaceful as was the top deck with spectacular views. The lotions including sunscreen in the room were a bonus as was the tote bag with beach towels for our jaunt to the beach. First class!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay. That 26 miles truly leads to different world. Hope you're looking forward to your next vist to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
77
385
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riipon,CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

The properly stated elegance and sublime comfort did indeed abound. from the moment we arrived. The Avalon property and the unique town made for a grand and unforgettable stay.
Travel the 26 miles to another time place

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfellaRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have had the extreme pleasure of staying at the Avalon 3 times during the past year.

Each time, my island getaway was warm friendly comfort, luxury and indulgence.

The terrific Team/ Staff led by Innkeeper Laurie and her front desk Team of Diane and Heidi are perfection--- they honor all traditions of hospitality. They are just such a welcoming accommodating Team that it feels like a Luxuriously furnished and Staffed Family Beachhouse.

Each room has gorgeous high- ends linens, ultra-comfortable beds,and Heavy plush Spa Robes are provided for comfort during the stay. Full complimentary bath amenities specially crafted for the Hotel are well- stocked in each room. Plush Beach towels,snacks and coffee/beverages are ready and waiting in your room-- upon arrival.

Afternoon refreshments are served in the lobby, as well as a very generous continental-type breakfast of yoghurts, cereals, oatmeals, eggs, fresh fruits, berries, fresh juices,coffee, teas and hot chocolates.Breakfast is served outside in the waterfall gardens adjacent to the koi pond and fire ring. A beautiful, peaceful shaded area.

Laptops are available as well as full DVD library at the front desk, flatscreens in rooms, DVD players.

The ocean breezes and breathtaking ocean views from window, door, balcony, or roof top deck is intoxicating yet relaxing .And the Avalon is a short easy walk to everything.

The views,smells,sounds and natural beauty of Catalina Island are perfectly represented at the Avalon with gorgeous woodwork, Historical framed photos, Artwork, Sculptures, gardens, and beautiful furnishings throughout.

I have weekended at numerous Hotels in Avalon. Avalon Hotel on
Catalina Island is the only Hotel for me.... now. It's waiting for me!!!You will agree!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandchummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
So glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. We'll pass your praise on to Laurie and her team. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

This place was fantastic! I don't think I've had a better experience in a hotel. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The partial ocean view room we had was a little on the small side if you're comparing it to your standard Las Vegas room but this room was 100 times better. Great view from the balcony. My wife really liked the bathroom and so did I. Spacious, complimentary toiletries that women would love. Complimentary snacks, coffee, team, hot cocoa at the lobby all days. Complimentary breakfast was good. No it isn't your breakfast buffet at the Belagio but it isn't your donuts and coffee breakfast at the Best Western either. There is a roof top deck that guests can access with lounge chairs, tables and even a grill if you care to host some friends. The standard rates are to much for us but if you search online, you can get some spectacular deals. I would not look at another hotel if and when we visit Avalon again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found a special that fit your budget. We'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

This small hotel is refreshing for a number of reasons, not the least of which is that it is exactly as represented. The property itself is immaculate, and the condition of the room and all furnishings was top-notch. In an absolute sense, some of the rooms can be a bit pricey, but the quality of the accomodation, location, amenities, and view balance this nicely. The staff is friendly and accomodating as well. All in all, if you are heading to Avalon to relax and indulge yourself a bit, you cannot possible go wrong at this hotel.

Room Tip: 306 is very quiet, even with slider open at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pirate226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we're looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you're on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

What a fabulous stay we had for two nights at the Avalon. Highly recommend it. Clean rooms, magnificent views, super friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast in the courtyard. Best place to stay in Avalon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anderstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

The Avalon Hotel on Catalina Island is a fabulous experience. We stayed in Room 301, a corner room with a spectacular view of the Avalon Harbor as the hotel is perched on a hillside. The room has all of the latest electronic gadgets and a spacious balcony wraps around two sides and sports an outside wet bar and refrigerator along with two extremely comfy chaise lounges. The common areas are adorned with photographs from yesteryear of Avalon and Catalina Island. You get the feeling that you have stepped back in time . . . with all of the modern day conveniences of course. The staff is first rate - it's no wonder that this is the #1 hotel on the island.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLHKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thanks so much for the great review. We've worked hard to balance modern conveniences with classic hospitality and attention to detail. Can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing