We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and sophisticated”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2011

What a great find!!!...really nice hotel with really comfortable beds and nice balcony with an awesome view. We had 301, and absolutely loved the wrap around balcony. Lori was really helpful while making the reservations, and she suggested 301 was the best room...and it was......other front desk staff were also great helping us make restaurant reservations and recommending the local favorites. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryna311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Thanks so much for letting us know your thoughts. Glad you enjoyed it -- 301 is really a special room. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

From the initial reservation until the moment we left, the service I received was fantastic. I had made special request for some chocolates and champagne to be in the room when we arrived. The morning of our arrival, Laurie called to find out when we would be arriving to ensure everything was all set. We arrived early, but everything was ready and perfect. Whenever we had questions, the front desk staff was friendly and informative. Anytime we walked in, we were greeted with a smile and a hello.

We stayed in room 301, and the view and the balcony were amazing. There were comfortable lounge chairs, and we spent a fair amount of time just relaxing and enjoying the view. The bathroom was modern and clean, with really nice bath products. We liked their sea salt scrub so much, we bought a jar of it to bring home.

The continental breakfast served in their courtyard was a nice way to start the morning. I hear there is a nice roof deck, but we never ventured up because our own private balcony was enough for us.

All in all - great room, wonderful views and location, and fantastic service.

Room Tip: Room 301 has the best balcony in the place.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy-fishie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Thanks so much for your review. Glad the champagne and chocolates had the desired effect. We'll make sure and pass on your compliments to Laurie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend getaway to Catalina at the Avalon Hotel! My room and the property were gorgeous and inviting. The staff were so helpful, the view amazing, and the serenity palpable. My only hesitation: my room was downstairs near reception, so I could hear other guests chatting as they walked by my room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ennaidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2011

Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway. Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

One of the nicest if not the nicest hotel in Avalon. The highlight of the hotel is the breathtaking rooftop deck with sweeping views of all of Avalon. Worth the money!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akerns01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

Thanks for taking the time to write. The roof deck is really a special place. The other evening we were watching dolphins play in the harbor from there. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend and the Avalon hotel was a true escape. Beautiful room and view and very comfortable bed! Morning breakfast on the patio next to the koi pond was peaceful as was the top deck with spectacular views. The lotions including sunscreen in the room were a bonus as was the tote bag with beach towels for our jaunt to the beach. First class!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawinth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swccatalina, Public Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2011

So glad you enjoyed your stay. That 26 miles truly leads to different world. Hope you're looking forward to your next vist to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The properly stated elegance and sublime comfort did indeed abound. from the moment we arrived. The Avalon property and the unique town made for a grand and unforgettable stay.
Travel the 26 miles to another time place

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyfellaRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have had the extreme pleasure of staying at the Avalon 3 times during the past year.

Each time, my island getaway was warm friendly comfort, luxury and indulgence.

The terrific Team/ Staff led by Innkeeper Laurie and her front desk Team of Diane and Heidi are perfection--- they honor all traditions of hospitality. They are just such a welcoming accommodating Team that it feels like a Luxuriously furnished and Staffed Family Beachhouse.

Each room has gorgeous high- ends linens, ultra-comfortable beds,and Heavy plush Spa Robes are provided for comfort during the stay. Full complimentary bath amenities specially crafted for the Hotel are well- stocked in each room. Plush Beach towels,snacks and coffee/beverages are ready and waiting in your room-- upon arrival.

Afternoon refreshments are served in the lobby, as well as a very generous continental-type breakfast of yoghurts, cereals, oatmeals, eggs, fresh fruits, berries, fresh juices,coffee, teas and hot chocolates.Breakfast is served outside in the waterfall gardens adjacent to the koi pond and fire ring. A beautiful, peaceful shaded area.

Laptops are available as well as full DVD library at the front desk, flatscreens in rooms, DVD players.

The ocean breezes and breathtaking ocean views from window, door, balcony, or roof top deck is intoxicating yet relaxing .And the Avalon is a short easy walk to everything.

The views,smells,sounds and natural beauty of Catalina Island are perfectly represented at the Avalon with gorgeous woodwork, Historical framed photos, Artwork, Sculptures, gardens, and beautiful furnishings throughout.

I have weekended at numerous Hotels in Avalon. Avalon Hotel on
Catalina Island is the only Hotel for me.... now. It's waiting for me!!!You will agree!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandchummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAvalonHotels, Owner at The Avalon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

So glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. We'll pass your praise on to Laurie and her team. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and share your experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £163 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing