We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great attention to detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Loved our stay here. Although the room was small, we had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and we especially enjoyed the breakfast out on the patio, the fresh coffee all day long in the lobby, and the comfortable bathrobes in our room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
77
385
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Laurie of The Front Desk was a delight to book with, and a gracious hostess. The hotel is lovely, with a gorgeous rooftop and courtyard breakfast by the koi pond, with a fireplace. Laurie gave us the best tips on where to eat (on an island where fine dining isn't exactly fine) so that navigation was very helpful! We forgot a drawerful of socks and "zoom!" they sent them home to us after giving us a call. We hope to visit again soon, and repeat our shuttle up to the airport with mountain bikes to bike down through the eucalyptus allee.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

What a lovely hotel! This was truly a home away from home for our family. We were on Catalina Island for business, as my husband was one of the artists performing at the Jazz Trax Festival and Laurie made it feel like it was a mini vacation for us instead of work. Our daughter was thrilled when she got to feed the koi fish every morning, as we enjoyed a lovely breakfast on the patio in front of a warm fire pit. Oh, and we were fighting over the yummy bath products that smelled like tangerine! There was a body scrub & butter that I actually used on my hands and it made them so soft and smelled divine! We will definitely stay here again! Thanks guys for treating us like royalty!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is one fine hotel! The rooms were clean and comfortable; the bathroom was spacious. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the little touches such as the complimentary bottled waters and iced teas in the room, the cookies and coffee offered in the lobby, the luxurious soaps and lotions in the bathroom - even Q-tips and cotton balls.

The continental breakfast in the courtyard had a very good selection of food and drinks. g. We ate while listening to the gurgle of the koi pond. We had a room on the second floor (#201) and enjoyed the big balcony view of the harbor. We enjoyed our stay and we would definitely recommend The Avalon. Jam & Kathy wil return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Avalon is a small hotel a few doors up a small street from the waterfront. Our room's balcony had a view of the harbor and two chairs for relaxing. The room was well-appointed with nice furnishings, flat-screen TV, refrigerator (stocked with water and juice), microwave (popcorn and coffee in cabinet), a safe for valuables, and a large light and airy bathroom with nice toiletries and robes. Everything was very clean. All the rooms are on three floors though, be aware, without an elevator, and there are stairs to reach the front door. There is a roof deck overlooking the harbor and the surrounding hills set up for daytime sun-bathing (beach bag with big towels are in the room) or evening cocktails. The substantial breakfast was presented in a pretty garden surrounded by tropical plants and a koi pond. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would highly recommend the hotel and hope to return again some day. And October was a great month for visiting Catalina.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trvlr50
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Avalon Hotel for the Jazz Trax Festival. Having visited Catalina on many other occasions, we toured this hotel in 2004 and did not forget about how impressed we were. The rooms are well designed and comfortable. Lots of space in the bathroom and everything is so clean. Luxurious shower and bath products are provided for your personal use. Beds are comfy. The patio is very pleasant each morning with breakfast waiting for you. The sound of their fish pond is very soothing and relaxing. We loved the roof top deck where you can sun, sleep and share a glass of wine. I would say it is a thoughtful property and the interior is well appointed. Water and juice is placed in your room refrigerator as well on the top deck. Additionally, a big beach bag with towels and beach amenities is in your room along with coffee and popcorn for morning and evening snacks.
Laurie and Ken attend to your needs and will go out of their way to accommodate your requests. When a sore foot left me unable to hike with everyone to the Wrigley Memorial, Laurie invited me to assist her in feeding the incredible Koi fish in the pond. The property feels like you are in a home not a hotel. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the patio have the relaxing sound of the fountain and pond and you can still see the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Avalon was very clean, comfortable, cozy, and pleasant. Anna and Lori were very wonderful and accomadating to us. Im going back to stay there next year on our anniversary. We absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: a balcony room if you smoke and great to see the harbor/ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing