We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best room, Best time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best room, Best time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in room 301 for 4 nights, 5 days, ocean view with wrap around balcony. It was a splurge but well worth it. From the moment we entered the room we were stunned by the beautiful views of Avalon bay and the hillsides. You are close enough to enjoy breath taking views but far enough off the main street as a buffer for the night life noise. The place is close and central for walking to everything in Avalon.
The outdoor balcony had a fridge with a freezer where we kept our frozen peas for the fish in Lover's cove and also our wine and booze. The interior of our room also had a fridge where they kept it full of water and snapple. All of the hotel folks were so nice. Laurie made sure everything was taken care of.
The room had everything we needed from cork screw to thick bath robes. The big catalina tiled bathroom was stocked with great coconut shampoos and soaps and even a hair dryer. The bed was so comfortable.
We woke up to the peaceful courtyard to a wonderful breakfast and the sound of the beautiful fountain with huge koi fish that they let us hand feed with koi food from the receptionist. I always was the early riser and they would light the fire pit to take the morning chill off. It was the most wonderful way to spent every morning planning our day's adventures.

Room Tip: 301 ocean view if you want to splurge but so worth it. Wrap around balcony was so nice to soak up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
77
386
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Avalon. We stayed for 2 nights and that included 2 Catalina Express tickets and a cab voucher, so it turned out to be a really good deal. We had a third floor courtyard view room with a King size bed. I will warn you - no elevators.The room was a nice size, and the bathroom was very large. The weather there is so nice, you can just open the windows to stay cool during the day. The bathrooms have San Diego Soap Co. products, and the smell of the orange/sage shampoo and lotions is awesome.

We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, suggesting the easiest way to get to a hiking spot and reserving a spot for us on the Airport shuttle. There is a expansive continental breakfast each morning, snacks and drinks in the rooms, and other refreshments available in the lobby. We would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The hotel is small and quiet but still right in the middle of all the Avalon action. We would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: There are no stairs, so if you don't want to climb with your luggage, this might be something to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Avalon Hotel was wonderful and relaxing. The patio area with
the koi pond and fire pit made you feel welcome. My twin grandchildren
loved feeding the koi each day. The breakfast each morning was ample
and yummy. Laurie Sanchez, the innkeeper was most helpful with everything.
We hope to return soon! Ann Vogel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnGrady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This the 2nd year that my wife and I have stayed @ this hotel. The service,rooms,amenities and location are excellent. The hotel staff can not do enough for you. They have a continental breakfast that is great. We were there on the 4th of July and the hotel had a free dinner with wine and rooftop view of the fireworks. This hotel spare no expense to keep their customers happy. We will be back next year with our same friends!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 2 days prior to our daughter's wedding at the metropole. i loved the very comfy bed! the bath soaps were great! the staff was great! i loved this quaint hotel so much that i am writing my first review ever!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peoriagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

My family of 14 just spent a long weekend at The Avalon and were delighted with this excellent hotel. The rooms are great - good sheets and bathrooms and spectacular views. A lovely rooftop gathering place was good for relaxing at the end of the day. Wine and cheese at 4 and a continental breakfast were super perks. We liked having beach chairs and towels as it lightened the packing. The location is perfect, just off the main drag and all the fun of Avalon. Best of all were the friendly, accommodating staff. Laurie and Diana - you're the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in 306, which has an amazing view of the harbor and the surrounding hillsides. More than that though, the hotel is first class. They take no short cuts and do not scrimp on anything. From providing drinks and popcorn in the room (at no extra charge) to the top shelf toiletries provided in the bathroom. This is not the cheapest place in town, but it is worth it.

Room Tip: 306 has the best view, but is also the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petemac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing