We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Avalon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pavilion Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
607
68
7
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
68
7
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondrooftop deckcraftsman stylecatalina islandhumming birdswrap around balconycontinental breakfastcomplimentary snacksfire pitbeach baggarden viewmurphy bedwine glasseslittle touchesbath productsbottled waterboiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is your home away from home. The beds are so comfortable plus the bath amenities are fantastic. The hotel accomidated our small group of friends as well. The balconies are so wonderful only to be topped by the staff's friendliness and cleanliness. You have not taken a bath until you have bathed in the fabulous bathtubs and sea salts. Look no further, this is truly your second home with a full staff to help you.

Room Tip: This is a perfect hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancinginthejunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

What a lovely place to stay! The hotel is close to the main part of Avalon, but away from bustle. It was quiet, comfortable, and the amenities were great. The staff is very friendly and helpful without getting in your way. When you have a concern, they respond quickly. For example, the first evening my husband and I wanted to read, but found the lighting in the room inadequate. In the morning I asked if they perhaps had reading lamps, and by the time we came back to our room, there were two great lamps on the tables beside our bed.

There is a patio area where the continental breakfast is served. They lit the fire pit, and our table was between that and the koi pond. We sat and watched the woodpeckers and other birds, and were able to relax and enjoy the morning.

Overall, this is a great place to get away, relax, and let go of stress.

Room Tip: We were in room 305. No direct view of the ocean, but you can open the sliding glass door and look right out. We were fine with that--the room is much more reasonably priced than 301, which we saw, and admitedly, has a magnificent view and lounge chairs on the balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We found this hotel an Snique Away and booked a balcony room for a night. We arrived at a lovely, quaint hotel, a half block off the beaten track, and checked in with an enthusiastic and helpful desk clerk, who took us to our room.
The room was reasonably sized and the amenities were very nice. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom nicely appointed.
What made the stay memorable is that there were several small amenities, such as coffee and snacks in the lobby and in the room, made available at no extra charge. I really dislike hotels that "nickel and dime" you for everything, and although I am sure I paid for these little extras, it was nice to have them available for the price of the accommodations.
There is a large roof deck which a panoramic view of the harbor and most of the City of Avalon as well as an ample balcony adjoining the room. All of these made for a really positive experience.
The room included a small continental breakfast which was also quite nice. The only drawback was that we were there on Feb. 28, and it was a bit too cold to have the breakfast on their private ground level patio, so had to eat in the small lobby, which can only seat 2 or 3 people at a time, but I'm sure most of the year when you can sit outside and have your breakfast, this also is outstanding. I highly recommend the Avalon Hotel if you go to Catalina Island.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room rather than a "no view" room if available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike_wexler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The staff were very helpful and gracious. The location was nice and slightly offset from the main street which we liked.. The views were great and the little eating area was quaint. We would come back here for future trips.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vagiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Though it was a bit chilly in the air, the hospitality of the staff at the hotel as well as the people on the island kept us warm. We had a lovely stay of two nights and this island feels so exotic, not like anything else in the US. I can really recommend everyone a trip here, and of course you just have to try the beds at this hotel. You don't want to go home!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank USAfantast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews