We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is amazing. The beds are extremely comfortable, the views are gorgeous, the staff is like family, and it's just steps from the shops and the ocean. If you're looking for somewhere to relax you need to stay here. Also, the bathtub with the bubbles & body scrub is to die for. Don't forget wine & cheese on Friday's! I'm enjoying it at this very moment!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TattooGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our 50 Anniversary trip. Easy and complete service in booking trip and related activities. Great view from room of the harbor. Quiet, professional, thoughtful are the words the come to mind as experienced travelers. A small customer focused property that fits the island but adds greatly to the experience of .getting away to Avalon.

Room Tip: No elevator adds to the charm but the best views are from the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Two marvelous nights in Avalon. Room 306 had a perfect view of the harbor and was well equiped and more than comfortable. The entire staff was helpful and gave us an array of good choices for restaurants and entertainment possibilities. The hike up to the third floor was a chore but the cozy bed with a view made it all worthwhile! They made our first visit to the island so enjoyable we'll be back sooner than planned. Great Job!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a "room with a view"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We got a snique away deal deal and went to this hotel sight unseen and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was more like a bed and breakfast. The room was spacious and clean and charming. The bathtub was very comfortable for my bath and the natural bath products provided were wonderful. There is an awesome deck on the top that even has a grill if you so desired. Wine and Cheese was served in the patio on Friday afternoon and a buffet breakfast daily which I wasn't expecting made the weekend even nicer. There is a Kuerig in the lobby ready for any coffee or tea cravings that might pop up. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We also had my husbands birthday dinner at the Portofino restaurant around the corner and it was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a balcony bay view room but you could not see the water from the room and only if you craned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time this weekend, and most of the credit goes to this hotel!
When we landed, we walked the ten minutes from the landing to the hotel, and were able to check into our room right away. Complimentary coffee, tea and snacks were available in the lobby, and complimentary waters and Snapples in the room fridge. The room size was great and the decor home-y. There was an ocean view even from our "garden view room." The toiletries were delicious and I now have new a favorite scent: "tangerine sage"! We were very cozy and happy here. Best of all were the great service and friendly conversation of Laurie and Richard.
One constructive suggestion for the hotel owner: install heat lamps and offer wine and cheese service upstairs on the beautiful rooftop deck for guests to better enjoy the view on cool nights.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and all rooms have a view! Just keep in mind there's no elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uscgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Took my wife for her birthday over a three day weekend. First visit to Catalina, and this Hotel made the visit perfect. My wife forgot her cain, Diana found one she could use, then it looked like rain, Avalon Hotel to the rescue with an Umbrella. Lorie, was so friendly and hospitable, provided a late check-out, great advice on the island, and made us feel like family coming home. Extremely clean, well maintained and appointed, you will like everything about the Avalon. There is a reason its number one. The Koi fish were great to watch, Arnold especially. Arnold is the large orange Koi, as in Schwarzeneggar. Views from the rooftop - amazing, and breakfast in the courtyard the perfect start to each day. This turned out to be a happy accident, since the island was fairly booked, but we couldn't have picked a better place if I had researched for hours. Thanks Lorie, Diana and the entire staff.

Room Tip: We had 102 to avoid stairs, but still had a view of the ocean, a nice balcony with chairs, and the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This is your home away from home. The beds are so comfortable plus the bath amenities are fantastic. The hotel accomidated our small group of friends as well. The balconies are so wonderful only to be topped by the staff's friendliness and cleanliness. You have not taken a bath until you have bathed in the fabulous bathtubs and sea salts. Look no further, this is truly your second home with a full staff to help you.

Room Tip: This is a perfect hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancinginthejunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,151 reviews
0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
372 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#2 Best Value Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £159 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing