We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Avalon Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Portofino Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Metropole(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$346
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Mariquita Hotel(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
El Terado Terrace(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mac Rae(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Catalina Island Inn(Avalon)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
602
67
7
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
67
7
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskoi pondrooftop deckcraftsman stylecatalina islandhumming birdswrap around balconycontinental breakfastcomplimentary snacksfire pitbeach baggarden viewmurphy bedwine glasseslittle touchesbath productsbottled waterboiled eggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 685 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is amazing. The beds are extremely comfortable, the views are gorgeous, the staff is like family, and it's just steps from the shops and the ocean. If you're looking for somewhere to relax you need to stay here. Also, the bathtub with the bubbles & body scrub is to die for. Don't forget wine & cheese on Friday's! I'm enjoying it at this very moment!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TattooGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our 50 Anniversary trip. Easy and complete service in booking trip and related activities. Great view from room of the harbor. Quiet, professional, thoughtful are the words the come to mind as experienced travelers. A small customer focused property that fits the island but adds greatly to the experience of .getting away to Avalon.

Room Tip: No elevator adds to the charm but the best views are from the third floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Two marvelous nights in Avalon. Room 306 had a perfect view of the harbor and was well equiped and more than comfortable. The entire staff was helpful and gave us an array of good choices for restaurants and entertainment possibilities. The hike up to the third floor was a chore but the cozy bed with a view made it all worthwhile! They made our first visit to the island so enjoyable we'll be back sooner than planned. Great Job!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get a "room with a view"!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We got a snique away deal deal and went to this hotel sight unseen and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was more like a bed and breakfast. The room was spacious and clean and charming. The bathtub was very comfortable for my bath and the natural bath products provided were wonderful. There is an awesome deck on the top that even has a grill if you so desired. Wine and Cheese was served in the patio on Friday afternoon and a buffet breakfast daily which I wasn't expecting made the weekend even nicer. There is a Kuerig in the lobby ready for any coffee or tea cravings that might pop up. I would definitely recommend this hotel. We also had my husbands birthday dinner at the Portofino restaurant around the corner and it was amazing.

Room Tip: We had a balcony bay view room but you could not see the water from the room and only if you craned your head to the right while on the balcony. We were fine with it but if you want to see water from your room make sure you find out which rooms that would be
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time this weekend, and most of the credit goes to this hotel!
When we landed, we walked the ten minutes from the landing to the hotel, and were able to check into our room right away. Complimentary coffee, tea and snacks were available in the lobby, and complimentary waters and Snapples in the room fridge. The room size was great and the decor home-y. There was an ocean view even from our "garden view room." The toiletries were delicious and I now have new a favorite scent: "tangerine sage"! We were very cozy and happy here. Best of all were the great service and friendly conversation of Laurie and Richard.
One constructive suggestion for the hotel owner: install heat lamps and offer wine and cheese service upstairs on the beautiful rooftop deck for guests to better enjoy the view on cool nights.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and all rooms have a view! Just keep in mind there's no elevator!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uscgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews