We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, and all of the right touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“clean, and all of the right touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I love that there is a steamer rather than an iron in the room- it is subtle reinforcement that you are here to relax. And relax we did! Our room was clean and lovely, with a small balcony and an ocean/harbor view. It includes all of room touches you want- fridge, desk, coffee, microwave (and popcorn), etc. They have gone to extra care around the property to add period-influenced elements -1920's Craftsman era - down to the Fiestaware drinking glasses in the bathrooms. Spend some time on the rooftop balcony- there is plenty of seating, including loungers. Breakfast is a delicious buffet-style continental served on the patio. The patio is perfect early or late afternoon - there a koi-filled pond and about a million humming birds and in the evening, the fire pit goes until about 10pm. Everyone we met that works at the hotel was wonderful and accommodating and we will absolutely return!

Room Tip: a front room with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    60
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
82
393
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wow! We will come back to The Avalon Hotel again and again.
.
After living in Los Angeles for sixteen years and always WANTING to go to Catalina, I surprised my husband for his birthday Easter weekend with a trip there.

Gosh love TripAdvisor! For someone who is well traveled, I was a nervous Nellie about going to an island as I had no idea what to expect. You would think I was going to Mars! Diana, Melissa and Ana answered questions as they came up months before our stay. Once there, it was Laurie, the AMAZING innkeeper with her genuine hospitality and friendliness that will keep us coming back. Also, the entire place was spotless! Kudos to the hard working housekeeping staff for a job well done. Kudos to co-owner Rock whom we met for a terrific place!

We had comfy Room 305 that overlooked the garden. I was a bit concerned at first that it would be noisier because of people eating breakfast below us but all was well. It was divine to go to sleep with the window open and hearing the babbling fountain of the koi pond below as we drifted off to sleep. We also really enjoyed the Continental breakfast there in the relaxing garden. Very welcoming & neighborly!

The hotel does have the feel of a bed & breakfast. Its' location has easy access to things but just enough off the beaten path to be quiet and serene. VERY restful. We also enjoyed the coffee/tea maker & free snacks in the lobby 24 hours.

If you want a special treat while on the island, go up to The Inn at Mt Ada (The former Wrigley estate) for breakfast or lunch which the public can do without staying at Mt. Ada. We went for a lovely lunch with ALL unlimited beverages included (champagne, coffeee, sodas, wine, teas, etc..) and had a relaxing time on the patio overlooking Avalon and the bay with breathtaking views. Innkeeper Michael there (who is also on the City Council) was a delightful host!

In addition, EVERYONE we encountered on Catalina were friendly and seemed SO HAPPY to live there. A graet vibe! Our entire trip was a a joy and very relaxing! Can't wait to return! Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borntoact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Picking a hotel is a tough job! After perusing several hotels on the island of Catalina, I settled on the Avalon hotel and I am certainly glad I did.

This little gem is the nos. 1 hotel on the island and although it isn't cheap (its an island so everything is pretty pricey), the service and the attention to detail is top notch.

Great friendly staff, from Kate who initially handled my reservation (and handled every inquiry I had with a lot of patience) to Lindsey (sp), Laurie and Diane who I met during our stay, everything was impeccable.

I was celebrating my mother's 72nd birthday so of course wanted to ensure she had a great time (she did) and I was VERY pleasantly surprised to find a nice bottle of chardonnay on ice with two wine glasses awaiting our arrival upon checking in.

I took the cheaper option of a garden view (room 304). Yes, 3 flights of stairs to climb but it's worth getting the cheaper option of garden view if you are watching funds. Firstly, you still have view of the ocean (partially) and with the lovely upstairs deck they have which is open 8am - 10pm, you can certainly have a view when you want one.

The are stairs to get to the hotel and the rooms are small but quaint with amenities, hair dryers, cable, bath tubs/showers etc. Everything you need is there and every question you have is answered with a genuine smile. We also had breakfast included (continental so cereals, muffins, coffee, eggs which is served in the lovely courtyard from 8-10am which our room also overlooked).

Its a great hotel, with great staff and greater service! Had a lovely and very comfy 2 night stay! My only quibble? -- showers have little water pressure, but c'mon that is simply no big deal! You will enjoy yr stay at The Avalon!

Room Tip: garden view is still worth the price as they have an upstairs deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covina, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a wonderful experience! Laurie, Ana and all of the staff were so friendly and accomodating the entire stay; it gave the hotel such a personal feel. All of the amenities were great also (free chocolates each night was such a nice touch!). One of our favorite parts of our stay was having breakfast (included) in the patio area that was like an oasis with a fish pond, lots of greenery and several hummingbird feeders (I've never seen so many hummingbirds in one place!). The hotel is close to everything Avalon has to offer and the Avalon Hotel staff are very helpful at advising on the local activities of the island. This hotel was the perfect blend of a smaller, botique-style hotel with all the luxuries of the bigger hotels. We will definitely be back to stay here the next time we visit Catalina Island!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff was great, LOVE the rooms, very cozy, comfortable, and clean! My husband and I needed to get away for the weekend, awesome location restraunts and waterfront within walking distance. Most definitely coming back to this property!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyNJaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

With so many choices of hotels in Avalon, I used the reviews from Tripadvisor to help make a decision, and was not disappointed in my choice of the Avalon Hotel. The staff was friendly and engaging from the moment we arrived, and this level of friendliness was consistently carried out throughout our stay. The room was cozy, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The courtyard patio was beautiful and serene where we enjoyed wine & cheese in the afternoon and a complimentary breakfast each morning, and we loved being surrounded by the many hummingbirds that also enjoy this wonderful gem of a hotel in Avalon! A bonus is a quiet rooftop patio with lounge chairs and a beautiful view of Avalon. Thank you Laurie and staff for making our stay wonderful with your attention to detail, genuine service and beautiful surroundings. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Temecula_HR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed at The Avalon Hotel and just loved it!! It is in a great location, right next to all of the shops and restaurants. It is beautifully decorated with many luxuries. The hotel is smaller but so personal. The staff was so friendly. We loved Laurie - she was the hostess there and helped us out on anything that we needed. She also hosted the wine/cheese night along with the daily breakfast outside in the courtyard (which is beautiful). She made us feel like part of the family. Also, they have tables and chairs up on their rooftop and the view overlooking Avalon Bay is stunning! Everything was wonderful and when we return, we will go back to Avalon - best vacation ever!!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor and had a balcony with chairs to sit on - I recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJS3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#8 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing