We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVALON'S BEST”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This boutique hotel is owner managed and it shows. Great care was taken in the design and construction of this small hotel. This close attention to detail carries through to current daily operations. The rooms are spotless and staff keeps all facilities in perfect order.

A generous breakfast buffet is laid out in the mornings and complimentary snacks are offered in the evenings.

Situated just back from the harbor, you are a stone's throw from the new Spa and several excellent dining choices. All of Avalon is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaliforniaBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Beautiful hotel. We enjoyed continental breakfast in the garden with the koi and the multitude of hummingbirds. The rooftop deck is beautiful. They have a wine and cheese gathering on Fridays which we enjoyed as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a deck. Alway call and speak with the innkeeper she is a wonderful s...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jpywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent three nights in this hotel. Our room, #306, featured a private balcony with a wonderful and full view of the bay. There is also a common balcony one floor up with excellent views. The room was rather small but was equipped with a desk and refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. In-room Wi-Fi was included in the price, and the refrigerator was stocked daily with complimentary bottles of Snapple and water, along with a variety of chocolates. We mentioned that we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and found a chilled bottle of champagne and glasses waiting in our room. With the refreshing ocean breeze coming through the balcony door, the room was comfortable and relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is only very basic continental, but it is served in a pleasant garden area to the side of the building. The hotel is located a block away from the ocean side shops and restaurants. We spent one day hiking and the other kayaking, and easily walked everywhere we needed or wanted to go. If reading is a big part of your relaxation time, as it is ours, don’t forget to bring your clip-on book lights for the evening, since the lighting in the room is inadequate, even with the dimmer turned up all the way. Finally, this place is quite expensive; certainly one might expect more for the money. Nevertheless, we very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank California86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Avalon July 2014. We loved this hotel. From the peach tea in the lobby and body butter and lotions in our restroom - it was those little extras that went a long way. We loved having breakfast out on the patio - so quiet and peaceful - away from the hustle and bustle of the island. The rooms were lovely and the bed very comfortable.

Laurie was especially welcoming - all around a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 30 year wedding anniversary by driving down the Coast of California from Napa and stopping at the St. Regis in Monarch Beach. We then took the Catalina Express from Dana Point over to Catalina and stayed at The Avalon Hotel, room 306. The room has a great view of the harbor with a wet bar on the balcony. The people at the Avalon are very nice and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view of the 4th of July fireworks was excellent. There is also a rooftop balcony. We would definitely stay at The Avalon Hotel again!

Room Tip: Room 306 is great. On the small side but nice!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JPWDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel
Awesome roof deck overlooking the harbor
Very friendly people
Cute little boutique type rooms
Our room was on the harbor side
Had a balcony
Continental breakfast
Loved the Avalon
If you ever visit the west coast , make sure you get to Catalina island

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here the middle of May 2014. We loved it, The front desk staff, namely Lana and Melissa were a pleasure to see and talk to. We loved it and I have told all of my friends!
The rooms and amenities were spot on. We had the most relaxing time we have had in years and look forward to our return there. some friends of mine heard such great things they stayed there a couple of weeks ago. Wonderful service, wonderful people!!

Bishop & Mrs. L Green

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mstyspcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £163 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing