We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have found a better place or been more pleased.”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

From the great water pressure in the morning shower to the fire pit for wine and cheese in the evening, the Avalon Hotel had everything I could have asked for in a reasonably priced hotel. When talking about the experience, I have to start with the staff. They were courteous, helpful, and up-beat throughout the process, even helping with reservations for travel to/from the island. They were knowledgeable about the area attractions, and were always looking for our feedback on activities so they could pass along information to other guests. The location was excellent, close enough to the boardwalk for convenience, but far away enough and high enough to remain quiet and peaceful. The upper (roof) deck offered an outstanding 360 degree view of the bay and the island from a comfortable and private location...great for sipping morning tea or some private sun bathing. The room itself was well laid out with enough space for people, luggage, and amenities (fridge, microwave, TV, and personal safe) without having to step over things to get around. They even considered the little things in the bathroom, like a heated/lighted mirror to avoid steaming up, bath/shower shelves in places that actually made sense and could hold your stuff, and even a robe for your convenience in going to/from the beach or up to the deck in your bathing suit. But don't just stay in the room. The hallways are full of historical photos of the hotel and the island and well worth wandering for a few minutes to take them in. Tough to decide what I liked the best, the views, the service, and the entire environment were all wonderful. But what I really liked the best was the peaceful, relaxed feeling I walked away with at the end of the weekend that comes from a stress free and well cared for experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfdad8271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Avalon Hotel is a nice little boutique hotel, but is a long way from being the best. The rooms are small and cramped, the hall way carpets are dirty, and the stairs leading up to the roof are too steep with small foot pads. It has a nice accommodating staff, but they mislead me when they told me the hotel had wireless. It doesn't. The fine hotel experience just isn't there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swaggerstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Just stayed here this past weekend. Great service by (forgive me for massacring the spelling of your names!) Lori, Shadarcha & Scotty.

1st off, I highly suggest CALLING for a reservation. We attempted to do this by e-mail but our lines kept crossing. Once we decided to call, it was smooth sailing from there!

Room 306 was clean, well lit, strong central a/c (much needed during the heat wave this weekend), fan over the bed with a great view of the ocean, Casino Ballroom & the mountains. We had a private balcony with two chairs & a fridge outside. We were able to play card games & drink beers while watching the sun go down (yes - we are facing East but you know what I mean...it got DARK!). We had a great view of the sunrise each morning as well!

Only two small items that weren't perfect...the water pressure in the bathroom sink wasn't that strong (not surprising since we're on the top floor) but the shower had great pressure (a good surprise)! And the bathroom towels (1 out of 3 on both days) had this odd mildew scent to it. The towels were clean, fluffy & thick but I think whatever dryer they are using just isn't strong enough so maybe run the dryer another 5-10 minutes? I understand that we're by the ocean & the humidity doesn't help matters. Anyway, neither things made me want to lower this from a 5 star rating.

We got in early on Friday morning & they fully accommodated us not wanting to lug our bags around so we just left it with them until our room was ready in the early afternoon. Same thing for the Sunday check out at 11 a.m. Our boat left at 5:15 p.m. so we just left our bags as we went for a golf cart tour & laid out at the Descanso Beach Club and then came back to pick them up around 4:15 p.m.

They serve a complimentary continental breakfast each morning from 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. I saw fresh fruits, yogurt, cereal & milk, coffee, OJ, scones, croissants & English muffins. Everything was fresh, self serve & tasty!

They also had complimentary water bottles & Snapple bottles waiting for us in the interior mini fridge as well. They let you rent from a large collection of DVDs as well as provide you with an internet cable for free internet at the front desk.

We definitely will come back to this hotel on our next trip to Catalina!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juls333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

The room & bath were clean and comfortable. There didn't seem to be anything that was overlooked. Patio breakfast, extras such as hair dryer, robes; even a clothes steamer!
Scotty and Laurie gave exceptional service! Scotty was always there when you needed him, seeing to the lugage even as we docked at the Landing! Carried heavy luggage up three flights of stairs, smiling all the time! Laurie was extremely helpful at the desk, finding maps for us and checking on massage times and tips!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at the Avalon hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We had an elderly person in our party (80+) who had a difficult time navigating the stairs to the third floor. This was really our only complaint that when we booked we did not realize that a "garden view" room was actually on the third floor.

Something else worth mentioning that we found odd was they have a sign on the 4th floor (deck) which is the sun deck overlooking Catalina Bay. The sign say's something to the effect that if you are caught upon the sun deck after 10:00 p.m. the Inn Keeper will ask you to leave the B&B. We found this odd. If someone is 86'd in Catalina after 10 p.m. where are they going to sleep? On the beach? At any rate we had no problem complying with this rule.

This B&B is absolutely charming. We will be staying here again. I highly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USMCCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We had room 301 with the great wrap around deck, we never had to leave our room except to go up to the fourth floor to have an even better view. Loved the girls working the front desk, really helped us with our plans. Have always liked Catalina, now love it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSFullm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We just returned from our stay at the Avalon Hotel. The weekend we visited was the Flying Fish Festival and the island was hopping! I anticipated a lot of street noise into our hotel room but with our balcony door to the street closed, we didn't hear a thing and got a GREAT night's sleep. The attention to detail at this boutique hotel is amazing. Cozy robes to wear, complimentary drinks in the room's refrigerators, a beach bag and towel in the room, fantastic memory foam mattresses, super clean and very new looking hotel. We had booked a courtyard room on the 3rd floor to save money but then decided I didn't want to climb so many stairs and asked to be moved to the 2nd floor instead (with just a 2 day advance notice of the change). They not only moved us to the 2nd floor but gave us a balcony room that had a great view of the harbor (room 203). This upgraded room should have been a lot more money but they never said anything. A complimentary bottle of champagne was waiting for us when we arrived to celebrate my husband's birthday (I had asked them if something special could be done for him and they sure delivered and it was a nice touch!). Their breakfast was well laid out and very convenient to have trays to take it back to our room and eat on our balcony while enjoying the nice weather. What was also amazing was that even though the hotel was booked to capacity the weekend we were there, we didn't see a single person staying there the entire weekend. We truly felt like we had the entire place to ourselves and it was sooo quiet with the great sound-proofing. The friendly staff were amazing and gave a lot of background on what the island had to offer and some of the history. The gal at the front desk had family that had arrived there over a100 years ago! I will definitely stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieArizona71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,145 reviews
0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
507 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
536 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#7 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £164 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing