We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed this relaxing boutique hotel.”
Review of The Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“We really enjoyed this relaxing boutique hotel.”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Avalon Hotel is within easy walking distance from the dock. Lisa greeted us warmly as we entered the lobby. As we checked in, we were offered coffee, tea, fruit, cookies, pretzels, peanuts.

Our room was located on the 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard. It appeared to be newly renovated in the Craftsman style and featured artwork and tile by local artists. This was our first time to sleep on a "memory foam" mattress--very comfortable.

We especially liked the custom mirror in the bathroom! It had 2 lights built into the mirror that gave excellent light for applying makeup and shaving. Lisa went above and beyond the call of duty to research where the mirror was manufactured.

Continental breakfast in the nicely landscaped courtyard provided a delicious start to our day. We enjoyed the warmth from the lighted firepit, and and watching the Koi swim in the pound . The roof-top deck provides a wonderful view of the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    62
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
86
414
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The hotel was very cozy...Great rooms and Lori and Diane were excellent!!! We stayed over the Thanksgiving Holiday and didn't want to go home so we delayed our departure and Lori and Diane were able to accommodate us to stay an extra night. I would definitely recommend staying here!! I love the lobby snacks as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2010

After reading the reviews I booked a room here for Thanksgiving weekend. We were not dissapointed. Taxi service from the dock is included with the room. Our room was not ready when we arrived but they held our luggage while we went out and explored. The room was very comfortable. Great bed! I love the robes and the bath products were very nice. Breakfast in the garden patio was perfect. It was chilly in the morning so we sat by the fire pit. Continental breakfast with yogurt, granola, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, muffins and other bakery items, english muffins, bagels, orange juice, etc. etc.
The view from the rooftop is beautiful!
The staff was very friendly and very helpful. I had left something behind in the in-room safe and didn't realize it until I was already on the boat home. The staff retrieved it and sent it via UPS. I had it back in less than a week with everything just as I left it.
I will be back!
Oh- you have to do the Zip Line tour while you are in Catalina - AWESOME.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murmaid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnolds Park, IA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2010

My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! The perfect blend of comfy relaxation and luxury -- from the incredibly friendly, helpful staff (thanks Scotty and Laurie!) to the amazingly comfortable beds and spotlessly clean rooms. The view from the top deck is breath-taking and also enjoyed the fire-pit in the lovely patio area as it cools off a bit in the evening. A wonderful experience down to the smallest detail - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emeraldgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Comfortable. immaculate garden room (although we stiill could see the ocean from our window) Welcoming and accomodating staff. If Catalina was not such a beautiful place, it would not be difficult to spend the day at the Avalon. Loved the rooftop terrace and its spectacular view! Lovely garden area for a nice complimentary breakfast. Books, DVDs and snacks and bevarages to occupy any down time. ( If relaxing on those comfy beds wasn't your thing!) The only criticism would be the small tags indicating each item in the room that could be purchased by inquiring at the front desk. Perhaps one notice on a table or on the door would suffice. Can't wait to return!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

From the great water pressure in the morning shower to the fire pit for wine and cheese in the evening, the Avalon Hotel had everything I could have asked for in a reasonably priced hotel. When talking about the experience, I have to start with the staff. They were courteous, helpful, and up-beat throughout the process, even helping with reservations for travel to/from the island. They were knowledgeable about the area attractions, and were always looking for our feedback on activities so they could pass along information to other guests. The location was excellent, close enough to the boardwalk for convenience, but far away enough and high enough to remain quiet and peaceful. The upper (roof) deck offered an outstanding 360 degree view of the bay and the island from a comfortable and private location...great for sipping morning tea or some private sun bathing. The room itself was well laid out with enough space for people, luggage, and amenities (fridge, microwave, TV, and personal safe) without having to step over things to get around. They even considered the little things in the bathroom, like a heated/lighted mirror to avoid steaming up, bath/shower shelves in places that actually made sense and could hold your stuff, and even a robe for your convenience in going to/from the beach or up to the deck in your bathing suit. But don't just stay in the room. The hallways are full of historical photos of the hotel and the island and well worth wandering for a few minutes to take them in. Tough to decide what I liked the best, the views, the service, and the entire environment were all wonderful. But what I really liked the best was the peaceful, relaxed feeling I walked away with at the end of the weekend that comes from a stress free and well cared for experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdad8271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The Avalon Hotel is a nice little boutique hotel, but is a long way from being the best. The rooms are small and cramped, the hall way carpets are dirty, and the stairs leading up to the roof are too steep with small foot pads. It has a nice accommodating staff, but they mislead me when they told me the hotel had wireless. It doesn't. The fine hotel experience just isn't there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swaggerstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel

Property: The Avalon Hotel
Address: 124 Whittley Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#3 Family Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel offers premier boutique hotel accommodations in the heart of beautiful Catalina Island. We invite you to discover an environment of understated elegance, where luxurious bedding, unique artwork and hand-crafted hardwoods and tile combine to create an enchanting experience. Located just off the Southern California coast, Catalina Island offers a resort experience that is very accessible. Most of our Catalina Island hotel rooms have breath-taking ocean views of Avalon harbor and its scenic surroundings. The breathtaking views from our Rooftop Getaway are sure to be a highlight of your stay at The Avalon Hotel. With a 360-degree vista of Avalon and its charming harbor, the Rooftop offers the ideal spot to sightsee and relax. From classic Craftsman styling and modern conveniences, deluxe bedding and upscale bath amenities, to an all-around relaxed atmosphere, The Avalon Hotel offers a unique hotel experience to every one of our welcomed guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Avalon
The Avalon Hotel Catalina Island, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing