We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anaversary night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steve's Steakhouse

Steve's Steakhouse
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anaversary night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The window seat provides great people watching and sunset. Steaks were done perfectly. Two other tables were celebrating anaversaries too. That was fun. Your memories are the only things you can take with you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Steve’s Steakhouse on TripAdvisor. It brings us so much pleasure to read that your anniversary dinner with us was a night to remember and that you got to celebrate it with other couples dining with us that night! Thank you for choosing Steve's to celebrate your very special occasion and we wish you and yours many more memorable anniversaries to come.

With warm regards from Catalina,

Steve and Margaret Bray and our family at Steve's Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    220
    100
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dinner ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Had out last island dinner here. Yes, it is a bit on the expensive side but that is a known before walking in the door. The waitstaff was attentive. Even though we did not have reservations, we had a quiet table overlooking the harbor. We opted for the specials. I had the sea bass and he had the 22 oz. porterhouse. Sides are abundant in choice... Asparagus, steamed vegetables, baked potato, garlic mashed potato, rice pilaf (I may have missed some). They also served cognac, which many establishments we visited did not. We finished our meal with an amazing key lime pie.

Helpful?
Thank CBarcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Steve's and for taking the time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor. I am really glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us on your last night on the island and were able to enjoy harbor view seating. It's also our pleasure to be able to serve you cognac, which makes a nice ending to a relaxing evening as does our signature Key Lime Pie! We hope you had a great time on the island and will dine with us again on your next trip to Catalina. As always, it will be our pleasure to serve you.

With warm regards from Steve's,

Steve and Margaret Bray, and our family at Steve's Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food with an amazing view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had Steak (of course), and Seafood. and everything was prepared perfectly. We had a great view of the the bay from our table. and at dusk there were amazing lights, and views of the boats.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cjfullhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent dining experience at Steve’s Steakhouse on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your steak and seafood and the ambience of Avalon Bay. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and look forward to you dinning with us again on your next trip to the island.

With warm regards from Catalina,

Steve and Margaret Bray and our family at Steve's Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelent Food Great Service, Call ahead for a reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The food, the view, the service, the location are all excellent. Equally impressive are the prices even considering the area. It is definitely one of the best meals you can find on the island but also probably the most expensive. Only by that virtue is it not the best value. The owners and staff made our meal a pleasure. My lamb came out over cooked and had to be sent back but the staff was very accepting and agreeable to taking care of it. I made a different choice and they rushed it out of the kitchen for me. While that is noting unusual for any good restaurant the speed and grace with which they corrected the situation was noteworthy. We will return anytime we are in Avalon and looking for a first rate meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining at Steve's and for taking the time to write a review about your experience on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that we provided you with not only a good meal but that we also provided you with noteworthy service. I truly appreciate your praise and will be sure to share your review with my team. We hope you had a great time on the island and we look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Catalina. As always, it is our pleasure to serve you.

With warm regards from the island,

Steve and Margaret Bray, and our family at Steve's Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Maitre D' was so nice! She moved our table to the front with an ocean view when another party had left! That is service!!! Also, the food was amazing!!! I had the Swordfish and it was heaven! Overall we really enjoyed our dinner and will go back for sure!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B, Owner at Steve's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experience with us. We are so pleased that you thought our food amazing and your swordfish heaven! I am also happy that we provided you with quality service and you were able to get seated at a table with a view of the harbor. It is also nice to read that you plan to dine with us again on your next trip to the island. We really appreciate your praise and look forward to serving you again.

With warm regards from Catalina,

Steve and Margaret Bray, and our family at Steve's Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steve's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Steve's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing