We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Catalina Island”
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Edgewater
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heart of Catalina Island”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

It was so nice to stay and wake up right in the heart of Catalina Island! The Edgewater is right by the water, lovely. We were able to walk right over from the hotel to enjoy the beautiful scenery. the staff was very nice and helpful. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAsun27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The rooms are clean and the extra alcove with a twin is a bonus if traveling with kids. The only window looks out into a cement patio with a small cement patio - so no fresh air flow. Positive is that rooms do not connect directly to another room so it is very quiet.

The rooms are clean and very well kept. The bedding was nice but the towels were like see thru sandpaper - an investment in towels would go a VERY long way. The water in shower is lukewarm - never had a hot shower.

The breakfast bar is very, very basic - fresh fruit, yogurt and fresh danish from a local baker would be a HUGE improvement over pre-packaged danish that is weeks old. Not a huge deal but for $250 a night one should expect towels and higher quality items.

Staff is very nice. No elevator - so not good for elderly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripthl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEdgewater, Owner at The Edgewater, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your thoughts about The Edgewater. Your positive comments about our clean, kept establishment and nice staff will be shared with The Edgewater Crew!

For our Continental Breakfast we offer fresh fruit, orange and apple juice, coffee and tea if desired as well as either fresh bagels, muffins or danishes.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

-The Edgewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were recently over on Catalina Island in mid- June. We decided to book a return stay at The Edgewater and loved our visit! Everyone was very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We had a long conversation with the owner, who is very personable and knowledgable about the island. As usual, our room was immaculate and the complementary wi-fi was much appreciated. You cannot beat The Edgewater's great central location, crisp charming rooms and Steve's Steakhouse just steps away! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgoer_9478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My husband and I can't stop going here. Great get away weekend which we desperately needed! Gorgeous views. Outstanding service at the hotel. The staff(Barbara and Esperanza) is always asking what we need. We love the rooms, especially the ones overlooking the Avalon Bay. We enjoy sitting and have some wine and cheese and watching the boats and activity. We look forward to our next trip!
You guys are outstanding! Thank you!

Room Tip: There are two rooms overlooking the bay that are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eabarrdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We have stayed at The Edgewater several times and always enjoy it's location and Island charm.
Love coming down the stairs and being right on the main street with shops, restaurants, the pier and beach right there. The rooms are clean and modern, with very comfortable beds, but the small hotel retains a vintage and Island vibe. Try to book the ocean view rooms, as the scenery
From them is fantastic. We could sit there and enjoy the view for hours, and it's a perfect way to unwind and relax. The manager is always friendly and helpful in suggesting local sights and restaurants to visit. It's fun to talk to her and hear about Catalina's fascinating history and find out more about the locals. I recommend this hotel to my friends for a romantic or family weekend. It's really a unique find!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maddie0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Best kept secret or so I thought! According to the reviews The Edgewater and been discovered over and over again. If 5 Star service, location, charm and romance are what your're looking for, The Edgewater won't disappoint! Dozens of moored boats, relaxing ocean breezes and beautiful sunsets are what you experience sitting behind the picture windows of the oceanview rooms.Though The Edgewater offers a modern hotel stay with it's free internet and flat panel televisions it is also vintage romantic Catalina. The rooms are clean and have a beach cottage feel. They serve a light breakfast with coffee and juice which offers the guests an option for a lazy morning. The minute you enter The Edgewater we challenge you to not hold hands and fall in love!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCK0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agoura CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We've stayed at The Edgewater in the past and loved our experience--went back and found it just as wonderful as the first visit! The rooms are updated, very clean and the manager was extremely helpful in recommending activities and restaurants. The Edgewater has the perfect location and we have recommended it to friends and family--whether you are going for a family getaway or a romantic weekend, The Edgewater can't be beat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing