We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Edgewater

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Edgewater
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
los angeles ca
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 December 2009

If you want a GREAT vacation with the island feel, head over to Catalina--we took the boat from Marina del Rey--easy access, fee for parking and takes under 2 hours. Good option for those not wanting to drive to Long Beach. The Edgewater is a charming, small B&B with fantastic ocean views. It was completely remodeled and reopened in the summer of 2009--the Brisacher family has owned and operated the hotel since the 1920's and treat you as family. Beverly, Barbara and Brittani are the perfect hosts and can answer any question you have and make sure that you have a wonderful vacation. Brittani is a talented graphic designer and many of her photos are displayed in the hotel--showing the beauty of Catalina and the historical buildings on the island. We can't wait to go back and will definitely return to the Edgewater time and time again. The Edgewater is the perfect hotel with the best location and views!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    20
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We planned our trip to Avalon for my fiancee birthday... It was absolutely the best time we have ever had.. From the time we booked out rooms to the time we left.. Barbara was more than accomodating to us.. I didnt want to take flowers or balloons onthe boat ride over. She went out of her way to arrange the room with flowers and balloons as well as arrange dinner reservations for us. The hotel was gorgeous. She even made it special for our 4yr old to feel comfortable and at home.. It was the best hotel and treatment we have ever received at a hotel.. And cant wait to go back..

  • Liked — the way we were treated at the hotel from the time we got there to the time we left
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank desireeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Souther California
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We recently had a delightful stay in one of the front rooms which have views of the harbor and walkway which are great. You could sit all day at the window in the front of the room and watch the activity in the harbor as well as the pedestrian traffic. The room, as well as the hotel, is beautifully decorated and attractive. Our hosts, Barbara and Beverly, were warm, friendly and knowledgeable about places to go and things to do.
We are looking forward to another very enjoyable weekend at the Edgewater.
Visitors from the mainland

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br0ker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Great Location!! You get the homey atmosphere when you stay there. They go out of there way to answer any of your questions about the island and offer information about the things you can do with your family while on the island.
I know my husband and I will be going back for another stay in 2010.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

From the moment we arrived everything was superb! The hotel location across from the harbor was perfect, easy access to restaurants, tours and ocean activities. The hotel was very bright, beautifully designed and decorated. The staff was so helpful, and knowledgable about the island. We have already decided to go back soon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eabarrdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Sierras
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

You can't beat the location and the beautifully renovated rooms. It is right on the beach front walk. The rooms have all been recently renovated, and are comfortable and pleasing. The hospitality of the management was superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Got one of the front suites for a four night stay in Avalon. And we just loved the extra living space, the front sitting area with convenient wi-fi, and being right on top of the action with such a tremendous view. Room was clean, neat, and as stated quite roomy. We spent a lot of time in the front sitting room just relaxing and taking in the stupendous view. Tuesday eve was simply nice and serene going to sleep with the sound of the lapping waves providing the white noise, same on Wed eve....but ugh on Thursday it was a challenge trying to sleep with the overwhelming sound of 'bad' karaoke blaring through the walls; ugh! And on Friday it was worse. So if you're an early to bed, early to rise type I would suggest bringing your ear plugs or perhaps considering another hotel :-(

BTW: Short five minute walk (pulling luggage) from terminal to hotel.
BTW-2: Easy, easy transition from Long Beach Airport via taxi to ferry terminal, and same coming back and getting to the airport.
BTW-3: Great oysters at the Lobster Trap, the place doesn't look 'all that' but its homey, great personnel, and the food is pretty darn good and not all that pricey.
BTW-4: The beach fronting the hotel was posted NO Swimming due to poor water quality, though at the beach just 'round the corner (Descanso Beach) the water was just fine; great for swimming as well as snorkeling. See: http://www.visitcatalinaisland.com/avalon/poin_descansoBeach.php
BTW-5: If you're a runner, note all roads in Avalon eventually go UP. If you run up Mt Ada Rd, and decide to go to the other side be advised that the flat coastal return (Pebbly Beach Road) is posted as closed to all except commercial vehicles. Meaning, if you do run to other side the only way back is to turn around and run back UP Mt Ada.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbihler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater

Property: The Edgewater
Address: 415 Crescent Avenue, PO Box 1602, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Avalon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922, The Edgewater is a boutique hotel located on the historic Santa Catalina Island. This family owned and operated establishment, located in the heart of Avalon, is just steps away from the water's edge, front street shopping, tours, restaurants and nightlife. Our boutique hotel offers two spacious deluxe Ocean view Suites, which can be connected, and six well-appointed Fountain-view rooms. Each room and suite features complimentary wireless internet, Ortho-pedic (R) beds, flat screen TVs, cable television, air conditioning/heat and luxurious down comforters. Our suites provide guests with custom built mini bars and indoor sitting porches that overlook picturesque Avalon Bay. The Edgewater offers kitchen access to guests, which is equipped with a microwave, U-Line (R) ice maker, and coffee maker, paired with a selection of coffees and teas. Continental breakfast is set up each morning in the lobby kitchen. During the summer months, complimentary afternoon wine and cheese is available, as well as beach chairs and towels, upon request. The Edgewater Team welcomes you to enjoy your stay at The Edgewater! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Avalon
Edgewater Hotel Avalon
The Edgewater Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing