We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cazuela & ceviche”

Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 50 Restaurants in Avalon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Hemet, CA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cazuela & ceviche”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fresh ceviche & really good drinks. The cazuela is really good with hornitos blanco. I had a chicken burrito and asked for it to be grilled chimichanga style wet with red sauce. I think they skipped the grilled part and thought I wouldn't notice under the wet sauce. We were hungry after the conservancy 5k/10k run we just did. We had fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SereneEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    48
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“first night dinner”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

we headed here for the $6 margaritas. we had corn on the cob, taquitos and street tacos, while Steve Harvey played on the TV in the background. Service was a little slow but other than that, the food was good. we had a good time

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zwicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Horrible food!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am Hispanic and I have to say that the food at this place was beyond terrible. The rice was bland and meat dry as can be. They never came back to see if we liked our food. My mom had her tacos sent back they were so bad. She said they had a reheated flavor to them. Fair warning: don't go there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Very average Mexican food. Disappointed to be served bottled or canned salsa! Food was only so-so; waiter not particularly friendly or interested. $7 guacamole appetizer was tiny & tasteless.

There is a new Mexican restaurant being built on the main drag, wait for that one to open to see how it is, don't bother with Mi Casita unless you want Taco Bell type of food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So So Mexican Food”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Really not all that good. Perhaps okay for a large family group with children. Waiter was not that attentative and hard to understand. Would not go back although it was typical cheap Mexican food and you get what you pay for. They could do a little better. Easy location. Good handmade margarita!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Mi Casita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing