We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location but tiny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend. I had stayed here before with a couple girlfriends and remembered it being decent. The location is great, just a quick walk to the beachfront with all the shops. The room was very clean and the bed was nice and comfy. It was just very small. We had a queen bed that took up most of the room. The bathroom was also small so it was very hard to the 2 of us to move around the room. Also- we were on the 4th floor and there is no elevator so we had to lug our suitcases all the way up, although this may be the case with most hotels in Avalon.
Overall I think the Avalon hotels are overpriced for what you get. Not sure if I would stay here again but not sure if the nicer hotels that are much higher price would be any better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 543jessicab543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

Took our first trip to Catalina Island during spring break and stayed in the lovely Casa Mariquita Hotel. The staff were friendly, courteous, and accommodating, really went above and beyond. Mark picked us up at the boat dock and gave us a tour of Avalon in his golf cart on the way to the hotel. Lauren made great recommendations on island excursions and booked all the tickets for us. Our room was clean and quiet. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the common patio overlooking the ocean. After our daily adventures, we sat on the patio relaxing and enjoying the beautiful harbor view. Definitely will stay here again for our next trip to the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Xinyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to Catalina Island to celebrate my husband’s birthday and stayed two nights in this great Spanish style hotel. We stayed in this beautiful penthouse suite with two balconies overlooking the ocean. It was so relaxing sitting on the balcony, drinking wines, and watching the boats coming and going. The hotel has a great location. It is on a quiet street, yet it is only a few minutes walking to the beach and the main street. Our room was super clean and stylish. The hardwood floor and tile floor looked fabulous. We loved the traditional style European furniture. The bathroom vanity was very elegant. The hotel staffs were super friendly. They made great recommendations for our island adventures and dining experience. They booked tickets for our dolphin/sea lion excursion and jeep tour. We had a great time on Catalina Island. We really want to thank the staffs at the Casa Mariquita Hotel for making this trip so memorable. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Visited this CASA Mariquita with my girlfriend on a journey from Ny to ca for a speaking engagement in LA . This island was a beautiful fantacy for us and the hotel was a beautiful
Experience for us quiet and romantic located on a little street on a hill with a Spanish or european
Flavor.We toured the island in a golf cart and stroled around the casino at night after diner and along the beach. MY girlfriend Tammy and I have travelled quite often in the US and the Carribean
On ships. This location and hotel was up with the nicest and if we have a honeymoon this is where
We might choose because of the romantic setting and wonderful environment!
Jim murphy and
Tammy grimes

Room Tip: Look for balcony terrace with a view of harbor and hills we loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My friends and I headed to Catalina, the weekend of March 13th. We stayed two nights at Casa Mariquita. The hotel was about a 10-15 min walk from the pier. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a room at the end of the corridor, next to an open patio. The front desk staff was very nice. They actually have keys for each room which was very nice. Free WI FI and continental breakfast in the morning. They don't have an elevator so be prepared to walk some stairs. It wasn't too bad after our fourth time up...lol. We sat in the patio and enjoyed the ocean view. We also met some nice people on our floor as well. Check out is at 11am and our boat trip was at 4:45pm. They will store your luggage until departure time which was really nice. There is also a Red Trolley stop right outside the hotel which can pick you up and take you on a small tour of Catalina. Very nice hotel compared to some other hotels we saw along the way. Very affordable. We used a Groupon which helped out nicely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zwicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I decided to spend three days on Catalina Island during a two-week solo vacation in Southern California. Not having been there before, I was not sure to expect. The island and particularly the hotel and staff exceeded my expectations. The hotel was easy to find, being a short walk from the ferry terminal (although it is up a hill, which I didn't find to be a problem). The staff were extremely pleasant, more than happy to answer my numerous questions, and Mark even came up to the room to help with my wifi connectivity issues. The location was perfect for me, as several hiking trails were within easy walking distance. My room (311) was very comfortable, and the patio was a welcome rest spot after a day on the trails. Although the continental breakfast is available in the small reception where there is no seating, it can be either taken back to the room, or enjoyed on one of the patios. The offerings were oatmeal, fruit, pastries, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee, tea, etc, which I found to be a more than adequate start to the day. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Let me tell you that everything about this place is awesome! Our room was FABULOUS! We stayed in #315. It does not have a view, but it had hardwood floors, an ornate wood king bed and upgraded fancy sink! Will post pictures! It is an uphill walk to get to the place, but it is away from the hustle and bustle of the town. My wife sat out on one of the balconies and enjoyed the sprawling views it offerd. We will stay here again for sure! All the staff was friendly and attentive. We rented a golf cart and did the tour of island. It is possible to do in 1 hour... (they charge by hour). Let me point out that the rental is nothing to do with hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren L, Manager at Casa Mariquita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We are happy you had a great time here! Looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mariquita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mariquita Hotel

Address: 229 Metropole Ave, PO Box 1021, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £78 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Mariquita Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting beautiful Catalina Island, you will find a gem of a hotel called The Casa Marquita. Located a short walk from the bustling shops and restaurants on front street, Crescent Ave, the Casa Maraquita offers a quiet and comfortable place to stay. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Casa Mariquita boasts classic Spanish architecture keeping with the traditional charm of Avalon, Santa Catalina Island.Built in 1990, Casa Mariquita Hotel is among the newest built of all Catalina Island hotels. We offer a variety of Catalina Island hotel packages so that you can get the most out of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa Mariquita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mariquita Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Avalon
Casa Mariquita Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing