We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff - accessible to shops & restaurants”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff - accessible to shops & restaurants”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My visit brought me to the island so that I could enjoy riding my mountain bike at the Catalina Gran Fondo, which traversed 55 miles of the island. Yes, buffalo's roam the island as I came across a couple herds, yet if I had to do it again....take the tour. The bus tour also provides views on the other side of the island of stunning beaches and landscape that few see during their visit to Avalon.
El Torado Terrace is situated on the last street off main street, prior to the Casino. Simply take a left and approximately 100 yards up a steep incline you are greeted by one of the nicest hotel staffs I've encountered. I traveled with friends from Canada and they had more questions than I could have imagined and the manager had an answer for everything. Rooms are clean with full refrigerator, stove and microwave. Beds are dated - as is the decor, yet the pricing was in line with the accommodations. Access to restaurants and shops was an easy walk back down the street - yet you can minimize food/water expenses by shopping at either Vonn's express or the larger Vonn's, both of which are close to the hotel. Only downside was the cab ride from the hotel to the ferry dock that cost me $12 for a 5 minute ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    112
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
127
174
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2013

El Terado Terrace is a delightful hotel off the beaten track, yet a quick walk downhill to all the good things in town. It's particularly nice if you are spending time at the Casino ballroom, it's very close. Big nice room, love the kitchenette, well-equipped. Barbecue use on a pretty little patio. The only reason I wouldn't give the place an 'excellent' is that the rooms come with good showers but no tubs. If you are a bath person as I am, that could be challenging. Overall, however, I found it to be clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and very helpful, the patio a very pleasant place to hang out. Ocean View rooms truly do offer an ocean view and have loads of space.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean View room if you can get it, the light is lovely and you really feel the town of Ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County ca
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed there for my birthday for 2 days April 24 thru April 26, beds very comfortable, nice little kitchen with full fridge, full gas stove, plates etc provided etc. Had the corner unit ocean view, one building below should be demolished, but don't look down, just look at the ocean, and yes it was stated on other reviews on a slight uphill, like 45 degrees angle, but nice and quiet. BBQ on patio you can do your steaks etc., IVAN was mentioned on other reviews, yes he's a really nice guy, and very accomodating manager. From the boat terminals shuttle picks you up and the hotel pays., and we checked in before our time as the room was ready 2 hours before., yes my husband and I would stay there again, nice Ivan., yes went on Catalina Express free they are doing an anniversary with Avalon, got some discounts etc for my day.

Room Tip: corner room was nice next to patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have stayed in several hotels in Avalon, and this was by far the best experience. Rooms are large, comfortable, and clean. Great location and view, and the staff was friendly. For the price, you can't get better on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacation0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a couple of blocks uphill from town, but it was clean and reasonably priced for a unit with a kitchen. The bed was comfy and the TV worked well. While the place could use a bit of a facelift I felt that it was a very good value. The staff were very courteous.

Room Tip: View toward the water is preferred, but if you look down you see a dilapidated barn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joelp528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anytown, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

After reading all the fabulous reviews of ETT on Trip Advisor, we were expecting to be blown away by an amazing experience. Our stay was perfectly fine (hard to complain when you're on vacation in Avalon), but nothing over-the-top.
Pros: We got a great rate, especially for being in Catalina; the bed was super comfy; the room was very clean, and housekeeping did a lovely job sprucing it up while we were out; we liked that it was a bit removed from the main drag, and really appreciated the excuse to get some extra exercise every day when walking to/from various attractions; the staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: It was very difficult getting ahold of an actual human from the get-go when I was booking our room. My voicemail and email were ignored, and I had to call back quite a few times before I was actually connected to someone; when we showed up (within business hours) there was no one there to greet us, and a few nights later we waited 30 mins (and had to go down and check again) just to have an ironing board delivered; the walls are PAPER THIN! We didn't realize the importance of peace and quiet in a hotel room until now. Our neighbor seemed to talk NONSTOP, and we could literally hear every word of her conversations, which really put a damper on our stay; three mornings in a row, the hot water ran out during our showers (and we don't take overly-long showers).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanicLostMyLuggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

From the time we booked our reservation until the time we checked out, the El Terado made us feel like family. On the day we were checking in, Ivan (the manager) called us to confirm our reservation and to remind us about the free taxi service to the hotel from the boat terminal. When we got to the hotel Ivan checked us in right away even though check in time was at 2pm. We went midweek so they had ocean view rooms available and they gave us a free upgrade. The rooms were super clean, the beds were amazing and the housekeeping staff was really friendly. Upon check-out, Ivan arranged for our bags to be sent down to a storage facility located in the boat terminal, the fee was like 3 bucks per bag.
We have traveled all over the country and stayed in fancy hotels and never recived this kind of service. This hotel is by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler774660750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing