We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in the mountainside suite. Checked in Saturday of Memorial Day weekend at 11am, room wasn't ready for another 45 minutes so Ivan graciously watched our bags for us while we grabbed a bite to eat at my favorite restaurant (the lobster trap for clam chowder bowl which i highly recommend!). When we returned room was ready and so cozy! The only time i ever heard anyone is if they were talking while walking by our room so super quiet. We had a flat screen mounted on the wall with full cable which was nice and they provided Starbucks coffee packets and creamers for our kitchens coffee pot. The one thing that blew me away was the comfort of the bed...it was hard to get out of it it was so comfortable, i have never once stayed at a place where the bed was more comfortable than what o had at home. Rates were reasonable especially for the holiday weekend. The trek up the street was a feat in and of itself but hey i got my workout in and we just made it a game every time we did it....plus people are so nice there a few times we hitched rides up and down. I will absolutely and definitely stay here again. Thanks Ivan!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

This has to be the best dollar for dollar value on the island! We traveled to Catalina with our kids and chose this hotel because it had the kitchen in-room accommodations. We had so much fun cooking breakfast and making midnight snacks together and we saved money by not eating out for every meal. It's a quick walk to the grocery store for supplies and there was even a bar-b-que on the patio for grilling. The local family and staff that run this place are very helpful and friendly. We are already planning our next trip back to Catalina and we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandRDagampat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We were very happy with our room. The bed was a little squishy but still very comfortable, and we slept very well. The room was very clean, and we loved the kitchen. The hill between the hotel and the main streets of Avalon was a little daunting, but it was great exercise. The building is older so the walls are thin. So, if you have noisy neighbors, its a little annoying. But it didn't last long. The staff was really friendly and very helpful. Overall, we will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Catalina Island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moogie95833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed in the townhouse 112 and it was great. 2 stories with a full kitchen - downstairs in the living room was a queen sized bed and bathroom - upstairs was 2 bedrooms with 1 queen bed in each and another bathroom. It was clean but showed some signs of aging. For the other prices around Catalina though, this place was great. We would stay here again.

The trek up the hill is a good workout, it really is not that bad.

The staff was all very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bessca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We checke into the hotel on a sunday at 2. Had called them up to say we might get late. But then nobody attends your phone ( i guess, busy on calls) neither returns the calls (sad). we reached the room n were getting comfortable n had a knock at the room sayin they need to clean up d roo,m.. which I feel could have been done earlier. They r a little stingy with providing toiletteries n coffee pouches, you need to ask if you need extra. Our room was small but cozy n quiet, which was good..... i like the way they have provided the patio furniture. The walk to the hotel is a little steepy, but is less strenous when you take the road from the back door. All in all is worth the money.

Room Tip: I booked 118, which is on the first floor. The room is connected with the adjacent room 119 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheetalAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My visit brought me to the island so that I could enjoy riding my mountain bike at the Catalina Gran Fondo, which traversed 55 miles of the island. Yes, buffalo's roam the island as I came across a couple herds, yet if I had to do it again....take the tour. The bus tour also provides views on the other side of the island of stunning beaches and landscape that few see during their visit to Avalon.
El Torado Terrace is situated on the last street off main street, prior to the Casino. Simply take a left and approximately 100 yards up a steep incline you are greeted by one of the nicest hotel staffs I've encountered. I traveled with friends from Canada and they had more questions than I could have imagined and the manager had an answer for everything. Rooms are clean with full refrigerator, stove and microwave. Beds are dated - as is the decor, yet the pricing was in line with the accommodations. Access to restaurants and shops was an easy walk back down the street - yet you can minimize food/water expenses by shopping at either Vonn's express or the larger Vonn's, both of which are close to the hotel. Only downside was the cab ride from the hotel to the ferry dock that cost me $12 for a 5 minute ride.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

El Terado Terrace is a delightful hotel off the beaten track, yet a quick walk downhill to all the good things in town. It's particularly nice if you are spending time at the Casino ballroom, it's very close. Big nice room, love the kitchenette, well-equipped. Barbecue use on a pretty little patio. The only reason I wouldn't give the place an 'excellent' is that the rooms come with good showers but no tubs. If you are a bath person as I am, that could be challenging. Overall, however, I found it to be clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and very helpful, the patio a very pleasant place to hang out. Ocean View rooms truly do offer an ocean view and have loads of space.

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean View room if you can get it, the light is lovely and you really feel the town of Ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £83 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing