We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Extended Family Reunion/Vacation”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

19 family members came and spent 4 days. Because we had 2 kitchens, we were able to make
all of our dinners at the El Terado. They loaned us DVD players which was nice for the kids. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the hotel was clean and the beds were great. The walk up the hill wasn't bad for the kids, but for the grandparents, it was a hike. We absolutely would recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancymass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for El Terado Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just came home from our annual Catalina trip where we stayed at El Terado Terrace. We had an amazing time. Ivan and his staff are courteous, kind and helpful. We enjoyed the BBQ and patio and love having a kitchen in our room. We will be back next year. Thanks, Ivan!

Room Tip: Rooms 109 and 108 have ocean views and more space. The town homes are nice and big as well.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank californiagirlalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Ivan and his staff were super friendly and very helpful!! This spot was a lil hidden but once you drive up its beautiful!! Its has such a gorgouse veiw!! Also if you like to bring your own food or drinks the room has a huge refrigerator with a kitchen full of plates, pans, cups etc. I would definitely stay there again! My friends and I had the best time on the patio it was nice and private perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner!! Check this spot out!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank givemesun143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I had a great time staying here recently. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I arrived at the island very early, and was able to check in several hours sooner, with no extra cost. I'd recommend it to friends because it's much more affordable than other places on the island. The walk up hill isn't bad at all -- it's still a 3 minute walk to most everything. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Ivan and staff were amazing!!! Room was great with all the amenities!!! everyone was very accommodating with all our needs!!! We❤El Dorado Terrace!!!! After coming to Catalina for years they showed us a side we've never seen before!! Great patio area for a nice outside dinner or BBQ!! We will definitely be back again!! Can't wait for our next trip!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimmyh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

No one here at check in time, person who showed up very rude. Room not really cleaned well...essentially not as described. Strenuous walk uphill from waterfront. Good enough on a tight budget, but don't expect much

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jrryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elterado, General Manager at El Terado Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

I am so sorry to hear that your experience at The El Terado was not up to your standards. We work very hard to offer each guest the best service possible. Our hotel is short 5 minute walk to the main street (Cresent Ave) and we offer a complementary Taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel to assist with the luggage on the day of check in. This is mainly a walking town as golf carts are only available to rent for up to 2 hours. If you decide you don't want to walk to the hotel, a taxi company is available from 7AM until 12AM, but again, its a short walk to the hotel. If a guest visiting Catalina Island is handicapped or over 65, one can buy a book of tickets for a dollar a ticket from the taxi company and can use them any where within the City of Avalon.
We take great pride in our housekeeping service and I am hoping you can email me so I can address these issues with my housekeeping staff.
Every room is as described. When one is booking a reservation online it will give a full description of the room and it will also show pictures of each room that is being booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we had such a great experience considering it was our first time. We recommend el terrado it was very cozy and clean. The staff especially Ivan was so helpful and acommendating. The hotel was 5 minute walk from resturants and there is a Vons grocery store near by as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avianca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £79 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing