We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in catalina”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“best hotel in catalina”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

They are amazing I will defenitaly be back, best hotel I have stayed in a very long time,,ivan is the best I was there on the week if the 20th for my boyfriends birthday and we had the best time , seriously I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone had a great experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    112
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
127
174
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The staff was great and let us checkin early. The room was big and clean with an amazing view. It was really nice to have a full kitchen in the room. The only negative is the walk up to the hotel is a little difficult. Be prepared to walk up and down a steep road, but the view makes it worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellsbells621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. We were happy to have a spacious room that had a kitchen. We were provided with enough towels for 2 days, but needed more hand soap and the garbage needed to be taken out, so we placed the door knob service tag and left. When we came the tag had been changed to do not disturb, so no service was done in our room. I also have a complain about the dust on the lamps. I'm highly allergic to dust. And yes, the walls are very thin, you can hear things clearly. Other than that, the stay was good. The Starbucks coffee provided tasted great!! And they provided cream. Wish we had a refill for the 2nd day though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Found this place on expedia that also screwed me over but I Wish I would have done more research. Stayed in the only room without a kitchen .Management was missing for an hour . Walked around looking for someone all over the hotel. Had to have management check out bathroom and drawers missing knobs. Window had no screen and you could hear everything next door. Be careful staying out late because there are no lights to light your way to your room after a certain time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hislady81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My wife and I were staying here for a night. We showed up and they let us check-in early, which was nice. The room was beautiful and spacious. The layout was nice and it felt like a place we could actually live in.

Unfortunately, it was not a place we could sleep in. We could hear the details of conversations from other rooms. Once in a while a kid would run around outside, making a loud pounding sound that shook the room. The refrigerator would make loud popping noises every few minutes. Because of the thin walls my wife and I felt like we didn't have any privacy (a big no-no for a romantic getaway) and we both had trouble sleeping.

For us, the primary purpose of the hotel was to give us a place to relax and sleep at. This hotel provided us with neither.

Room Tip: Don't room near a public gathering area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the El Terado this past weekend to celebrate our anniversary and had a great stay. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, the bed comfy, overall our whole experience was great. I highly recommend this place. We will be staying here again on our next trip to Catalina!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107 and got a fantastic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinBlanc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

El Terado Terrace is a good choice for those looking for a quiet location. They offer a full kitchen. Rooms were cleaned daily; outside hallways mopped. Nice view, walking distance (two blocks, uphill one block) to Avalon and Ballroom. Free taxi to hotel, you pay for your ride back. Enjoyed my stay there, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Our room had two comfortable queen beds, full refridgerator, separate bathroom with shower, kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing