We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We only stayed one night standard room. The room was clean, big screen TV, had a little problem with internet but can say it was comfortable. As we were leaving they installed a new fridge and microwave so they are updating the property. The uphill was a good walk for us.

Room Tip: room 101 had sun in the afternoon while on the otherside the rooms had sun in the morning.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank volooggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    112
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
127
175
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Attended our grandson's high school basketball tournament over the weekend before Christmas. Our room, which was like a studio apartment, had all of the goodies you would expect from a high priced property, including a huge flat screen tv, full kitchen, totally comfortable king-sized bed, upscale bath amenities, and even Starbucks coffee in the room. Great lighting in the bathroom for shaving or putting on make up. Check in and check out were a breeze. While the 10 AM check out time is a bit early for my taste, the hotel took our luggage and transported it to the dock for us so we could pick it up before we departed. Also, we called the property prior to arrival and they told us to take a taxi to the hotel and they would pay for it...what a fantastic service! The location was great, easy walk to all of the "action" in downtown. Found the hotel using Tripadvisor and got a fantastic rate!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOGuy7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is an expensive little town and I felt we got a great value at this hotel. We stayed in room 106. Very clean room, SOME of the décor was a bit dated, but overall very, very nice room. Huge 55 inch TV (which is not shown in in their website), great working heater, fully operational kitchenette, clean bathrooms. The only downfall this room was a corner room so at night the lights we a little bright coming into the room. Perhaps blinds would have worked better than the curtains. Our view was so-so. We did have a small view of the harbor, but there was a vacant dirt lot and old barn looking type of a building right outside our room. If I ever got back I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeneT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place is the greatest hotel on the island! The customer service is amazing! Clean rooms and very close to all of the action.
Ivan is unbelievable and makes you feel at home!
If all businesses could clone Ivan, the economy would turn around!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinniesanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The rooms were nice, but left a little to be desired. The kitchen wasn't well stocked, it was very bare bones minimum. The rooms seemed clean at first, but after being there for an hour we saw fingernail clippings on the carpet, something that appeared to be a food stain on a bedroom wall, and the baseboards were dirty. The location was great, a couch would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

El Terado Terrace gave my boyfriend and I an excellent experience on our short mini 2-Day vacay to Catalina. Ivan, the manager, is probably one of the most awesome, down to earth people who live on the whole island of Catalina! He upgraded us to a larger room, just because! He was super accommodating, full of good advice, and someone I'd like to be friends with on a day to day basis. The rooms were nice, clean, affordable, and in a good local. Thanks El Terado Terrace!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

They are amazing I will defenitaly be back, best hotel I have stayed in a very long time,,ivan is the best I was there on the week if the 20th for my boyfriends birthday and we had the best time , seriously I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone had a great experience!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing