We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like another home”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My trip to Catalina was amazing,staying here at El Terado made me feel right at home. The staff is welcoming,the rooms are supplied with luxuries-comfy beds-and not to mention the ocean side view! I highly recommend staying here,it's a comfortable,affordable,spacious, the town is right down the street! I loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzzzzie_Q12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wow these rooms were beyond my expectations!! starting with my a complementary taxi ride from the boat terminal to the hotel. we got revised with a big welcoming smile by the receptionist at the front desk! Once she handed us our keys we step into a beautiful suite, full kitchen , with a nice bathroom, and the bed was huge! Apart from being huge, it was so comfortable and we slept threw the night. The next morning me and my husband woke up went to get some breakfast(only took us about 5 mins to get down to the town), went to vons got some grocery's to cook some of our meals for the next couple of days. we even barbecued one night!This hotel has such a family feel it real does feel like home away from home, now next time will bring the kids with us! Our over all experience was delightful, Coming back for sure!!! I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to go on a great vacation ( romantic or family) ,that has a feel as comfortable as staying in your own home!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maribelcampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel has received the Trip Advisor nod several times in the last few years, but I'm not sure why. It's adequate, I suppose. Out of curiosity, we compared a similar suite at Hotel Catalina down the street and found it to be much, much nicer, for a similar price. If there is a next time in Avalon, we'll definitely be going elsewhere.
The extra large roaches were not welcome companions in our lodgings.
The suite was roomy, but totally pragmatic and lacking in aesthetic considerations. The bed next to the kitchen was odd.
On our second night, our neighbors had a nasty door-slamming fight at 1am. We told the manager about it the next morning and he was totally unsympathetic. I thought that he should have comped us the per bag fee to store our luggage at the ferry terminal for a few hours, since the El Terado did not provide the service. Nothing doing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leilani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The staff was wonderful, the room was fantastic and the bed was really comfortable! Thank you so much for making our stay for our mini-vacation so great. Wish we'd known earlier about your discounts for local eateries but that's ok!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I've been to Catalina Island a couples times and by far this has been the best hotel I've stayed at. Very clean and room service was great. Had a great view and close to all restaurants and shops. Employees are very friendly and polite. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juancarloscervantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I took my girlfriend to Catalina as a Christmas present and staying at the El Terado Terrace added such a great experience to our trip. The excellent customer service upgraded our room to a mini suite with an ocean view which was very romantic for our stay. The room was very clean and had every amenity possible that we could've asked for. Huge TV, gas stove, oven, king bed and full refrigerator. We loved waking up every morning to the ocean view and appreciated that the hotel was far enough away from the main strip to be of Avalon to be secluded but close enough to walk a few minutes down to all the restaurants. Also enjoyed the complimentary taxi service from where the docks where the boats drop off. The all around friendly staff and great environment will definitely ensure that we will be staying at this hotel for our next trip to Catalina!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked good but the mini suite is the best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dashel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our third visit to the El Terado Terrace. We came to Avalon on vacation a couple years ago when we couldn't get the time off for an out of state vacation. This turned out to be one of the best decisions we ever made. Now every year we make sure to visit Avalon and the El Torado. The first year we stayed at a different hotel and were pretty disappointed with what we got for the money. Then the second year we came, we got a room at the El Terado for a much better rate. WOW! The first thing we noticed is that it was more like renting a condo or a house. the amenities were fantastic. Starbucks coffee in the rooms, Big flat screen TV's, Granite counter tops and full kitchens. This place has it all. The best part was the staff, they were so friendly and treated us like family. It was seriously like having your own home on the island. We will continue to come every year. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have great views. Rooms on the west side are more secluded and quiet. I sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £83 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing