We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having never stayed here before & not know what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised! Very clean rooms, beds, kitchens with utensils, plates, etc.. Great outdoor grills to use, free ice, nice patios and nice ocean views over the rooftops. And on a relatively quiet street!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Explorer84LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for El Terado Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at El Terado. They made our travel to the island so easy. Along with the 2 rooms, they also booked our boat trip and taxi. Having a kitchen when traveling with children makes everyone's life a little easier.

Room Tip: Get Ocean view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the El Terado hotel. At the last minute we needed a roll away bed for my daughter. Ivan went out of his way for us. He moved us into a bigger room that would accommodate a roll away. He held our luggage while the room was being cleaned. They will even send a taxi to pick you up at the dock. We didn't take the taxi, we just walked from the dock. The hotel is up a hill, but it was a nice walk.
The whole staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean with nice comfortable beds. Our room had a ample kitchen. There is a patio with two nice BBQ's. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Catalina.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F54soccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I loved this hotel! I'm very picky about cleanliness and it passed the test. It had a kitchen with fridge, microwave, and stove, I should have brought more food, I could have saved a lot of money. I';ll return to this hotel :)))))

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just spent the weekend in Catalina and stayed at the El Terado Terrace. They offered to pay for our taxi ride to the hotel but we decided to walk. Let me just say that the hill alot of people complain about is not bad at all, it only took us 5 minutes from the bottom of the street to the hotel.

Upon check in we were greeted by Tania and the Manager(Ivan). They gave us an early check in and Ivan gave us really good info about the island. We also recieved a 12% discount coupon for Steves Steak House.

The room (108) we got was super clean, bed was comfortable and we had a full kitchen.

They made us feel like family and hopefully we can go back soon. Thanx Ivan.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler3356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This weekend I was upset because I ended up not being able to get to Catalina Island. This meant I had to cancel my entire trip to the island. Hotel, activities, spa, etc.

The 3rd party vendor that I used to book the hotel over the phone, did not disclose the room cancellation policy (which was 14 days in advance of check-in date) , so imagine how upset I was to hear this for the first time 24 hours in advance of my scheduled check-in date.

I called the hotel and spoke to Ivan, the hotel manager, for a while. He was sympathetic to the situation and said he would try to get my room sold/reserved by someone else. If someone else booked it, then I wouldn't have to pay.

They were unable to get it booked last minute, but when I called today, I was told that they would void my credit card charge for the full night which is approx $189. (I hope that will be taken care of soon!)

I know that he made an exception this time and I am very surprised and thankful for this. Customer service isn't always black and white, and it says a lot when they took their time to review my situation. (I travel a lot for work so I have a lot of insight on hospitality)

I will be going to Catalina Island in the next few months when I can book my travel and look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank RN201406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We received a bit of a frustrated receptionist our last day there & noticed it wasn't just with us it was with everyone. Got upset with us for asking where luggage claims/drop off was and rolled eyes etc. another thing we didn't really like was that you cannot do a late check out even if you're willing to pay for it weeks in advance. Thought that was very strange. The outside of the hotel is not as nice as they make it look on their website & there is no lobby. Was a little scared when I got there and thought the rooms were going to be bad but they are actually very cute, spacious and for the most part was clean. (I say for the most part because our bed frame had make up ???! Stains or something and it looked like they just hid it with pillows instead of scrubbing) it did smell good though and everything else in the room/kitchen/bathroom was very clean. When we go back we will not be returning to this hotel but it may work for others even though it didn't work for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikkiGillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £79 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing