We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place I'll stay in Catalina.”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My favorite place to stay in Catalina. The ocean side view is awesome. Perfect view of the Ocean from inside our room 109.
We also had a view of deer every night in the backyard next to our hotel which was very entertaining as well. I love that they provide Starbucks coffee and creamer for free so I did not have to wake up early and walk into town. Wifi was the only pain due to having to enter the wifi username and password multiple times due to being logged out but really not that much of a biggie. The hotel is not on the main drag but that's a positive for me, hotel Mac Rae and the few others on the main drag are loud and busy. Only takes about 3 mins to walk to the Main Street from the hotel and to anyone that complains about the steep walk is probably out of shape and needs the walk. Also loved the air conditioning my room was nice and cold all day, can't say that about most hotels in Catalina! 5 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kh24567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

El Terado Terrace was a great vacation spot on Catalina. The manager Ivan was great and very helpful when we had a problem. He accommodated all our needs. Staff was nice. The rooms were affordable with a kitchen. Quiet at nighttime. Perfect for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridgethammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

There is a little bit of a walk to get to El Terado Terrace but it is so nice to be away from the hustle of the main area and it definitely makes you venture deeper into Avalon which feels like a different country. We stayed in one of the non-kitchen rooms but it worked out great for us because it has some nice double doors we could open up into the hills. The king bed was very comfy and the sheets were nice and new. I will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Mine was the only accommodation that has no kitchen - which was perfect, as I did not plan to do any cooking there. The room was quite basic: dresser, king bed, and TV. There was also a coffeemaker, small refrigerator, and microwave (which were lovely for morning coffee and using left-overs from restaurant meals). The hotel is uphill from the busyness of town, making it quite peaceful - great for a good night's sleep. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLF93111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Having never stayed here before & not know what to expect, we were very pleasantly surprised! Very clean rooms, beds, kitchens with utensils, plates, etc.. Great outdoor grills to use, free ice, nice patios and nice ocean views over the rooftops. And on a relatively quiet street!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Explorer84LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful time at El Terado. They made our travel to the island so easy. Along with the 2 rooms, they also booked our boat trip and taxi. Having a kitchen when traveling with children makes everyone's life a little easier.

Room Tip: Get Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kathi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the El Terado hotel. At the last minute we needed a roll away bed for my daughter. Ivan went out of his way for us. He moved us into a bigger room that would accommodate a roll away. He held our luggage while the room was being cleaned. They will even send a taxi to pick you up at the dock. We didn't take the taxi, we just walked from the dock. The hotel is up a hill, but it was a nice walk.
The whole staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean with nice comfortable beds. Our room had a ample kitchen. There is a patio with two nice BBQ's. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Catalina.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F54soccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#14 of 20 in Avalon
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £83 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing