We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!!!”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2009

From the time of reservation to check out the experience couldn't have been any better !!! Ivan treated us like royalty from taking our reservation days prior to checking us in. The room couldn't have had a better view. The cleanliness of the room could be held up to Ritz Carlton's standards. Finally the value for the room was exceptional!!! We have been to Catalina a few times before but Ivan and the El Terado Terrace made this the most memorable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drt7bkelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for El Terado Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2009

Great vacaction destination topped off with a fabulous hotel. El Terado is a short block walk from the hustle of Avalon and it was a great place to stay with our kids. Everything in the room was very clean and seems recently renovated with flat screens, fresh paint, nice kitchens, and comfy beds. El Terado is not a super fancy hotel with room service and bellboys, but, it's casual, quiet, beautiful views, has everthing you want in a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uptightconservatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I checked out several hotel options and read a lot of reviews before deciding to stay here. It turns out that this was a great choice. When I booked the room I asked for their best deal and they cut $25 off of the internet price. Not much sacrifice on their part and it started us off with a good impression of the place. The man who checked us in was very helpful and gave us several helpful suggestions for things to do and places to eat. He gave us a free ugrade to a room with an ocean view because they had some available. We were early and our room wasn't ready so they held our baggage and put it in our room when it was done being cleaned. We were able to get into our room around 12:30 and check in isn't until later (2:00, I think). The room was spacious and clean. The room looked like it had been renovated semi-recently. Overall we were very happy with our experience.
The only minor problems that might bother some travelers (we didn't mind much)...
the bed linens seemed cheap, or worn; you do have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel (not a problem if you're in average physical condition); there wasn't always someone at the front desk, but they were available by phone and would come quickly when called; no bathtub in our room. None of the above were issues for us, but may be for you.
Hotels on the island tend to be pricey and I think we got a reasonable price for a comfortable room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and will stay there myself next time we go.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed there a few years ago & were impressed with the remodel. Our friends loved it" We loved the sitting areas in both front and back of the hotel. Even if you aren't going to cooks it's always nice to have a refrigerator and kitchen. No need to have to put your salsa for your chips in a paper cup - it's nice to have some utensils. The next time we'll cook using the Bar-B-Que. The only thing missins is a jacuzzi but we understand with the water shortage. We will definitely go back to Catalina and stay at this hotel. One more thing - we loved the location - it's a nice walk after you've been eating & drinking so much the walk back to the hotel feels great (and reduces the guilt from over indulging).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catbassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The room was very clean and had just been remodeled, it looked brand new. The kitchen had everything to cook an entire meal all you needed was a trip to the grocery store.
The room was a short walk from the beach but it was all uphill so you will get your exercise walking it a couple of times each day to and from activities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benzy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This was our first time to El Terado Terrace and we were there with our two children and another couple and their two kids. The accommodations are certainly comfortable and a little on the rustic side. The rooms were always clean and there were adequate supplies. Every bedroom had an LCD TV and the bathrooms were clean and well stocked. The hotel is not at all far from the beach and a healthy walk up hill to get there. There is a great patio area that we made good use of. The maids were always responsive, although only a couple spoke English.

The best experience though came from the Owners and their manager. Roxanne & Bruce (the owners) and Ivan (the manager). There was not a single request that they did not meet almost instantly and then did more than we even asked. Special Kudos to Roxanne - You Rock Roxanne!!!!!

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikkimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

My husband and I are avid Catalina users. We have visited the island between 8-12 times in our marriage and love it. I could give you lists of everything that there is to do there, but I will keep my comments to the El Terado.

I HIGHLY recommend it. As talked about by previous reviewers: The owners were often around, and very in touch with us. They lent us stuff for our kids, helped us with our luggage and even gave us a ride to the beach when we were headed in the same direction.

We stayed for 4 nights and have a 4 year old and 2 year old. Having a full size kitchen was supreme (especially because it comes FULLY stocked with kitchen supplies and utensils). It saved us a ton of cash not having to eating out every meal, not to mention increasing my sanity in having to battle the kids at restaurants for 5 days, 3 meals per day.

The furnishings were very cute. It had a really nice, clean, beach-house feel. They had wainscoting and a chair railing, and were getting all-new white furniture. They gave us a porta-crib for our 2 year old and a rollaway for our 4 year old. There was a dresser, a kitchen table, end table, and a small, 4 to 5 foot hallway to the bathroom that had floor to ceiling cabinets for storage (this was huge for us for all of our beach junk :)).

The room also had brand new, 37" flat screen TV with DVD player. The bathrooms had new fixtures including a brand new vanity. Not to mention the fact that these are seriously big hotel rooms, especially for Avalon where everything is ridiculously small.

Reading the other reviews, I have these rebuttals: 1) They thoroughly cleaned, vacuumed, made the beds, etc., everyday. 2) They had recently put new A/C units in each room that served as both heaters and air conditioners. We never used the heater but the A/C worked awesome. It cooled the rooms down to ice cold if we wanted and they did it in minutes. 3) And, the hill: The El Terado is up a hill, but as another reviewer said, if you are in moderately good shape or better, it is no big deal. We pushed a stroller and walked a 4 year old up, carrying loads of beach junk (chairs, an umbrella, buckets, towel bag, toys, inner tubes, etc.) everyday, and we were fine. It is 350 steps. I counted, just because I am like that. For sure ask about the "back door" route down the hill. It is even shorter than 350 steps. The "back door" way leads to the main part of the city, like Big Olaf's and El Galleon while the "front door" way leads to the casino and Descanso Beach. The "back door" way has a smaller hill. Seriously, being "off the beaten path" had some positives.

I would also highly recommend asking them what they can do to "bundle" the price of your trip with the boat tickets. For us, the boat tickets were going to be about $192 (about $64 per person with my 2 year old being free). We got the boat practically for free by having it put into our hotel, and they threw in a cab ride to and from the dock.

In the future, we are aiming to have a family reunion on Catalina, and this could be a great venue. They do have a "courtyard" type of a place with tables in the back, and they have a patio with a barbeque in the front. Both would be good gathering places for a multi-family gathering.

In the end, we have stayed everywhere from the Hermosa Hotel (dive) to the Hotel Metropole (one of the nicest on the island). The El Terado was much closer on the scale to the Metropole but at about 1/3 of the price and then throw in the kitchen. Its HIGHEST mark for me came from the cleanliness, and the crisp, new feel of the interior while being incredibly inexpensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £79 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing