We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

First of all let me just say that the staff is OUTSTANDING! They are easy going, considerate and helpful. The owners have boundless energy and enthusiasm for making El Terado a family, vacationer and couples (wanting to get away) destination. There is a lot of privacy on the island view side, harbor views and quiet on the other side. El Terado is just a slight hill, walking distance from all the action of Avalon. I have 1 and 1/2 lungs, I was born with asthma and am overweight and the walk up the little hill was pretty invigorating, especially with the clean air and cool weather. We have been staying at the hotel for over a decade because of the kitchen and quiet, away from where crowds of Avalon abound. I felt safe there with my little seven year old who was a toddler when the new owners (related to the original owner) took over. The improvements in the rooms, staff and perks have made us life long El Terado vacationers. It’s like being in a private apartment where fun is endless. We go every chance we get. My daughter cried this July when we had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irmarebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    110
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
125
172
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

We had a great stay at the El Terado Terrace this summer. We have been coming to this hotel for several years now. The newly renovated rooms are fantastic. The air conditioning was much needed and appreciated. We plan to stay there every summer, now that the rooms are so great. Ivan the manager is courteous, kind and helpful. His staff is efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiagirlalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We wheeled our luggage a short walk from the boat up the hill because we wanted to enjoy walking along the waterfront even though the hotel would've paid for our taxi. Nice room with kitchen and air conditioning. Enjoyed eating our homecooked meals on the deck with a view of the harbor. Very quiet being a block away from the shops and restaurants. Missed not having a bathtub a little bit but all the other positives made for a very enjoyable visit. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelboomer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

From the time of reservation to check out the experience couldn't have been any better !!! Ivan treated us like royalty from taking our reservation days prior to checking us in. The room couldn't have had a better view. The cleanliness of the room could be held up to Ritz Carlton's standards. Finally the value for the room was exceptional!!! We have been to Catalina a few times before but Ivan and the El Terado Terrace made this the most memorable. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drt7bkelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Great vacaction destination topped off with a fabulous hotel. El Terado is a short block walk from the hustle of Avalon and it was a great place to stay with our kids. Everything in the room was very clean and seems recently renovated with flat screens, fresh paint, nice kitchens, and comfy beds. El Terado is not a super fancy hotel with room service and bellboys, but, it's casual, quiet, beautiful views, has everthing you want in a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uptightconservatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

I checked out several hotel options and read a lot of reviews before deciding to stay here. It turns out that this was a great choice. When I booked the room I asked for their best deal and they cut $25 off of the internet price. Not much sacrifice on their part and it started us off with a good impression of the place. The man who checked us in was very helpful and gave us several helpful suggestions for things to do and places to eat. He gave us a free ugrade to a room with an ocean view because they had some available. We were early and our room wasn't ready so they held our baggage and put it in our room when it was done being cleaned. We were able to get into our room around 12:30 and check in isn't until later (2:00, I think). The room was spacious and clean. The room looked like it had been renovated semi-recently. Overall we were very happy with our experience.
The only minor problems that might bother some travelers (we didn't mind much)...
the bed linens seemed cheap, or worn; you do have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel (not a problem if you're in average physical condition); there wasn't always someone at the front desk, but they were available by phone and would come quickly when called; no bathtub in our room. None of the above were issues for us, but may be for you.
Hotels on the island tend to be pricey and I think we got a reasonable price for a comfortable room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend and will stay there myself next time we go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed there a few years ago & were impressed with the remodel. Our friends loved it" We loved the sitting areas in both front and back of the hotel. Even if you aren't going to cooks it's always nice to have a refrigerator and kitchen. No need to have to put your salsa for your chips in a paper cup - it's nice to have some utensils. The next time we'll cook using the Bar-B-Que. The only thing missins is a jacuzzi but we understand with the water shortage. We will definitely go back to Catalina and stay at this hotel. One more thing - we loved the location - it's a nice walk after you've been eating & drinking so much the walk back to the hotel feels great (and reduces the guilt from over indulging).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catbassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Property: El Terado Terrace
Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing