We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Return”
Review of El Terado Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Terado Terrace
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Great place with amazing rooms. If you are walking there, it is up a hill (get dive gear delivered!) but definitely worth the walk! We will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soccer_king12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2011

Just had a wonderful stay at El Terado with 5 of my friends. We all ran the Buffalo Half Marathon and were blessed with fabulous weather. Found El Terado online with a great little discount. If you don't find a discount, call Ivan at their office and he might just have something he can offer you. He was very accommodating, even making arrangements for a late checkout so we could shower and relax a bit after the race. We doubled up in each room and there was PLENTY of room. The rooms are huge, and the kitchen was wonderful to cook oatmeal, blend a smoothie, even a barbecue on the deck with plenty of room for a small gathering. The beds were very comfortable, but I'll take my own pillow next time. Pillows are okay but bigger than I'm used to. The hotel is very quiet, up a short hill, maybe 5-minute walk from restaurant row - but you can take a taxi if needed. We'll definitely be back next year for the 2012 race and we'll be staying here. Just hope we are lucky enough to get 75 degree weather in January again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Clean rooms, great staff,love the kitchen,walking distance to beach & ferry & restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondellChaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

El Terado Terrace is basically a motel, rather than what one might expect by a hotel. Rooms are entered directly from outside. Reception is a window at the front, and if the manager isn't there you call him on a phone hung on the wall. Facilities are motel style, being an ice machine and coke vending machine. There is also a (shared) BBQ for summer stays, although 'terrace' is somewhat misleading and there is not a great deal of outdoor space. You can get the wifi code from reception.

Location-wise, it is slightly further up the hill than most hotels, but its still only about 200 metres from the sea front and to be honest, getting a tiny bit of exercise in is a good thing if you had breakfast at Jack's Place, or pizza at Antonio's.

The rooms are spacious and have Starbucks filter coffee (caf and decaf, although not our personal US favourite, half-caf!). However, they are - like many properties on the island - more suited for summer occupation and there was a great deal of condensation on the windows, not to mention that the curtains were more of a nod in the general direction. For this reason I strongly recommend avoiding room 106, which we had, because the outdoor lighting and street lighting are just outside and the curtains do nothing to prevent it shining in.

If you know what you are letting yourself in for - ie a motel not a hotel - it's great, but if you are after any hotel type facilities, don't do it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We were hoping for a 'romantic getaway' away from home, in a hotel that would provide us with a pleasant, cozy stay in case of a bad weather. Instead - we entered a room facing a construction site, with "pleasant" sounds that go with that. The room smelled like public restroom, no phone; paint scraped off walls and doors, some "closet" doors were falling off hinges. Worse yet to come - the shower's floor was covered with black matter - fungus? rust? dirt? combination of all of the above? not sure and wasn't interested in finding out. We ended up taking a wet-cloth "shower." The towels were folded very nicely, though, and there was a "cleaned" tape covering the toilet seat (which had hair around). We expected a pleasant stay, and encountered a 'less-then-dormitory' experience instead. Yes, they have nice TV and working air-conditioner - but that's about it. The person at the "reception desk" was very nice - but I am not sure if he was the manager, housekeeper, receptionist, or all of the above, since he seemed to be everywhere, doing everything, but could only be reached by one single red phone hanging outside the "reception area" (caged space with a closed window, which was indeed closed the entire time we had to stay there). If you are outdoors all day and most of the night, and don't care where your bags are stored - then this hotel is for you. If you are looking for upper scale, romantic getaway in a pleasant hotel that provides you with comfort, amenities more than outdated shampoo and body lotion - this 'less-than-youth-hostel' experience is definitely not for you. We left Catalina very disappointed, with a very large hole in our pockets, for nothing. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chavatzelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed at El Terado Terrace for the Catalina Grand Prix race and were very pleased with the accomodations. Rooms were clean and we used the BBQ/patio area one night since most of the restaurants in town were very crowded due to the race. We took a taxi to the hotel (which they covered) and check in was fast and east. It was great having the kitchen facilities since we had to be out on the race course early each day, so we just made breakfast in our room. Hotel is very close to grocery store, restaurants, etc. The owner let us keep our bags in the room for a late Sunday check out since we were a large group and it was going to be quite expensive to store them elsewhere. Thanks again for the great service!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kandy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The room and nicely furninshed, the beds were comfortable, and you got a complete kitchen area so you didnt have to eat out every night. They also had a nice patio deck with a bbq and tables so we could eat outside. A great experience, and we will be back next year for the Catalina Grand Prix, 2011

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmeek12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#9 of 20 in Avalon
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Terado Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Terado Terrace

Address: 230 Marilla Ave, PO Box 1295, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avalon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Price Range: £82 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Terado Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalina Islands Best Hotel Value, no other Catalina Island hotel offers full size suites & townhomes at hotel room prices. All new spacious suites. Deluxe Hotel Suites with granite counter tops, fully equipped kitchens with full sized refrigerators and stoves. Large 37 inch flat screen TVs and classic Catalina art by a local artist. Choose a king or two double beds. Simply the best value on the island. No other Catalina Island hotel even comes close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your El Terado Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Terado Terrace Hotel Avalon
El Terado Terrace Mini Hotel
El Terado Terrace Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing