We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheeseburger in Paradise :)”

Descanso Beach Club
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Surrounded by the rugged beauty of Descanso Canyon and the clear blue Pacific Ocean, Descanso Beach Club features Avalon's only beachside restaurant and bar, where you can enjoy appetizers, entrées and signature cocktails, like our famous Buffalo Milk. For the ultimate beach club experience, you can have your food and drinks delivered to your own private cabana or chaise lounge. Descanso Beach Club also serves as the Base Camp for the Zip Line Eco Tour, Catalina Falconry Experience, and a 32' Climbing Wall. Kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, and snorkeling are also available. Seasonally, Descanso Beach Club's party scene is well known among locals and visitors alike, DJ tunes and live music on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.
Surfside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger in Paradise :)”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Past the casino & a nice little boardwalk stroll by the sea is Descano. It's a much more 'private' beach then the strips of sand by the pier & definitely worth the effort to get to. Order up a Buffalo's Milk cocktail during their Happy Hour & take advantage of their 1/2 off food specials. I think the menu selection varies so ask your server. The cheeseburger & fries I got was only $7... YUMMMMM!!!

The beach side tables at Descano boast EXCELLENT views of the ocean. For a few more Benjamin's you can rent your own private cabana to nap in after your meal...LOL!! Not to worry, there's also a 'free' side you can hang out at with a bar that has ESPN for those live sporting events you can watch while working on your tan!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    56
    28
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Music too loud. Staff rude”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Came to rent chairs and relax on beach. They were out of chairs and charged us to sit on the sand in a 12x12 spot as it was so crowded. They said the charge was for the live music which wasn't live it was recorded. No lifeguards. That would make sense to charge for that. Music was so loud it took away from the beauty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tracita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alot of Fun In The Sun”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The beach is always beautiful, the employees are on top of their game. Friendly service and a relaxing view; what could be better! Stay for a real happy hour!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caldreameryeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Descanso Beach Club, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note about the Descanso Beach Club. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your day here, and especially our happy hour! My team and I appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. Please do come back and see us on your next visit to Catalina Island.

Sincerely,

Nick Papadatos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Day EVER!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I spent our belated honeymoon on Catalina, and spent a full day lounging at the Beach Club! We ate lunch here after a quick trip inland, and loved the food and atmosphere so much that we walked back to our hotel (Catalina Island Inn), changed, and walked back to the Beach Club. We stayed there until 6pm having drinks and making friends with another couple on their honeymoon. I suggest tantalizing your tastebuds with some of their Island Chicken Wings, before kicking back in a private cabana with a Bay Breeze (for four).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatalinaSCICo, General Manager at Descanso Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to dine at the Descanso Beach Club during your visit to Catalina Island. We appreciate your taking the time to share with us your dining experience on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to share your feedback with my entire team and will recognize them for a job well done. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge them in contributing to your dining experience.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Descanso Beach Club and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,

Nick Papadatos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My friends and I dined here for my birthday and were taken care of with the greatest service ever. We ordered a few drinks and starters (the monstrous nachos are fantastic, as is the strawberry mojito) and loved everything. Servers are friendly, the atmosphere is amazing (overlooking the ocean), and we even were able to switch tables when we were too hot/cold.

Ask for Ulyces Alvarado if possible-- he took extremely good care of our group and ensured that I had the best birthday ever. We'd definitely come here again based on our positive experience! GREAT place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debskittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Descanso Beach Club also viewed

Avalon, Catalina Island
Avalon, Catalina Island
 
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Descanso Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing