We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Little Place”
Review of Seacrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seacrest Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent Mother's Day on the Island of Catalina off the California coast. When we got to our Hotel, the Catalina Island Seacrest Inn, we were greeted by the lady at the front desk and she helped us check in. She advised us that our room would be ready shortly and stored our bag for us while we went out and explored. I received a phone call from the Inn about 30 minutes later telling me our room was ready. We were given the low down of the place and went to our room. Now, the room was small, but comfortable at the same time! There was a really nice patio on the roof and a few steps up from that was a Bar-B-Q area. We had a great time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. It's convenient to everything in Avalon, and also a little quieter, being just off the main area. The service was friendly and helpful as well. We stayed in the Captain's room - very comfortable and suited our needs.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank WMS-SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Based on tripadvisor reviews and pictures, we decided to give this place a try. Overall, our stay was a very pleasant one. While small, our room was clean and comfortable. The humongous bathtub was a huge bonus, especially after a day of scuba diving.

When we called to make our reservation, we were concerned about having somewhere to hang our gear after a day of diving. We were told that the Palm Room, with a separate side entrance would be the best for us, as we would be able to hang our gear on the fence. This worked quite well. While the space between the fence and the property was too narrow for our scuba cart, we were able to stow the cart under an overhang off the front of the building.

On Sunday, after checkout, the manager even allowed us to leave our things in the rental property next door, and use the shower there following our dives. This was such a fabulous and totally unnecessary thing for her to do, and it made such a big difference for us in terms of comfort and convenience.

The only snag was that our room did not get serviced by a maid on Saturday. Yet when we called Juan, the manager on duty, early on Saturday evening with a request for clean, dry towels, he was there in about 10 minutes with a stack of towels for us.

We felt well cared for during our weekend stay at the Seacrest Inn, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quitodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Catalina Island is not exactly pet friendly! This is one of 2 or three hotels that allow you to bring your dog(s) along. This was the perfect choice for us because the location was great (a block from Front Street) and the room served our needs. It is a very cozy and quaint Inn with an "island rustic" vibe to it. The manager Denise was very warm and welcoming to us and treated us like "regualrs" though it was our first visit. Ahhh....... good old fashioned hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonyriccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKarstens, Manager at Seacrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Tony Riccio,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I am glad that you both had a nice time and enjoyed our home town hospitality. I treat all my guests as if they were my best friends or family as that is how I like to be treated. Thank you for trusting me with your babies; we had a great time together.

What I truly appreciate is all your marketing efforts you and your wife did for us. As a result of you telling people we are pet friendly, I booked the whole Inn for New Year’s Eve for two nights and several other reservations for pet owners have been made.

Thank you for all your kind words and I hope we can stay in touch and work together in the future.

Warmest Regards

Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

John and Denise are the most caring host, very informative and hands on. Clean room with a private feel as if your home. Location is perfect! Steps to the beach and many places to eat. The view on the roof top is relaxing with ocean view to die for. Walking my puppy was easy and enjoyable with a coffee in hand and a good morning to the locals. we will return for you Birthday specials:) The Mermaid room is a sweet stay....

Room Tip: Mermaid has a private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalinawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKarstens, Manager at Seacrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Catalinawalk, (AKA Ambra)

Thank you for all your kind words on us and the Inn. Looking forward to your return so we can go Zipping or Parasailing! Office is almost complete and the covered sundeck is getting a face lift! Once all is done we will be updating all of our photos. Nice pics you posted, thank you!

Hope your trip home was good! Thank you again for reviewing our Inn and letting other travelers know of you experience.

Warmest Regards,

Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I really loved it here. Walked in for check in and was greated by the two biggest smiles and a free ruber duckie. Everything is so close and i felt was in the perfect location. I am definitly coming back. The service was great and the room was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gmendez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKarstens, Manager at Seacrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear GMendez7 (Giovanni)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and to let others know of your experience with us here at the Inn. I'm so glad that our hard work has paid off. However it never ends. Hopefully on your next trip our covered roof top deck will be completed.

Thank you for your kind words on your greeting from us, I like to treat everyone like family as thats how I like to be treated.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to many return trips in the future.

Thank you again and I hope you have an AWESOME summer!

Warmest Regards

Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We were to the past week end to celebrate our anniversary and the experience was unforgettable. First, Seacrest Inn offers ".... the charm and décor of an historic Victorian home but is filled with the amenities of modern life..". Our room was very small. The fan was very noise. The air conditioner didn't work. The cleaning was very bad. The shower didn't have door or anything to block the water. When we took the shower, every mornings we had to walk on the wet floor. When we made the complain, the front desk employee said us, that he couldn't do anything because he was only an employee, but he would try to solve the air conditioner problem. He didn't do anything about it. Second, Seacrest Inn offers breakfast. They gave us a $10 "gift certificate" for two people to take breakfast each day!!!! Third, we couldn't rest because the noise. Because the air conditioner didn't work, we had to open the window and all night we heard the golf car noise from the street. With this horrible conditions Seacrest Inn should not be on Trip Advisor, plus the web site is misleading.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ARTEMISA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseKarstens, Manager at Seacrest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and to let us know where we can improve for our future travelers. Our apologies that you and your wife did not have a good time and our property was not up to your standards. Due to the size of our city most properties are extremely small and we must utilize our space well. We pride ourselves on the uniqueness of our properties as there are no chains/franchises in Avalon.. All of our rooms are themed and are described online, our apologies if Victorian theme with modern life was misleading. With the Victorian theme we do have HDMI Flat screen TV's, 600 count sheets along with refrigerators and FREE WIFI. The Retreat room is the 2nd largest room at our Inn and the bathroom is one of our largest. I personally checked the room and placed your Romantic Escape flower/wine package in your room. I'm not quite sure what you felt was dirty as it was not brought to my attention on your first day. Had it been brought to my attention I would have made it right for you. Our goal is for everyone to have an AWESOME time here and on the Island. I have readjusted the shower head and the AC has been replaced, however it did work on low just not on high.

We decided back in December to no longer offer continental breakfast as there were too many guests with food restrictions and it was extremely hard to please everyone.
Our guests now have the opportunity to enjoy two local eateries for breakfast. Hotel industry standard for the cost of continental breakfast average ranges from $2.50 to 4.75 per person based on what you choose to offer for your continental breakfast. So we feel $5.00 per person per day is more than fair to apply towards your breakfast at either one of the two places. Our apologies if you feel this was not adequate enough for continental breakfast.

Again thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel and I will be sharing your review with the rest of the staff and our owners. We hope that you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves. As you can see from others who have reviewed us since we have taken over have all been positive and this is not the norm for us. Please contact me direct if you choose to visit again.


Warmest Regards,


Denise Karstens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#16 of 20 in Avalon
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Rae
Hotel Mac Rae
#10 of 20 in Avalon
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Inn

Address: 201 Claressa Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £65 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seacrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seacrest Inn is a conveniently located hotel on Catalina Island with accommodations for every budget. Each room at our Catalina Island hotel is decorated in a different theme and most have soaking or spa tubs with showers. Our guests are welcome to enjoy the covered rooftop patio which offers a secluded place to read or enjoy a cool drink. A sundeck with ocean views is available for guests. The Seacrest Inn on Catalina Island is a perfect destination for romantic getaways, adventure travelers and those looking for a convenient Avalon hotel just steps from the beach and the attractions of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Seacrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Seacrest Hotel Avalon
Seacrest Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing