We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID! False advertising - does not match ads or reviews.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Seacrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seacrest Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
La Costa, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“AVOID! False advertising - does not match ads or reviews.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2005

Do not stay here! This place is WAY overpriced for the poor quality accommodations that exist at this "inn". I classify this place as a tourist trap.

We checked in and checked out the same day we saw our room and sought accommodations elsewhere, in a nicer hotel for one third of the rate Seacrest charged. The internet web page portrays the inn as a cute bed and breakfast "romantic getaway", and that is simply not true.

-The room was extremely small.
-No view, bad location.
-Tile floors with no rugs or carpet.
-No heat (in the winter with tile floors this is a bad combination.)
-No shower curtain, with a clogged misfiring showerhead that sprayed more water on the cold tile floor than on us.
-Dingy, small bath towels.
-Worn, aged furniture.

Also, beware of the reservation policy. I have never had a hotel charge my card for the full amount of the stay, 3 weeks prior to arriving at the hotel.

Save the hassle, ignore all the ads, and do not even bother calling. There are MUCH nicer accommodations for less money available on the island.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank SavvyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    51
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
10
107
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2004

The people who run this place have the lamest reservation requirements I have EVER seen, the inn is overpriced, and the innkeepers are rude. Save your money and stay someplace better on the island. Who needs the headache?????

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2004

I took my fiance to the Seacrest Inn this past weekend for his 23rd birthday. The innkeepers were businesslike and were not very friendly. The price for one night in "The Nest" was $155. WAY overpriced for the tiny room! It's hardly the size of a closet! The tile floor was cold and not romantic at all. The towers were dingy and dirty, and I had to ask for new ones so I could use one that wasn't stained. The rubber duck is tiny and overrated.

The VCR didn't work at first, but luckily my fiance was able to make it work. The old VHS tapes they have for rent are from the 80's, and have terrible tracking problems. Don't bother renting a movie.

My fiance and I spent most of our time exploring the island, it's quaint but we won't be back again. And we definitely WON'T be back to the Catalina Seacrest Inn - what a disappointment!

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2004

We made a reservation at the Seacrest Inn and were told that they could not guarantee the reservation until they received a signed copy of their agreement. They faxed us a copy of the agreement and it stated that we accepted the terms which included a $50.00 cancellation charge. I faxed back the agreement and wrote on the bottom that I wanted to cancel the reservation, and did not sign the agreement. When I received my VISA bill I found a charge for the $50.00. When I contacted the Seacrest Inn they stated that the signature agreement was just a formality. I have never had someone demand my signature on an agreement and then tell me it was just a formality. I would be very careful to inquire about all the policies and charges prior to making reservations at this Inn. And also be careful about what you are signing and what it means. I would not recommend staying at this place to anyone based on their reservation policies.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2004

After getting married in 2001, we honeymooned in Catalina at the Seacrest Inn. My husband also took me back on our first wedding anniversary (with new baby in tow). I loved this inn! It cannot be compared to a Four Seasons or any fancy hotel, but it has a charm all of it's own. The spa tubs in all the rooms make for a romantic getaway. I found the antique bed and pictures to be adorable. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. I enjoyed their free movies and faux fireplace. I loved how it was tucked away on a corner - you cannot get better ambiance. We never heard any noise from outside. And the best part was reading through the "love journels" that are displayed, and adding your own entry for others to enjoy. I cannot wait to go back to Catalina, and I will definitely be staying at the Seacrest Inn.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2004

We stayed at the Seacrest Inn for our honeymoon in the Wicker & Roses room. It was victorian in theme and a bathroom that had a shower for 2. The shower was huge and had more than enough room for 2. The inn keepers were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was always very clean and we loved the touch of the rubber ducky. We plan on coming back with our children soon and plan on renting the room that sleeps 6 people. I would recommend this inn for a romantic get away or honeymoon. We absolutely loved our stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2004

My first impression was the room was dark, damp, moldy, and had a bad smell.

That night started with the local children playing basket ball on the corner without a net. Children were screaming and hitting the ball against the building wall until after 11:00 PM. Just as they got quiet the bars were closing, so of course all the drunks had to walk past our room telling their funny stories as though nobody could hear. Then the music started and that went on until dawn. I was again startled when I awoke at 4 AM (ish) to a very large, hard shell bug between my legs.
Don't know what it was and don't want to know.

We went ahead with the wedding ceremony. The vows were not the ones we chose and even though we discussed the need to have the facilitator call a taxi on our behalf, they forgot. We were in an area where there were no cell phone signals. Eventually we flagged someone down who made the call for us.

We were unable to find another room on the island but they did manage to switch our rooms. That room was much better but it was such a shame that I had to sleep fully dressed on my wedding night.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#13 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Inn

Property: Seacrest Inn
Address: 201 Claressa Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seacrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seacrest Inn is a conveniently located hotel on Catalina Island with accommodations for every budget. Each room at our Catalina Island hotel is decorated in a different theme and most have soaking or spa tubs with showers. Our guests are welcome to enjoy the covered rooftop patio which offers a secluded place to read or enjoy a cool drink. A sundeck with ocean views is available for guests. The Seacrest Inn on Catalina Island is a perfect destination for romantic getaways, adventure travelers and those looking for a convenient Avalon hotel just steps from the beach and the attractions of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seacrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Seacrest Hotel Avalon
Seacrest Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing