We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Seacrest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seacrest Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The Seacrest is a very clean, neat little inn with rooms that are small but well set out. The personalised service is excellent and the manager a mine of local information and constantly available, in person or by phone, to help deal with any problem or question. Breakfast is set out on the roof deck and the 360% view from the upper deck covers the whole town, beach, casino, and mountains.
The location is one block from the beach and close to all of Avalon's amenities, tours etc.
Wendy & Billy M

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy_billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    22
    10
    17
See reviews for
10
107
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I liked it! stayed int he capt. quarters room which was very nice. Roger was very friendly and helped us out with anything we needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmetzenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Our stay at The Catalina Seacrest Inn was delightful in some ways, but lacking in others. We stayed in the Palm room for one night. The room was clean and quiet, small, but quaint, and the jet tube is huge! The bed was soft and had many feather pillows, which is always a plus in my books. The Inn manager met us upon arrival and showed us the room. It's a very short walk from the pier to the hotel and the roof top balcony was gorgeous and romantic at night. We didn't see many guest this time of year and liked having the privacy.
My suggestions to the owner are that rugs are nice on a cold tile floor. There was one towel mate to put down by the tube, but this was all. After a warm bath it's not real pleasant to step onto a cold floor. We put our washcloths and cloths down so we could walk on something more warm. There was a book to write our experiences in but no pen and so couldn't write anything. We never saw the manager again although you can call him, but I am not one to call about borrowing a pen. There was no ice in the ice box after we finally found it and the fireplace was just a switch you turn on (no heat) to look at and very noisy. We didn't use it but a few minutes.
The hotel ad I read said there was a great breakfast. I was delighted because if I am going to pay over $200 for my first stay at a B & B I envision a beautiful, delicious breakfast. When we arrived we were told breakfasts were great. But when we went up to breakfast expecting something great, there was cold cereal, warm yogurt, soggy bagels with cream cheese, cold coffee, and over ripe fruit. I can eat that at home.
I am not one to complain, but I thought I would at least let others know that the breakfast, at least on this day, was not great.
I did love the history of the place, the quiet solitude, and the closeness to all the shops and things to do.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRandMRSWright99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We picked this place from the internet review. Had a great stay...our room was the captain's quarters. Plenty of room, privacy, etc. Loved it. Really liked the access to the upper deck. Thank you Roger. You were so very kind. Cindy Biles

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevebme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I was in Avalon on Jan 21-23rd of 2011, and had the pleasure of staying at the Seacrest Inn. I had booked online, and therefore didn't really know what to expect. However, upon arriving I was completely blown away by the easiness and availability of this wonderful 103 year old house. Roger was very accomodating, as was the entire staff. The upper sun Deck/ BBQ patio had amazing views, and our room was perfect and quaint--just as we had hoped for. I will definitely be back sooner than later, thanks Roger and the Seacrest Inn Team.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury Park
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We stayed in the Sun and Lace room! We were greeted to the hotel by Roger who had called ahead to ask what time our ferry would arrive and gave us directions to the hotel! I'm so glad he did because it really helped a LOT. There was plenty of room to walk around, a little table with two chairs, a bathroom. The bedspread was a beautiful medium blue matelesse. There were 5 windows in the room on 2 walls so it definitely earned the Sun portion of the room's name! There was very little in the way of unusual noise concerns especailly since it's so close to the beach! Walking distance to the trolley, the airport shuttle, the Safari bus, the beach, the pier, the restaurants. This is a way cool old house. I'd stay here again. I wish I had found out who the maid staff was on our second day there, they did a GREAT job.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlcaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2010

First thank you to Roger for upgrading our room due to the crazy travel day my boyfriend and I had from Vegas to Catalina Island back in Sept 2010. 1 missed early morning flt 4 hour delay btwn flts 2 missed boat rides but ending up in a beautifully clean and friendly inn was just what was waiting for us. With the exception of the flt of steps hey can't be helped Seacrest was quiet the rooftop breakfasts every sunny morning was great And the view was breathtaking. We would definitely stay at Seacrest again. Sincerely. Teresa & Jimmy (NY & NJ)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teres01a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#14 of 20 in Avalon
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacrest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacrest Inn

Property: Seacrest Inn
Address: 201 Claressa Ave., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seacrest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seacrest Inn is a conveniently located hotel on Catalina Island with accommodations for every budget. Each room at our Catalina Island hotel is decorated in a different theme and most have soaking or spa tubs with showers. Our guests are welcome to enjoy the covered rooftop patio which offers a secluded place to read or enjoy a cool drink. A sundeck with ocean views is available for guests. The Seacrest Inn on Catalina Island is a perfect destination for romantic getaways, adventure travelers and those looking for a convenient Avalon hotel just steps from the beach and the attractions of Avalon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Seacrest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Island Seacrest Hotel Avalon
Seacrest Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing