We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay Here!”
Review of Mt. Ada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Ada
Ranked #1 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The Inn at Mt Ada is one of the most unique (and expensive) places we have ever stayed at, but forget the money - this is one of those places that you will remember and talk about the rest of your life. The Inn was actually built by the Wrigley family in the early 1920's. It has six rooms total for rent. Breakfast and lunch are provided and guest basically have a run of the place and kitchen including, beer, wine, soft drinks, snacks, etc. We stayed in the Windsor room which faced the harbor area of Catalina Island. Plus, guests have use of a golf car to get them around the island since there are few passenger cars (this is the way the whole world should be). This location and view is one of the best I have ever experienced. Plus we were there over the July 4th weekend, and the Inn is THE place to view the fireworks. We can highly recommend this property to anyone looking for something truly unique and memorable (forget the cost - you can't take it with you anyway)!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Seats42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2008

Everything else you read in these reviews is correct, so no sense in repeating it.

One nice thing is they have brand new golf carts. The golf cart is one thing that should not be overlooked. You really need it. Even though Avalon is small, the location of the Inn makes for quite a walk to get into town or to the Buffalo Nickel (see our review of this fantastic restaurant!). The unlimited use of the golf cart makes the price of your stay quite reasonable.

We were able to get a really good rate at the Inn by waiting 2 or 3 days before our stay to book. Check out their web site for details.

We peeked in almost all the rooms & found them to be very nice. However, in our opinion, the Bethany Glen, was the best! We were able to enjoy the balcony in the morning with a cup of coffee & watch the ships and the town start to wake up. The best view would be from the Windsor Room. While there's no balcony, with the tall bed, you could see right out into the ocean from it. No need to even get up!

The only thing that keeps us from rating the Inn as excellent is the food. Definitely second rate. While it was okay, it didn't live up to the quality of the Inn itself. You would think that for the price you pay, you would get top notch food. Some examples would be the "fresh baked" cookies that are put out. The first afternoon we were there, the cookies did appear to be fresh baked & were very good. The rest of the days, they were definitely store bought. Also the muffins that were put out in the morning before breakfast are not very good. The breakfasts & lunches were, at best, what you would get at a diner. If we had had to pay $25 and $33, respectively, as you do when you're a meal guest only, that would have been unacceptable. To their credit, they tried to make the food seem upscale, but it falls short. We've stayed at several B&Bs & the food has always been much, much better.

It would be nice if they would bring in a chef to create meals that complement the rest of the experience of the Inn & teach the kitchen staff how to prepare them.

All in all, we had a very nice stay. That, in part, due to the fantastic staff. (Make sure you leave them a nice tip!) :-)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank b&bgreatadventurers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2008

From the welcome at the boat to the hug goodbye it was wonderful. To say the Inn is beautiful is an understatement, but the real beauty is in the way the staff is actually anxious to serve you! We went hiking while we were there and since we would miss the lunch that is included they packed us sandwhiches, chips, fresh-made cookies, fruit and water. And they were delighted to do it. The food is delicious and the best you can get on the island. With breakfast, lunch and heavy appetizers in the evening you don't even need to go out for a meal. But when you do go out, the golf cart is ready and waiting for you stocked with water and lap blankets. The golf cart rentals in Avalon are forty dollars an hour, so with the meals and the carts included it is an excellent value. The rooms are all gorgeous and they all have gobsmacking views. Everything was pristine and well appointed. There's a butler's pantry for the guests stocked with beer, wine, soda, fresh cookies, snacks and all the fixings for an ice cream sundae. The common rooms are lovely and inviting. It was tough to leave and we can hardly wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2006

For 10 years now our group has been taking over the entire Inn for a weekend in the Fall. Naturally, we all think that this is the single best place ever to spend time with a close group of family and friends.
The accomodations are impeccable. Nearly everyone thinks that the Windsor (room 3) is the best room because of its corner location, but I have a fondness for room 4 because of the private balcony. The run of the entire Inn without disturbing any strangers is priceless.
Naturally, the food is wonderful and the service is also the best.
Certainly, you've got to know, we have next year's reservations already made.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sailors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

can still remember everything about it. cannot say enough good about it!!! what a place!

we stayed in the duke of windors room. had view of bay and ocean. just breathtaking! view from the veranda was just beautiful!

i planned whole thing online and telephone. the woman at wrigley mansion were sooo helpful! they helped me coordinate everything.

we do plan to go back for our 10 yr anniversary.

quiet, beautiful decor, great people. loved the golfcart!

the town itself was fun. we jetskied a few hrs before getting married!

its all in mind.......cant wait to go back! it definitely is a slice of heaven...only its in california!

  • Stayed: September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2006

We often go to Catalina Island for Easter vacation and have wondered about the beautiful Wrigley house on the hill. When the occasion of our 25th anniversary came along, we knew exactly where we wanted to go! We booked a 2 night stay in the Winsor room. It is the small corner room with a view of both Avalon bay and the open ocean. We slept with the blinds open so that the first thing we would see would be the sun rising over the ocean. We were not disappointed, it was like waking up in a postcard. The food was plentiful and beautifully prepared. I found the service to be prompt and friendly, the rooms and common areas to be clean and comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are smaller than most modern accomodations. We found this to be a place to go to leave the rat race behind and to step into an era of gracious living and a quieter pace of life. Although it is called an inn, it feels like a home. I am looking forward to going back someday!

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clakeagilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2006

We rarely write reviews, but we had to write about our New Years Experience. First, the staff is excellent !! Go out of their way to accomidate every need (Special Kudos to Michael and Denise). We actually were stuck on the Island the day after New Years do to the big Pacific Storm. The Inn was scheduled to close for the season that very day. The Inn had staff stay on to accomidate us fully (including meals) for that evening (and there were only 6 guest). The Inn also discounted our rooms because of the emergency (and we did not even request them to do so) We just can't say enough about the great stay we had.
John & Diana Hopper
San Juan Bautista, CA

8  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
1,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#15 of 20 in Avalon
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Ada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Ada

Address: 398 Wrigley Rd., Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704 (Formerly Inn on Mt. Ada)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range: £372 - £658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt. Ada 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Complimentary Breakfast, Lunch and Evening Wine & Hors d'oeuvre Reception. - Complimentary Butler's Pantry available throughout the day, includes fresh fruit, mixed nuts, soft drinks, beer and wine, ice cream sundaes, popcorn, coffee, teas, and cocoa. - Complimentary golf cart for use during your stay - VIP access to Descanso Beach Club Cabanas, Access to Tennis Courts at the Catalina Country Club and Complimentary Green Fees at the Catalina Island Golf Course. - Complimentary access to Island Spa Catalina facilities including pool, hot tub, relaxation deck. (Spa treatments are additional.) - Complimentary Behind the Scenes tour of the Catalina Casino - Private van pick up from the airport, heliport, boat terminal or other properties - Daily housekeeping, robes, nightly turndown, High speed WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Mt. Ada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Mt. Ada Hotel Avalon
Mt. Ada Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing