We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenmore Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
San Diego, California
1 review
“Historic and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

We spent only one night in this lovely old hotel and I was wishing we could stay longer.
Jack at the desk was the perfect host. He made us feel important and filled us in on the history of the hotel, as well as going out of his way several times times for special requests we had. The bed was comfy and the room was warm and cozy. It had personality, a far cry from boring chain hotel rooms Sure, you have to climb some stairs, the rooms are small and the floors lean this way and that, but hey, it's over 100 years old and you have to be reasonable in your expectations. Adjust your attitude and
enjoy the historic ambiance and beauty of this grand old lady.
We will definitely be returning to the Glenmore Plaza on future visits to Catalina.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catalinaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    56
    38
    24
    42
See reviews for
49
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
vista,ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The hotel is old - in fact the oldest on the island, but well maintained and clean. Our room was spacious enough with a flat screen tv, jacuzzi tub, coffee pot etc. The bed was comfy and we slept very well. Colleen and both Jims were friendly and helpful. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank askoldrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Cons: No elevators, so we had to literally carry our bags by each step. The so called complimentary breakfast was the WORST! I rarely ever throw away food, but the coffee was nasty and the muffins were so bland and tasteless that I threw them both away immediately. It seemed they put whatever out for us to eat just so they could say they give "complimentary breakfast". I was appauld by the quality of the food...its usually the food you give to birds not humans!
The rooms were also very average, but on the verge of below average. All the amenities they try to lure you in with on the sites are more or less all bad. There were even flys around in the room.

I think my trip would have been better if I had spent $100 more on another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohj4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lodi CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We usually stay at the Atwater, which is very inexpensive, however we thought we would try something new. Mistake! The room was small and every piece of furniture had something missing. The noise from the nearby bar and garbage collection was incredible. The toilet would not flush properly, I brought this up with staff on Friday morning, nothing was done. We were told there were no other rooms available. We used the hotel lobby restrooms for serious business, and dealt with it. On Saturday I brought it up again, and was told we could upgrade on Sunday night. Sunday morning the knob for the shower came off in my wife's hand. We waited for our new room and finally got in that afternoon. The suite was nice and the toilet flushed as it should.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agenthotsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed and the room was fairly clean, nothing great. Decent bathroom-clean but again not some great place. Just a place to sleep

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bufferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

First of all everyone was friendly and very helpful.
My only negative on this place was we were put up on the fourth floor and there is no elevator. I counted 58 steps up and 58 down. Wouldnt be so bad if we were youngins.
After a day of walking,it was a little slow going up. So if you dont like stairs ask for the first or second floor. Was probably good for my cardio tho.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiness015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I have stayed at the Glenmore many times in the past 15 years, and it has always been a great experience. This Saturday my outrigger team is racing over there from Newport, 31 miles! I booked a room today with their friendly and helpful staff and am looking forward to sleeping in the cozy beds after a long day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriBerri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#11 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#12 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmore Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmore Plaza Hotel

Property: Glenmore Plaza Hotel
Address: 120 Sumner Ave, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenmore Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glenmore Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glenmore Plaza
Glenmore Plaza Avalon
Glenmore Plaza Catalina
Glenmore Plaza Hotel Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing