We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaport Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice service, but...”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I don't like giving bad reviews, so I'll begin with what I did like about this place: the service was excellent. Everyone was very polite and attentive. But I want to warn future Catalina visitors against staying here, because it is SO out of the way. It is a LONG walk down a hill to get to town, and a LONG walk back up when you're exhausted, and they do not offer rides down and up the hill unless you are coming to or from the boats. The rooms were very dingy and old, and we didn't have any hot water-so the jacuzzi tub that they charge extra for was useless (and they didn't know how to fix it). Their breakfast in the morning was better than the other hotel I stayed at, but if you are expecting luxury this is NOT it. I would hate for anyone to come to Catalina expecting a 4-star hotel, because after shopping around a few hotels, this one was not that much cheaper than the others that I saw, once I got there, were much nicer. If you are not worried about the cleanliness and quality of your room and are just looking for a place to crash at night, I would recommend something closer to town, because this is a long, tiring hike to get to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
Thank you for reviewing. We do offer shuttle service to town and various places on the island as we can at no charge to our patrons. Our hotel has a unique quality in that it sits up on the hill so any noise or traffic is not a worry for those who want to sit out on the balcony and relax to the sounds of nature. We also understand that we cannot offer what an upscale corporate hotel would normally offer. We have been on Catalina for 35 years and take pride in being family-owned and kind of a quaint destination. We do hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    18
    16
    39
See reviews for
22
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

When we are planning a scuba trip to Catalina, we always try to stay here. We first stayed nearly 27 years ago, on our honeymoon, when the hotel was fairly new. Although a lot has changed, we keep going back.
This is a very scuba-friendly hotel. They pick us (and our dive gear and luggage) and transport us to the hotel (which is at the top of a steep hill). When we are ready to dive, they transport us and our gear to Casino Point. This is a huge deal. Even staying at a closer hotel, we would have to haul our very heavy gear all the way to the Point to dive. Most divers send their gear on the truck, and just walk to the point. Since my husband has hip/knee issues, they are fantastic about driving us with our gear to the dive site.
There is a place to rinse your gear, and you can even store your dive bag in a room off of the office downstairs. Raul, and the other staff are very friendly and helpful. Like I said, very scuba-friendly!
While we love this place for diving, it is not a luxury hotel. The office closes early. The rooms are bit dated, but clean. It is not fancy. I wouldn't recommend it for a romantic weekend get away...but for a dive trip, you can't beat this place!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRheiny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HENDERSON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

this has to be the worst hotel I have ever seen. Dirty, smelly, torn pillow cases, dirty towels. Room smelled of stale beer, holes in the walls etc etc. Our travelling companions room had spider infestation, dirty towels in a bath tub, door frame seemed misaligned. Why is this place allowed to operate and its not cheap. Only good thing going is its located centrally in Avalon. And I think Avalon has seen better days as well. We arrived and departed the same day had to eat the $270 boat trip fare....and thankfully front desk refunded our two room costs...and in the process told us we weren't the first to complain and leave. Be warned !!....the website does NOT portray a correct picture of this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALANHERRIOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is the second time we stayed here - first time was by the end of May 2011.
Arriving at the pier you will be picked up by the hotel's shuttle and the shuttle service is free during your stay. This is indeed very convenient.
The staff is very friendly and the location of the hotel is really fine. It is pretty much facing south which means that you will have sun in the yard all day. That said the rooms including the bathrooms are really worn out and seriously need to be upgraded. The room we stayed in had a kitchen which was also worn out. The heater in the living room did not work and we had to borrow a portable one from the staff. The beds however, were clean and absolutely no signs of bed bugs etc.
It is not cheap to stay here - make sure to bargain the room price. You should get at discount. So why did we stay here again - we are scuba divers and this place is so worn out that you do not worry about bringing all your gear inside your room. An additional scratch here and there will not be noticed among all the other scratches.

To wrap it up: the location is great, rooms are in really poor condition, beds are clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horntail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights 4/6/12 and 4/7/12, and we were so impressed with the friendliness and accommodations Raul and his staff made for us. We had great prompt shuttle service, our room was upgraded with a great view, the free breakfast was awesome, especially the homemade salsa, and the jacuzzi was nice with powerful jets. Yes, the rooms need updating, but who goes to Catalina and stays in their rooms all day and night? The staff made us feel so welcomed, and we loved not being right on the boardwalk, because we didn't have to hear all the golf carts!! Thanks Raul and staff Gary and Jill

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Well....When we checked into the hotel the first thing they told us was "no complaining, we don't like complainers." Our room was at the back of the hotel and un-like other hotels we didn't have a swipe-card, it was a key without a keychain or anything (super easy to lose if you're not careful). There were three of us yet they gave us a room with only a queen size bed and told us we could sleep on the couch yet there were no extra linens anywhere. Called down to get extra linens and towels and the sheets we received had massive wear marks and the pillows had holes in the cases. Our room had a kitchenette which smelled horribly when we got there and we found out the smell was coming from the dish-washer which had about 3 inches of stagnant water in it. The floors and couches/chairs looked extremely old, the bed was a murphy bed and the whole room was just dirty everywhere. You didn't take your shoes off because it was just gross and at night we had to sweatshirts over the pillows and sleep completely covered head to toe. The floor in the bathroom was sinking and flimsy. This whole hotel needs to be condemned, the jacuzzi is SO dirty, the elevator hasn't been inspected since May 2010 and expired May 2011, and the stairs leading up to the room were termite eaten and crooked.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

As a lot of reviews have said, place was just plain dirty. Made them move us from original room as smell and condition were awful. Even the premium room they moved too was dirty. Shower walls, carpet, seats on window, even the lampshade had layers of dust. We took photos because we knew people back home just would not understand how dirty it was. We tried to book in else where, but with cost of other hotels and loosing money here, we stayed put for our 3 night stay. We even had to put towels on the pillow and dare not walk bare foot anywhere.

All in all, awful. The island is great and there are better hotels. The Metropole looking the swankest.
AVOID at all costs. Better off sleeping on beach!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#13 of 20 in Avalon
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Village Inn

Property: Seaport Village Inn
Address: 119 Maiden Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaport Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Seaport Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Village Hotel Avalon
Seaport Village Catalina Island
Seaport Village Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing