We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Scuba Diver's Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seaport Village Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Avalon B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Scuba Diver's Hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Raul and Effrain took excellent care of me and my dive buddies for a DUI Dry Suit Demo weekend. Both gentlemen worked hard to please all their scuba diving guests - including providing a warm breakfast and huge help shuttling the heavy dive gear.
There were a couple things that were broken when we first arrived, such as the great ice machine, and bathroom lighting, but things were attended to as soon as possible. Our carpet was beat up from other divers, and the furniture was cheap- but I knew in advance that this was a diver's hotel - not a Marriot. I look forward to returning back to the lovely island and this friendly and helpful hotel very soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
So refreshing to hear that our beloved divers are happy. We love to have you and can't wait to see you again. It is also great to hear that your issues were addressed quickly. Thank you for reviewing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    18
    16
    39
See reviews for
22
42
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

OMG! If you pay $79.00 a night, this place is ok,.

We paid for the suite with a view and I was suckered! Our bill for two nights was over $800 and for that price this qualifies as a dump! Yes, there is a view from the balcony that includes the bay as well as many of the neighborhood trash cans. 2 chairs, no table.

The room is old and not updated. The look on the door was cranky. The bedding is old and tired, tho it did seem to be clean. The kitchen suite had a few plates. That's it! Not even a coffee maker!

No hair dryer until we asked.

Breakfast is really minimal. And the room has plastic checkered table clothes.
The staff was pleasant.

This is the most overpriced place I
have ever stayed! Ever!

Room Tip: Try a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusanP330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
We're sorry to hear about your visit. We do try to update as regularly as we can and realize that everyone is looking for something different when they stay with us. Hopefully the service that you received was exceptional. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avalon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This is not a high end hotel, and the prices reflect this. The staff are great, they pick you and your dive gear up from the boat, take it to the hotel, and will also take it to casino point.
Apparently they do breakfast too, but we usually go to Jacks so not sure what this is like.
Rooms adequate for price and location. The rooms facing the courtyard are preferable.
Great divers hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TuxMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
Thank you kindly. We always enjoy our divers! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Basic room with a property that has some nice features. No this is not a fancy place. The property has some good features. There is breakfast included every morning. There was scrambled eggs and potatoes. Bread for toast. Cereal and milk. Orange juice, coffee, hot water. Fruit. Salsa. This was a self-serve breakfast. This saved money as we ate breakfast their every morning. Self-serve breakfast was in a room next door to the lobby simple and delicious.
We booked a standard room and were able to get a good price. The room we had had a queen bed with a small table with two chairs. The bathroom had a sink, toilet, and a good sized tiled bathtub with a showerhead over the tub. Yes the room isn't perfect and could use some sprucing up.
The property has some good features.
We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at the Catalina express so we did not have to drag our luggage. Both woman who picked up our group of six did a splendid job. They grabbed all the luggage and were super friendly and off we drove.
On the grounds there is a Jacuzzi, which my husband said was pretty good. There is also lounge chairs and a table with chairs and an umbrella on the grass.
Raul at the front desk was very accommodating and if he could help you he would. Everyone we dealt with at the hotel was friendly and willing to help.
The hotel is at the other end of town with a bit of a climb to get there.
Our bed was ok but a bit hard. I feel like this hotel is a diamond in the rough and could use some tender loving care. But it definitely looks like they are working to improve it from what I could tell. If you can look beyond its flaws and embrace some of the nice features of the property you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
Loved reading this review! We are in our 35th year on Catalina and are working diligently to update rooms as we can. We are happy that you noticed. We do hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Not a nice hotel. Dirty rooms, clogged sinks, rarely washed and ripped bed spreads, run down all around. Saving grace - nice front desk, within walking distance of town, breakfast although we didn't dare venture there. Anywhere on the island is a better than this hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank best_beach_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
So sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Hopefully, the beauty of the island made up for that. We wish you would have enjoyed our breakfast. Most really enjoy that feature. We hope that you have had the opportunity to stay other places on the island to give an accurate balance of where our hotel sits compared to others. But, if not, we do hope that you would give us another chance to make amends. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have to agree with Amy. This to me is a divers hotel. Outdoor shower to rinse your gear and plenty of railings to hang your gear is so convenient. Extremely friendly staff who will pick you and your gear up at the ferry dock, drive you down to the dive park and back, etc. Raul and the rest of the staff are super friendly and so accommodating. They really make your feel welcome and taken care of. Tip hard if they take good care of you, which they will.

The hotel definitely needs an update, no doubt about that. The hotel gets a "2" because the owners really need to freshen it up but the staff and what they do for divers bumps the rating to a "4".

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarpullagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
Happy to hear Raul (and the rest of the staff) are on top of it as usual. Thank you for choosing the Seaport Village Inn. We are aware of the need to update and are working on it as we can. We hope to see you back again for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The location of the Seaport Village Inn is perfect for a relaxing stay. Close to restaurants, shops and beach areas. It's quiet and off the beaten path, but the sad truth is, its heyday has come and gone. The hotel is in dire need of renovation. The rooms are not very well kept, the cleanliness of the bedding, questionable and the kitchens are not well stocked with utensils. The hotel towels and wash cloths looked and smelled as if they were not thoroughly cleaned and all had blood stains, holes and mascara stains on them. The A/C in one of the rooms was noisy, making a lot of clanging and grinding sounds through out the night. The unit would quit working at times and then would start working at other times. No rhyme or reason to it.

The rooms that we booked had huge jetted tubs/showers that were stained, rusty and dirty. The jet openings were filthy. The caulking around the tubs was nasty looking, poorly done and done haphazardly. The tub faucet, in all three rooms constantly ran a steady stream of water when the shower head was engaged, making the tubs very slippery and downright dangerous. These bathrooms are no place for senior citizens. There are no grab bars, other than the small acrylic handles on the jetted tubs themselves. Getting in and out of the tubs was a major task for many in our party, slippery, unsafe and daunting. The potential for serious falls, slips and injuries is huge in the bathrooms that have these jetted tubs.

The rooms are musty. The carpets are filthy, torn, patched and basically worn out. There were clear signs of water leaking from upstairs air conditioning units. The condensation from A/C's is not diverted by pipes or tubes and water is allowed to run off the porches onto the awnings below, creating green slime trails where the water had been leaking for years. In one room, we were forced to walk under the constant drip of water, which stained our clothing, from the small canvas awning in front of the entry door. One of the rooms had visible water damage around the window from water dripping from the A/C units above. The drywall around the window on the inside of the room was wet, bubbling and falling off. The room reeked of mold, clearly a health hazard. There were ceiling fans in the room, but to use the fan at night, you had to unscrew the light bulbs to turn the lights off. The chains to control the lights were broken off.

There are picnic tables and chairs provided outdoors for hotel guests. A small, grassy area with lounge chairs available. The complimentary breakfasts were fresh, tasty and very good.

The hotel still has a lot of potential, but obviously it is not managed well. A lot of corners are being cut at the detriment of hotel safety, cleanliness and upkeep. But overall, the staff were very friendly, accommodating and attentive to our needs, but the condition of the hotel itself was poor.

The interior paint leaves a lot to be desired. It looks as if no professional painters were hired to paint and rusty nail heads could be seen through the paint on the walls, along with foot prints, hand prints and various gouges and smudges.

This could be a very nice place to stay if it was being managed by a professional who had vision, paid attention to detail and was inclined to do professional maintenance work on a regular schedule. The location is ideal. If hotel cleanliness is not at the top of your list, then this wouldn't be a bad place to stay. For a stay on Catalina Island though, the trash stored on and around the premises was disappointing as was the deteriorated look and feel of the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaport_Village_Inn, Public Relations Manager at Seaport Village Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2016
Thank you for taking time to review. We understand that some of our features may be outdated and need refreshed. We are working as we can to make updates. We are now in our 35th year as a family-owned hotel. We try very hard to please our guests in every way possible. Our hotel caters to divers, and we love our divers dearly. This may be what you encountered when speak of "trash" being stored. We do allow them to dry their suits and gear as needed. We hope you enjoyed your stay on the island otherwise. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaport Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Village Inn

Property: Seaport Village Inn
Address: 119 Maiden Lane, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avalon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaport Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Seaport Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaport Village Hotel Avalon
Seaport Village Catalina Island
Seaport Village Inn Catalina Island/Avalon, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing