We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience...Anticipated Relaxation and it was anything but that!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience...Anticipated Relaxation and it was anything but that!”
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

1. The cabin was $164 per night and had a heater that roared like a Cessna so you couldn't hear yourself think, let alone sleep

2.The cabin's mini blinds were so dirty that they looked like they had been dipped in dirt while wet

3. WORST: The hot spring pool is not a pool but merely a 19 inch puddle, so you can only soak outstretched legs and pelvis.

4. Cabin had no cups or glasses for water or coffee.

5. Pleasant staff

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bionicwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerAnderson, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. The cleanliness of the blinds will be addressed right away. The depth of the mineral spring is indeed 2 ft at all times. I am sorry to here you did not enjoy lounging in it as many do. Speaking of the hot pool we are in the process of resurfacing the springs with marble tile. This will be complete in 2 weeks! I will be sure and let me staff know they did a good job. It would be great to have a chance to make your next stay a better one. Please feel free to ask for me if you decide to try us out again.

Best Regards,

Tyler Anderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    11
    4
    36
See reviews for
35
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Nice, relaxing sulfer hot springs. Diverse crowd, friendly staff, we met so many fun people. I highly recommend it! Not too far from the beach, if you are vacationing in California- hit it up! The hot springs are a fun place to swim, kept the kids busy for hours and they slept like rocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn_Nich0las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TylerAnderson, General Manager at Avila Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We here at the hot springs feel the same way about our facility and are always glad to hear it from a customer. This kind of feedback helps encourage the staff to give every customer the same experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My boyfriend and I visited the springs one evening last year. It was cool outside, so we definitely enjoyed our visit! The natural sulfur smell is a little strange at first, but you get used to it. A very private experience, we will definitely be returning.

Helpful?
Thank MochaJavalanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is NOT a resort, it is essentially a trailer park with space for tents and mobile homes for rent. The trailers are old and you are expected to bring your own linens. Things are generally fairly clean. Could be cleaner, but when stuff gets old, it looks dirty even when cleaned - especially at the beach. If you go in thinking you are one step up from camping, you will have set your expectations appropriately.

The pool and "spring" we're nice. Where they lost 2 points were a general lack of customer service. Several lights were out and never replaced durring our stay. Also the front door would not lock until we got our tools out and fixed it. The tv was also broken. The front desk people are generally defensive or uncaring. The pool staff were helpful though.

Room Tip: Don't get a trailer (cabin) number less than 10. 1-9 are right on the road and you do get the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Avila Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed in a "cabin". No fitted sheets on the mattresses, no second sheet on top, just the dirty comforter. Moldy, stained shower curtain and hair in tub. Towels were nasty and falling apart. Front desk guy was rude. So gross and disgusting. The pool and mineral springs "pool" area was run down and dirty!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzzieshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was the worst camping experience of my life. The pool and hot springs were decent/average, but the camping was horrible. (A note on the hot springs, it's a medium size knee-deep hot pool, usually filled with lots of people.) The bathrooms were consistently pretty dirty too. About the camping, each campsite was about the size of a pickup truck, maybe a foot or two wider and longer. It seems like every potential little square of grass has been made into a "campsite" to increase profits. You can hear EVERYTHING, and I mean, everything that happens in the campsite next to you. There's absolutely no privacy. We were wishing that the cars on the highway and road were louder to drown out the birthday party that went on until 1am a few campsites down, the radio that the drunk guy in the tent next to us had on all night long, and the couple that for over an hour at around midnight let the whole campground know much they liked each other. I would not call this camping - more like, sleeping on the ground next to a whole bunch of loud, drunk people you don't know. Perhaps the cabins would have been nice to stay in, but for the price, they should be.

Helpful?
3 Thank OurTripHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I recently stayed at your establishment on the 27-28 of july for my twins birthday. We stayed in one of your one bedroom cabins. I am so incredibly disappointed in our stay. The cabin that we stayed in was so dirty we had to wear shoes in it the whole time we were there. It was like the floor has never been cleaned. There was trash around our cabin. The couch that was in our cabin was sunken in, stained so badly and so dirty i had no desire to sit in it. I didn't want my kids to sit on it without a blanket laid down first. I am not a prude and i love camping but this cabin was unacceptable for the price that we paid. I would never rent a cabin again and will tell anyone thinking of renting one to think again. It would be wise to replace things every now and then and clean in between clients. The pool was great though.

Room Tip: I recently stayed at your establishment on the 27-28 of july for my twins birthday. We stayed in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
646 reviews
1.7 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
841 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Property: Avila Hot Springs Resort
Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr, Avila Beach, CA 93405-8046
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Avila Beach
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing