We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the ruff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avila Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avila Hot Springs Resort
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A diamond in the ruff”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

A 5 star Disney resort it's NOT, This is a UNIQUE 100+ year old landmark enjoyed over the years by many generations of travelers. I remember visiting in the late 1950's during family vacations to the coast. Yes It's a little rough around the edges, but that's part of it's charm.

The staff was very friendly and had no problems accommodating our vintage Motor Home, the spot the put us in had good WIFI full hookups and easy access to the restroom and pools.

It's central location makes it a perfect home base to explore the surrounding sights and attractions. We stayed a week in January relaxing in the mineral springs and enjoying the pool. We liked so much we came back in March for more.......

I would highly recommend this as a good spot to explore the coast's attractions and come back to a relaxing hot dip at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    11
    11
    4
    36
See reviews for
35
15
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We came and knew right away we would be back, it's a wholesome fun experience for families, with camping and cabins. The hot springs and surrounding town, beach, etc makes for an epic journey from Southern Cal- not too far for a one day trip each way, and there's nothing quite like this place, really so it's an experience

Room Tip: Bring a tent or try one of the cabins- only 5 bucks extra if you camp and want to go to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeHosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

we love AHS for the movie nights - wed and sat nights. at $5 per person we have a wonderful experience. great people, great movies, wonderful mineral springs, and super friendly and professional staff. we visit the resort many times a month and have always been happy and thrilled with our visits. don't think twice. make Avila hot springs your next date night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thedonmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I love this place, and so does my 5 year old daughter. After 5pm it is only 5 dollars to get in.... what a deal... We go, we swim, we sit in the hot tub, and on Saturday they play a movie which is very cool. It is a local hang out, so if you go consistently you start to see people you've met before and start to make friends who love the hot tubs too. I highly recommend this place for adults who want to relax, and for parents who want to take their kids swimming in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2013

For only $5 after 5 pm, this is the best spot to go on a fun, affordable date or family time. LOVE this place after a long work out...best way to soothe those old bones. It's a bit crowded on the weekends...so I prefer to go during Monday through Thursday. Be sure to bring a full water bottle as you will need to replenish! They also have an awesome fresh water pool to cool off and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettorganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

If you want to find a great place to unwind and really relax on the Central Coast, you need to go to Avila Hot Springs!! I'm not talking those soak and poke places where your not sure who was doing what before your arrival, this is a beautiful community soak. They recently renovated the main soaking area with fabulous tile so the bottom is smooth, smooth, smooth. And hot hot hot. Try it out, you will thank me :) -Christie M

Helpful?
1 Thank CaliChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This facility has been around for ages, known for its therapeutic hot mineral water. People like myself come to soak away aches and pains. The swimming pool is incredible also, kept at a comfortable 80 or so degrees. Come enjoy a relaxing soak, bring the kids, and maybe even have a BBQ on the grass. It will be a treat to remember!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank HotSpringNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avila Beach
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
680 reviews
1.8 mi away
Avila Lighthouse Suites
Avila Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 5 in Avila Beach
727 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
856 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila Hot Springs Resort

Property: Avila Hot Springs Resort
Address: 250 Avila Beach Dr, Avila Beach, CA 93405-8046
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Avila Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Avila Beach
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Avila Hot Springs Hotel Avila Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing